We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (89)
Filter reviews
89 results
Traveller rating
51
31
3
2
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
51
31
3
2
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews easy access two nights supermarket bedroom canal luggage
Filter
Updating list...
13 - 18 of 89 reviews
Reviewed June 19, 2016

Venice is small and crowded by tourists. Streets are narrow. So this place by the big canal gives a feeling of freedom and rest from busy day of exploring Venice.

Nearby you can find everything you need: river bus stop, ATM, supermarket, nice pizza and ice-cream place, even a spring of clean water on the street (so you can save some pennies).

Rooms are clean and the owner is very friendly offering valuable advice what to see in Venice.

Small breakfast is an extra bonus.

Date of stay: June 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Tanya K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 18, 2016

The whole place feels like home. Beds are comfortable and the bathrooms are always clean. Will stay again in this Bed&breakfast/hostel if revisiting Venice. The location is great as well. The staff are also friendly and helpful...especially in giving recommendations and advices in terms of things to do in the city.

Date of stay: April 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Lance_Kerwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 15, 2016

Just arrived back from Venice this week. Had a wonderful time with my other half. I found Silk Road via trip advisor and some research and decided to book it as it looked great. Asked if we could get a room for two and 2 nights and found it easy to book.
We arrived in venice via the train station Santa Lucia as I was inter railing. For very little extra cost to our phone bill we got got data for Europe to use on the trip. Really good tip for those who want to travel or even go to somewhere like Venice as its like a labyrinth. We managed to get enough data per day and we didn't run out and we used google maps to navigate if we didn't have maps. This mean we were able to find the guest house easily. Again I would really recommend getting data if you can!

We were greeted by Alex and he was warm and welcoming. He asked us if we found the place ok, that was nice! It is down an alley so I can see why its hard to find for some. But no biggy if you can't find it on the main street, explore and you'll find it!

Alex took our details and gave us the keys to the room, took us to the room, pointed out the bathrooms and showed us the locked cupboards and facilities. He also gave us two maps of the city, which was really helpful!!! The maps have the names of all the boat stations in venice which comes in useful. I took one of them home to keep too.

The room was clean and tidy and we had been given towels and enough bedding. We ended up not needing all the bedding as it was quite hot! The room comes with mozzie nets. It kept most of them out. Some got in our room from the outside though. That can't be helped.
The breakfast was good! Provided with fruit, tea, coffee, croissants, toast and yoghurt. Great selection and included in the price.
The kitchen and bathroom are shared. We met a few people in the kitchen and got chatting to them, all nice people.
Bathroom was cleaned daily, including washing of bath matts.

Really enjoyed our stay & loved the random cat that was in the window on our last day!

Date of stay: June 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Emvroom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 10, 2016

Had a good time in this hostel. The rooms are spacious and mine had a view over the water. The kitchen was small, and there aren't many places to socialise out of your room. It's a little out of the way for a lot of things, but there are vaparetto stops close by and easy access over to Lido and the beach.

Date of stay: June 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank katierang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 1, 2016

Silk Road is definitely more of a bed and breakfast than a hostel. However, the price was pretty great, especially seeing as we booked the week of during Carnevale. The location was also nice - it was about 15 minutes from the central areas and about 15/20 minutes from the train and bus stations. We stayed in a 4-person mixed room, which had great views of the water and lots of sun.

Pros:
- Alex was incredibly kind - he showed us how to get to Piazza San Marco for Carnevale, checked in on us to see how our stay was, and just was overall warm and hospitable.
- Locker and lock were provided free of charge.
- Located right on the water; very close to the Guggenheim Collection, various restaurants and shops, and a Conad grocery store.
- Generally clean - I really had no real complaints for the price we paid.
- Breakfast comes with - it was a small breakfast of juice, coffee, toast, croissants, etc.
- Free, fast wifi.

Cons:
- Difficult to find - it probably took us about 30 or more minutes to find from the train station because of the never-ending bridges and alleyways.
- Towels not provided.
- Wish there was more bedding - I didn't like that there was only a duvet and no sheets, but it wasn't a big deal for just a night.

Date of stay: February 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jf3ad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews