We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“beautiful hotel, excellent service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Palazzo Abadessa
Ranked #20 of 387 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 July 2012

This place is beautiful - wonderful courtyard with fantastic flowers and birds, lovely palatial interiors that feel so Venetian it really adds to your visit. Everything is great in the rooms, maybe a TV channel guide would be useful but they are really excellent. The bar did shut fairly early but they do stock you up with (some complimentary) prosecco and a couple of reasonably priced beers.
A beautiful tranquil hotel.

Room Tip: all are good but try and get one over the garden as it is quieter in the morning
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank simcfro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (795)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

426 - 432 of 795 reviews

Reviewed 9 July 2012

We decided to take a water taxi from the Airport,the four of us, straight to the hotel door,we were greeted straightaway at the hotel dock and were help by the staff with our luggage.

We were then taken through this unbelievable entrance hall (castle like) to the garden by reception,where we were served drinks,they made us feel at home straight away.the hotel I just cant explain all but we were absolutely blown away by the service,the decor and least all the hospitality of Rolly and Darwin,throughout our stay they made sure you were enjoying everything to the full,the rooms are outstanding,it made you feel like a King & Queen,each room has a different decor,5 star, breathtaking with impeccable taste, air-con,even dressing gowns & slippers with lovely views of canals,narrow streets and the garden.
The whole building is an amazing piece of architecture,clean,serviced & memorable,the garden is an ideal place to chill at the end of a day with a bottle of wine,even to sit out and have a wonderful buffet breakfast,beautifully presented each morning,faultless,always someone at hand for your stay,its close to everything you need,we have stayed at Hotels before in Venice,nothing like this,Unbeliveable!

We will definitely stay here again, without fail,I would like to say thank you to you all at the Hotel Palazzo Abadessa (Rolly & Darwin & Staff) for a unforgettable stay,it was wonderful and wont be forgotten.

Rob & Deb Sims.

Room Tip: Lucky dip,you wont be dissapointed by any of them.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robsworldtoday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2012

This hotel was beautiful, if a bit dusty, and the courtyard is a wonderful addition- a nice place to have a last drink of wine. However, it was HOT when we arrived. Unusually HOT and we did not bother to see if the hotel has air conditioning. It does not. We inquired about a fan and was provided with one which helped. The night air was cool enough, but the windows without screens let in a number of biting insects. We are aware that this isn't uncommon in many of the venice hotels, but this was the first time we were under siege by mosquitoes.

The room was lovely in decor and the staff is excellent. The only other complaint is that the neighbors of the hotel played Bruce Springsteen 'Wrecking Ball' over and over into the evening. We understand that the hotel can't control their resident neighbors, but the problem existed nonetheless.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bunnikens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2012 via mobile

This Palazzo is everything described on their site and by other travelers. Very nice, extremely comfortable, and the service is friendly and professional.

The courtyard makes all the difference in the world. You get to eat breakfast like the kings of old!

Classy, elegant, and comfortable all describe this place. Will stay here again!

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mcsmalley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2012

I had long promised my daughter a trip to Venice for her 18th birthday. We really lucked into a wonderful spot, thanks to a friend's recommendation, at the Palazzo Abadessa! Peace & quiet off the beaten track (near Ca D'Oro) after a rush-around tourist day, a lovely blooming garden for breakfast, and a sincere welcome from Darwin at the front desk. We had the family room (sleeps 2 up and 2 down) fronting a small canal -- it was great for my teenagers (though maybe not ideal for young children given the stairs to the loft/bath). The hotel is eclectic: a villa full of Murano chandeliers and terrazzo floors. The staff was so helpful and kind. My daughter enjoyed her first legal Prosecco in the welcome basket very much. If you are fond of The Tabard Inn in DC, or the Crosby St. Hotel in NYC, or the Milestone in London -- this is that sort of place.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Barklesswagmore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2012

We stayed here for the first 2 nights of our Italian honeymoon, and it really got it off to a terrific start. We arrived via the overnight train from Paris about 9:30 am and walked to the hotel fairly easily in about 20 minutes. We received a really nice welcome, and even though our room wasn't ready, we were invited to have some breakfast in the garden - an excellent buffet and coffee.

Our room itself was beautifully furnished, and felt really luxurious and oppulant. The fruit basket and ice cold Proscecco was a lovely touch. The staff were all really friendly and helpful, the garden was delightful, full of friendly little Finches!

We would not hesitate to book into here again!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AndyTops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2012

the hotel is in a great location, and very well managed. having breakfast in the garden is also a welcome treat.

thank you darwin and rolly for your hospitality.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank michelle c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
Hotel Canal Grande
#9 of 387 in Venice
2,187 reviews
Castello
Hotel Ai Cavalieri di Venezia
Santa Croce
Hotel Moresco
Hotel Moresco
#3 of 387 in Venice
2,002 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Antiche Figure
#8 of 387 in Venice
3,923 reviews
Castello
Hotel Le Isole
Hotel Le Isole
#12 of 387 in Venice
1,068 reviews
Dorsoduro / Accademia
Hotel Palazzo Stern
Hotel Palazzo Stern
#23 of 387 in Venice
1,758 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Palazzo Abadessa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Palazzo Abadessa

Address: Calle Priuli Cannaregio 4011, 30121 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Cannaregio
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Venice
#14 Luxury Hotel in Venice
#22 Romantic Hotel in Venice
#24 Business Hotel in Venice
Price Range: $157 - $638 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Palazzo Abadessa 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Palazzo Abadessa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palazzo Abadessa Hotel
Palazzo Abadessa Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing