We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A quiet and comfortable base in Venice”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
27 reviews
Entrance
San Sebastiano
Near apartment 30 m.
Campo Santa Margherita
Shop of fruit
Campo Santa Margherita
The Master Bedroom
Kitchen
Kitchen
Living Room
Street
Street
Street
Santa Margherita
Near Guggenheim
San Marco
Maschere
Carnevale veneziano
Giorgio S.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Veneto

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 27 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Italian first
Any
English first
David G
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A quiet and comfortable base in Venice”
Reviewed May 10, 2015 for a stay in April 2015
2
people found this review helpful

Sunny House is in a blissfully quiet part of Dorsodouro, well off the tourist track but convenient for waterbus - San Basilico, local supermarket, bars and restaurants. A quick 10 mins walk brings you back to the much busier areas. Flat has everything you need for a short stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location - peaceful
Liked least: Kitchen and bathroom - though perfectly fit for purpose- would benefit from upgradelookeda
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Feb 2017
Thanks for nice words.
Many good wishes.
Ciao by Giorgio
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olympicma...
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Sheltered from the surging tour goups”
Reviewed May 10, 2015 for a stay in April 2015
2
people found this review helpful

Sunny House was quiet and clean. The kitchen was well equipped and the the Conad supermarket was right down on the waterfront for anything you could want. The vaporetto is right there, too. We were there for a week. So, it was well worth getting the 60-euro week-long pass. At Sunny House,there's no danger of being overrun by the tour groups surging through St. Mark's square, but it's still an easy walk to many places in the city. Be sure to take Giorgio's suggestion to eat at Taverna San Trovaso. The food was better and less expensive than many of the nearby restaurants. You can easily stop by there on your way back from Gallerie dell'Accademia, which was one of the better museums in the city. I thought of skipping it, but Rooms 20 and 21 showing 15th and 16th century Venice, were a knockout. You could easily miss it, but Calle dell'Avogaria right across the bridge from Sunny House connects directly to Campo S. Barnaba. Along the street are several nice restaurants, more as you get closer to the square, and it's well lighted at night. Don't miss San Sebastiano next door. It's a bit of a surprise to go from your up-to-date apartment to 16th century paintings right next door.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Jun 2015
I am very glad of your review and especially you enjoyed this area of Venice as it is certainly the most beautiful and most typical! I'm glad you've able to capture the beauty of the near church of San Sebastiano. Often, unfortunately, no one is a prophet in his homeland. Thank you. Giorgio
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2015Erik1...
Almere, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“With a few adjustments it would be very good”
Reviewed February 14, 2015 for a stay in February 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Location in Dorsoduro is great. We had a problem with the temperture in the appartement, and it was solved correctly. Things that have to be better are: the bed was to hard and not flat. We rolled to the middle of the bed, the hot water taps (all three) were not good to adjust: to cold or to hot (dangerous in the shower!) and the sofa in the livingroom was old and bad for our backs. I came back with spit, hopefully in a few weeks it will be over. I am very sorry to give this review but it are just these three things that - in mine opinion - are important for the quality of a vacation rental (shower, good sleep and a normal sit when you are in a living room).

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the location
Liked least: only hot water or ice cold water
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Feb 2015
Mi giunge inaspettata la sua recensione.
1-Immediatamente ho inviato un tecnico del riscaldamento (che ho dovuto pagare!) assieme a Sabina. Da sopralluogo è emerso che qualcuno aveva abbassato la temperatura impostata sul termostato e quindi il generatore di calore si era fermato. Era sufficiente rialzare la temperatura impostata sul termostato.
2- La produzione di acqua calda è del tipo istantaneo e non ad accumulo e, quindi, passano 10-12 secondi dall'apertura del rubinetto all'arrivo dell'acqua calda. E questo per tutti gli impianti a produzione istantanea! E mai nessuno si è lamentato di questo!
3- Le reti ed il materasso sono stati cambiati l'anno scorso! Tutti preferiscono un letto rigido piuttosto che tenero. Noi abbiamo cercato di accontentare la maggioranza!
4- Non può scrivere che la sua tosse è imputabile al divano letto. Credo che sia imputabile alle temperature rigide presenti in Venezia non certo al divano letto.
Ho detto che la sua recensione mi giunge inaspettata ( e mi crea dispiacere!) anche perché con Sabina siete stati molto carini e non avevate detto nulla di tutto questo. Capisco che crea disappunto tornare a casa con la tosse, ma non può certo essere imputato al vostro soggiorno nel nostro appartamento.
Mi creda, mi spiace per lei e faremo, comunque, di tutto per verificare che cosa si può migliorare. Giorgio
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WH0A
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
359 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 171 helpful votes
“Live like a local!”
Reviewed September 28, 2014 for a stay in September 2014
5
people found this review helpful

We very much enjoyed staying in Giorgio's "Sunny House" and would not hesitate to book it again if we ever were lucky enough to be back in Venice.

The house itself is very Venetian and many people stop to take photos. It's in a wonderfully quiet area - something to be aware of when booking in noisy Venice - but still provides easy access to the main spots. You'll be staying next door to a nunnery, in fact, so you'll awake to the gentle sound of lovely morning singing each day, drifting through the windows with the only other noise being the birds that call nearby.

The house is effectively yours for your stay. We believe there is some sort of business on the ground floor, but we only ever heard anything a couple of times and never saw anyone. The building is fully secure and feels very safe.

Inside, the apartment is very spacious. Ideal for a couple, manageable for a family. The whole house is very well fitted out. We understand Giorgio used to live in the house and he has left many of the things needed for daily life. The kitchen, for example, has everything one could possibly need and even includes quite a variety of things you are free to use from the pantry.

The bathroom is the only real negative - rather old and very cramped - but that's a small price to pay for accommodation in central Venice.

Giorgio and Sabina (who actually meets you and does the final arrangements) are both lovely to deal with. Booking takes a little while, mainly because of language, but stick with it. Sabina's English is excellent and she has a lot of good advice when you meet her. They also provided comprehensive information on Venice, the local area, and restaurant recommendations, etc, in a very good portfolio that is in the apartment for guest use.

We have no hesitation in recommending this apartment for a great stay in Venice.

Tip: if you have heavy luggage or you're just tired, water taxis can drop you very close. Just ask for the dock near the San Sebastián Garden Hotel. Cross the little canal bridge and the buidling is the on your right. First door is the nuns', yours is the second door.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Quiet location and size
Liked least: Bathroom
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ldstephen...
Brighton, Ontario
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fabulous location!”
Reviewed September 22, 2014 for a stay in September 2014
2
people found this review helpful

Very spacious apartment in a great location. Only 5 minute walk to the water bus and away from all the tourists. Anytime we got lost wandering the streets of Venice, which was often and fun, we just had to ask for directions to San Sebastian Church as it's right next door. Lots of great restaurants nearby. Located right next door was a Nuns residence and we loved waking up in the morning to their singing of hymns. Sounded like angels! The apartment came very well equipped. Our only concern was the very tiny bathroom.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and size of living spaces.
Liked least: Tiny bathroom
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Jun 2015
Great review!!! And it is WHOLE true!! THANKS!!!!!!!!!!!!! Giorgio
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lauried20...
Australia
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Away from the crowds.”
Reviewed August 25, 2014 for a stay in August 2014
3
people found this review helpful

The apartment is in a very nice part of Venice. It is an easy walk to all the main attractions. There are many cafes and restaurants nearby, an ATM around the corner and a good sized supermarket only 2 minutes away. With Sabina's directions, it was very easy to find the apartment, which was about a 12 minute walk from the bus terminal. We caught the number 5 bus from the airport, it was only €6.00, compared to €40 in a taxi. The apartment is quite large and bright, and has all the facilities for a comfortable, self catering holiday.

Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kshakir
Cambridge, MA
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Just off the heart of Venice”
Reviewed August 16, 2014 for a stay in August 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We wanted a quiet trip to Venice, near enough to places to eat, and visit. The Sunny House was perfect, a short walk to water buses, or a medium walk to places like San Marco.

Inside the apartment was warm and friendly, and relatively spacious. My girlfriend serenaded me with on the provided xylophone, and we ended up using some of the shared mosquito spray a kind renter left behind before heading out.

We had a wonderful time exploring the city, especially at night. Giorgio and Sabina were also very helpful with providing tips for the area, including how to park for 5€ a day while we visited Venice. The apartment was also a short water bus hop across to Giudecca which had wonderful views, quiet restaurants, and even a bit of green.

My first time to venice, I would have never found the place, so I thank Sabina for meeting us and escorting us to the apartment. If you want to know where it is located on a map, it's close to the "San Sebastiano Garden Hotel Venice"

For the nerds like me, wifi was provided a wifi modem with a 3g sim. Because of the size of the apartment / strength of the wifi, the signal couldn't reach my phone from the bedroom (ok because I had my own 3G). Also because it's a prepaid plan per month, you really shouldn't use that much of the wifi, I think 600MB per day was the recommended amount.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing