We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (850)
Filter reviews
850 results
Traveller rating
682
139
21
6
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
682
139
21
6
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscomplimentary bottle of proseccowater taxibeautiful hotelpeaceful gardenstrada nuovatucked awayhotel dockgrand canalvaporetto stoppastriesold palaceminute walktrain stationboiled eggsantique furniturerialto bridgethe hustle and bustle
Filter
Updating list...
508 - 513 of 850 reviews
Reviewed October 19, 2011

We stayed at this hotel for 3 nights from Oct 5 - 8. We took a private water taxi from the airport to the hotel. I am very glad we did this as I think we would have had difficulty finding this hotel if we had taken the public water taxi. Once we were there though I found the hotel charming. It was warm enough to sit in the gardens for breakfast one of the mornings. Our room was very nice and the bathroom was adequate. This lighting could be improved a bit. The hotel was quiet and the staff very helpful. The location of this hotel is a bit off the main activity area. However, the 15 or 20 minute walk to St. Mark's Square is very nice. The shops and restaurants are less expensive than the area down by the square. There is a public water taxi stop very close to the hotel too which will take you right down to the main attractions. I was very pleased with our stay at this hotel.

Room Tip: My sister and husband had a room off the left steps as you come into the hotel. To get to our room we had to go through the breakfast room to the steps. It was very quiet though and nice.
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarBush
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 12, 2011

spent 5 nights here last week, and must agree that the location is good. Breakfast adequate, and the staff helpful. The room was a little small and dark, and the shower facility needed updated. However it was clean,and the antique theme was well thought out. However, they could have been a little more generous with the lighting on the first floor landing, more off than on in the evening! The little garden was a pleasant place to have breakfast before exploring Venice, which proved very easy with the vaporettos! and for 33 euros you had unlimited travel on them for 3 days! We found a few very good restaurants in the vicinity of the Hotel, and a wonderful ice-cream shop called GROM which was just a minute away! Would we stay here again? Yes, we think so, but Venice doesn't come cheap, so don't expect a bargain!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gypsyscotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 11, 2011

From the moment you walk into the hotel, you will know that this is the place to be. If you love antiques and an authentic Venetian atmosphere and decor, then this is the place for you. Be sure to wander around and take in the details, as they have made sure your senses will be overwhelmed by what you see. The rooms are amazing - we had a canal view which was fabulous! Since the garden is very nicely maintained, I am sure that view is great too, and quieter. The hotel staff is very attentive and will make sure you have everything you need. We arrived unexpectedly late the first night, and no restaurants were open, but Darwin made sure we had something to eat in our room. The breakfast buffet is the best you will find in Venice, and the setting you eat it in is also perfect. We stayed in two other hotels while in Venice, but I was very sad to leave the Abadessa. Had I known how perfect it was going to be, I would have booked it for our entire stay in Venice. This is one of those extremely memorable places that you will forever have fond memories of. We will be back, I am sure!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TorontoTravelcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 4, 2011

The Palazzo Abadessa is in a wonderful location close to the Ca D'Oro vaporetto stop, a big plus if you're coming from the train station or are dropping off a rental car on the outskirts of Venice. Water taxis to the hotel cost around 65 Euros vs 6.50 Euros pp for a vaporetto. The palazzo is hidden away in Cannaregio, a bustling but non-touristic neighborhood full of excellent trattorias, and has a beautiful garden, and a friendly and helpful staff. As others have mentioned, an excellent breakfast is served in the garden. At first sight, we were slightly disappointed in our room -- it was quite small compared to the rooms shown on the hotel's website. However, it was well and comfortably furnished, with a good bathroom, and it was remarkably quiet and nice to return to after a long day's wandering around the city. We would definitely return to the Palazzo Abadessa, and recommend it without reservation.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 24, 2011

Wow what a find. This hotel was like living in your own palazzo in Venice. The staff were amazing, thank you Marco for your outstanding assistance and patience at all times as I tried to find things in Venice and always available with a glass of wine and some crisps in the supurb gardens at the end of a long, hot day.
Although i didnt have a room overlooking a canal i didnt mind as the room was a suite with 2 couches, a wide screen tv and a big bathroom. The garden was a beautiful place to relax for breakfast or at any time during the day.

Room Tip: There are a couple of very small double rooms so check that you can have a big room.
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank icehouse45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews