We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (860)
Filter reviews
860 results
Traveller rating
689
142
21
6
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
689
142
21
6
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews complimentary bottle of prosecco water taxi beautiful hotel peaceful garden strada nuova tucked away hotel dock grand canal vaporetto stop pastries old palace minute walk train station boiled eggs antique furniture rialto bridge stay in venice
Filter
Updating list...
476 - 481 of 860 reviews
Reviewed July 3, 2012 via mobile

This Palazzo is everything described on their site and by other travelers. Very nice, extremely comfortable, and the service is friendly and professional.

The courtyard makes all the difference in the world. You get to eat breakfast like the kings of old!

Classy, elegant, and comfortable all describe this place. Will stay here again!

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mcsmalley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 2, 2012

I had long promised my daughter a trip to Venice for her 18th birthday. We really lucked into a wonderful spot, thanks to a friend's recommendation, at the Palazzo Abadessa! Peace & quiet off the beaten track (near Ca D'Oro) after a rush-around tourist day, a lovely blooming garden for breakfast, and a sincere welcome from Darwin at the front desk. We had the family room (sleeps 2 up and 2 down) fronting a small canal -- it was great for my teenagers (though maybe not ideal for young children given the stairs to the loft/bath). The hotel is eclectic: a villa full of Murano chandeliers and terrazzo floors. The staff was so helpful and kind. My daughter enjoyed her first legal Prosecco in the welcome basket very much. If you are fond of The Tabard Inn in DC, or the Crosby St. Hotel in NYC, or the Milestone in London -- this is that sort of place.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Barklesswagmore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 2, 2012

We stayed here for the first 2 nights of our Italian honeymoon, and it really got it off to a terrific start. We arrived via the overnight train from Paris about 9:30 am and walked to the hotel fairly easily in about 20 minutes. We received a really nice welcome, and even though our room wasn't ready, we were invited to have some breakfast in the garden - an excellent buffet and coffee.

Our room itself was beautifully furnished, and felt really luxurious and oppulant. The fruit basket and ice cold Proscecco was a lovely touch. The staff were all really friendly and helpful, the garden was delightful, full of friendly little Finches!

We would not hesitate to book into here again!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AndyTops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 1, 2012

the hotel is in a great location, and very well managed. having breakfast in the garden is also a welcome treat.

thank you darwin and rolly for your hospitality.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank michelle c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 24, 2012

A group of six of us from the United States recently visited Northern Italy and specifically Venice. While there we had the distinct pleasure of staying at Hotel Abadessa. The staff went out of their way to make our stay fabulous. It is centrally located with easy walking distance from just about everything. We especially enjoyed the garden area where we would enjoy meat, cheeses, and vino in the early evening before venturing out into Venice. It is very close to Gelateria Grom. Go there for the best gelato in the city. Fabulous

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Dennis M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews