We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best concierge”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Palazzo Abadessa
Ranked #18 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 October 2011

The best thing about this hotel is Darwin, the concierge, who did everything possible to make our stay in Italy wonderful. He sent us to excellent restaurants (not touristy and moderately priced), researched and booked a day trip for us to Florence, and called Hertz to make sure that our rental car, for the second leg of our trip, would have automatic transmission. We can't say enough about him. Another plus is the hotel's location -- convenient enough for sightseeing yet a nice respite from the throngs of tourists around San Marco.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mittens67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (786)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

464 - 470 of 786 reviews

Reviewed 19 October 2011

We stayed at this hotel for 3 nights from Oct 5 - 8. We took a private water taxi from the airport to the hotel. I am very glad we did this as I think we would have had difficulty finding this hotel if we had taken the public water taxi. Once we were there though I found the hotel charming. It was warm enough to sit in the gardens for breakfast one of the mornings. Our room was very nice and the bathroom was adequate. This lighting could be improved a bit. The hotel was quiet and the staff very helpful. The location of this hotel is a bit off the main activity area. However, the 15 or 20 minute walk to St. Mark's Square is very nice. The shops and restaurants are less expensive than the area down by the square. There is a public water taxi stop very close to the hotel too which will take you right down to the main attractions. I was very pleased with our stay at this hotel.

Room Tip: My sister and husband had a room off the left steps as you come into the hotel. To get to our room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarBush
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2011

spent 5 nights here last week, and must agree that the location is good. Breakfast adequate, and the staff helpful. The room was a little small and dark, and the shower facility needed updated. However it was clean,and the antique theme was well thought out. However, they could have been a little more generous with the lighting on the first floor landing, more off than on in the evening! The little garden was a pleasant place to have breakfast before exploring Venice, which proved very easy with the vaporettos! and for 33 euros you had unlimited travel on them for 3 days! We found a few very good restaurants in the vicinity of the Hotel, and a wonderful ice-cream shop called GROM which was just a minute away! Would we stay here again? Yes, we think so, but Venice doesn't come cheap, so don't expect a bargain!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gypsyscotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2011

From the moment you walk into the hotel, you will know that this is the place to be. If you love antiques and an authentic Venetian atmosphere and decor, then this is the place for you. Be sure to wander around and take in the details, as they have made sure your senses will be overwhelmed by what you see. The rooms are amazing - we had a canal view which was fabulous! Since the garden is very nicely maintained, I am sure that view is great too, and quieter. The hotel staff is very attentive and will make sure you have everything you need. We arrived unexpectedly late the first night, and no restaurants were open, but Darwin made sure we had something to eat in our room. The breakfast buffet is the best you will find in Venice, and the setting you eat it in is also perfect. We stayed in two other hotels while in Venice, but I was very sad to leave the Abadessa. Had I known how perfect it was going to be, I would have booked it for our entire stay in Venice. This is one of those extremely memorable places that you will forever have fond memories of. We will be back, I am sure!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TorontoTravelcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2011

The Palazzo Abadessa is in a wonderful location close to the Ca D'Oro vaporetto stop, a big plus if you're coming from the train station or are dropping off a rental car on the outskirts of Venice. Water taxis to the hotel cost around 65 Euros vs 6.50 Euros pp for a vaporetto. The palazzo is hidden away in Cannaregio, a bustling but non-touristic neighborhood full of excellent trattorias, and has a beautiful garden, and a friendly and helpful staff. As others have mentioned, an excellent breakfast is served in the garden. At first sight, we were slightly disappointed in our room -- it was quite small compared to the rooms shown on the hotel's website. However, it was well and comfortably furnished, with a good bathroom, and it was remarkably quiet and nice to return to after a long day's wandering around the city. We would definitely return to the Palazzo Abadessa, and recommend it without reservation.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2011

Wow what a find. This hotel was like living in your own palazzo in Venice. The staff were amazing, thank you Marco for your outstanding assistance and patience at all times as I tried to find things in Venice and always available with a glass of wine and some crisps in the supurb gardens at the end of a long, hot day.
Although i didnt have a room overlooking a canal i didnt mind as the room was a suite with 2 couches, a wide screen tv and a big bathroom. The garden was a beautiful place to relax for breakfast or at any time during the day.

Room Tip: There are a couple of very small double rooms so check that you can have a big room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank icehouse45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2011

We really enjoyed our stay at this hotel. The rooms were truly beautiful and unique. One of my favourite aspect of the hotel was the lovely garden in the front - really appreciate having breakfast in the peaceful garden. Also, the hotel had a delicious breakfast spread.
The hotel is perfectly situated. It is only a short walk from the vaporeto station and GROM - the best gelateria in Italy!
Our stay at Palazzo Abadessa was wonderful, and we hope to stay there again some day!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Vanessatamar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
Castello
Hotel Ai Cavalieri di Venezia
Hotel Antiche Figure
#8 of 385 in Venice
3,867 reviews
Hotel Canal Grande
#11 of 385 in Venice
2,147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Castello
Hotel Le Isole
Hotel Le Isole
#13 of 385 in Venice
1,053 reviews
Dorsoduro / Accademia
Ca' Pisani Hotel
Ca' Pisani Hotel
#15 of 385 in Venice
1,889 reviews
Santa Croce
Hotel Moresco
Hotel Moresco
#2 of 385 in Venice
1,974 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Palazzo Abadessa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Palazzo Abadessa

Address: Calle Priuli Cannaregio 4011, 30121 Venice, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Cannaregio
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Venice
#13 Luxury Hotel in Venice
#22 Romantic Hotel in Venice
#24 Business Hotel in Venice
Price Range: $147 - $565 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Palazzo Abadessa 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Palazzo Abadessa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palazzo Abadessa Hotel
Palazzo Abadessa Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing