We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (859)
Filter reviews
859 results
Traveller rating
689
141
21
6
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
689
141
21
6
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews complimentary bottle of prosecco water taxi beautiful hotel peaceful garden strada nuova tucked away hotel dock grand canal vaporetto stop pastries old palace minute walk train station boiled eggs antique furniture rialto bridge stay in venice
Filter
Updating list...
470 - 475 of 859 reviews
Reviewed July 14, 2012

We stayed at the Palazzo Abadessa in July and really enjoyed our stay. The palazzo has been neatly restored and the room was very spacious and quiet. The bathroom was very large and modern and what we also really enjoyed, was the very good, low noise air condition (so nice when you stay in Venice with almost 40 degrees!). What we also liked a lot was the wonderful garden, where breakfast was served as well as a complimentary cocktail on Saturday evening. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The location was good too, it is about a 5-10 minute walk to Rialto Bridge and a 1 minute walk to the Vaporetto station. We enjoyed it and would always go back!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank luluf66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 13, 2012

Of the 3 places we stayed in Italy, this was by far our favorite. Beautiful decor, both inside and out and a wonderfully friendly and accomodating staff. We were greeted with big smiles and people that were concerned about our comfort and needs. This is definitely a must for anyone visiting Venice.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kirsten W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 11, 2012

This place is beautiful - wonderful courtyard with fantastic flowers and birds, lovely palatial interiors that feel so Venetian it really adds to your visit. Everything is great in the rooms, maybe a TV channel guide would be useful but they are really excellent. The bar did shut fairly early but they do stock you up with (some complimentary) prosecco and a couple of reasonably priced beers.
A beautiful tranquil hotel.

Room Tip: all are good but try and get one over the garden as it is quieter in the morning
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank simcfro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 9, 2012

We decided to take a water taxi from the Airport,the four of us, straight to the hotel door,we were greeted straightaway at the hotel dock and were help by the staff with our luggage.

We were then taken through this unbelievable entrance hall (castle like) to the garden by reception,where we were served drinks,they made us feel at home straight away.the hotel I just cant explain all but we were absolutely blown away by the service,the decor and least all the hospitality of Rolly and Darwin,throughout our stay they made sure you were enjoying everything to the full,the rooms are outstanding,it made you feel like a King & Queen,each room has a different decor,5 star, breathtaking with impeccable taste, air-con,even dressing gowns & slippers with lovely views of canals,narrow streets and the garden.
The whole building is an amazing piece of architecture,clean,serviced & memorable,the garden is an ideal place to chill at the end of a day with a bottle of wine,even to sit out and have a wonderful buffet breakfast,beautifully presented each morning,faultless,always someone at hand for your stay,its close to everything you need,we have stayed at Hotels before in Venice,nothing like this,Unbeliveable!

We will definitely stay here again, without fail,I would like to say thank you to you all at the Hotel Palazzo Abadessa (Rolly & Darwin & Staff) for a unforgettable stay,it was wonderful and wont be forgotten.

Rob & Deb Sims.

Room Tip: Lucky dip,you wont be dissapointed by any of them.
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robsworldtoday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 5, 2012

This hotel was beautiful, if a bit dusty, and the courtyard is a wonderful addition- a nice place to have a last drink of wine. However, it was HOT when we arrived. Unusually HOT and we did not bother to see if the hotel has air conditioning. It does not. We inquired about a fan and was provided with one which helped. The night air was cool enough, but the windows without screens let in a number of biting insects. We are aware that this isn't uncommon in many of the venice hotels, but this was the first time we were under siege by mosquitoes.

The room was lovely in decor and the staff is excellent. The only other complaint is that the neighbors of the hotel played Bruce Springsteen 'Wrecking Ball' over and over into the evening. We understand that the hotel can't control their resident neighbors, but the problem existed nonetheless.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bunnikens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews