We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“rare value in Venice”
Review of Hotel Villa Rosa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Villa Rosa
Ranked #170 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Dublin,Ireland
Level Contributor
24 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“rare value in Venice”
Reviewed 14 October 2011

This hotel is central enough to be convenient for everything, but tucked away enough to be nice and quiet. We found all staff to be very helpful, and the rooms while not luxurious, were quite adequate. Breakfast was better than expected, but still pretty basic. The main plus of this hotels is that they offer reasonable value for money in a grossly overpriced (but amazing) city.

Room Tip: Room 23 has a little terrace
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank choppers-on-tour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

493 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    116
    243
    86
    27
    21
See reviews for
122
241
21
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2011

Quiet hotel, not far from the train station. The room and bathroom were clean. Loved the massive shutters that blocked sunlight and noise, wanted to bring them home. There is a computer available in the lobby for a nominal fee.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank blackbond_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2011

We like the hotel - it is the third time we stayed, and on this occasion we brought the grown up family. This time we were a bit disappointed - our room had no bathroom shelves or hooks or rail for towels. The other two rooms (one double and one single) had better facilities. At 160 euro per night for two it is not as good value as it used to be.

In its favour is its quiet location, its cleanliness and the friendly staff.

Room Tip: Check that there are shelves etc in the bathroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dk2822
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampshire
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2011

Our room, number 38, was at the top of the hotel and therefore was fairly warm. The air-con wasnt brilliant but the compensation was a very large room with a big, fully functioning bathroom.
Shutters were very effective at keeping out the light and the noise of which there was very little.
Breakfast was adequate. Yogurts, cerals, meat, cheese and breads.
Staff were friendly and hotel was clean.
Location was excellent, 5 minutes walk to the train station (ten to the bus station).
Overall, very happy with the stay.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ritsos86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
55 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2011

This hotel is a lovely change after the chain hotels, rooms with character, large for a European hotel. Breakfast is fine but personally I prefer an espresso and a pastry in a cafe with the locals. The location could not be easier if you arrive at St Lucia even with baggage you can walk to the hotel. Rooms are air conditioned and it worked fine for us. The vaporetto stop is also really accessible and an easy way to explore Venice. The best advice we found was just wander it is by far the most fun way to find the best of Venice.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank merryth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
74 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2011

We stayed in this hotel in July, we had two rooms one double, one triple. Both rooms were very good. The air conditioning worked just fine, and the beds were comfortable. The front desk were very helpful and answered all our queries. The location was only a 10 minutes walk to the train station and there were many cafes and shops nearby. I would definitely stay at this hotel again and would recommend it to others.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeanne86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
venice
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2011

we stayed at hotell villa rosa because it was given to us by the agent at the train,station, 'since it is our first time to visit venice , we are excited, we checked in the hotel and we noticed the room is too warm, we open the aircon but the system is not enough to cool down the room, we asked the front desk to check the room which they did, ac is working but its not enough to cool down the entire room,, we ended up requesting an electric fan that is broken and never rotate from side to side just to make us more comfortable, the guy is very accomadating and said we cant get other room since its packed and we just wait in the morning to talked to the front desk, we were able to sleep around 1 am and we are sweating bad, mentioned the situation to the front desk and she look sarcastic , Malina was her name, went to check the room and said its working since i can feel air, she shows attitude to asked stating that we just want our money back , we just want them to know that our stay there is uncomfortable, languauge is a barrier, very demeaning person and hope we should have went to other hotel who is more costumer friendly, Too bad our visit to venice is not good, hotel personnel like Malina should go back to school and learn proper etiquette. stating that we just want our money back without asking for it is very rude, hope other people who go this hotel will be comfortable, because we paid to get rest and get the best and not treated as if you will screw them. hope they can fix this problem so the next patron will never experienced what we been through, paying much what we dont deserve

Room Tip: check the place first
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank shane_rn27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
elenamarazzi, Direttore at Hotel Villa Rosa, responded to this review, 23 August 2011
Dear Mr.Shane.rn 27,
You kept the promise of write a bad review very fast!
At the Railway Station Tourist Office you booked a double room but at the moment of check in at Hotel Villa Rosa you showed up in 3, two 30 years old guys and a 80 years old lady. We thought you or the Tourist Office made a mistake with the booking but you confirmed that you wanted to sleep in 3 in a double bed. The receptionist offered you a room with 3 twin beds and the breakfast included for the 3rd person at 25€ per night or suggested you to go back at the Tourist Office and find an Hotel that accepts 3 persons at the rate of 2. You thought about it for about 10 minutes then you decided to get the triple room.
Around 5 P.M you checked into the room with the A/C remote controller we gave you and went out discovering our beautiful city.
When you came back around 10 p.m. the room was hot. The night-receptionist came up to check the A/C and it turned out that you choose the option "fan" not the "cooler"one , so he switched on the cooler mode and gave you a fan to make you feel more comfortable while the air conditioning was starting to work. At this point you asked him a refund and he told you to talk to me, Martina, in the morning. The morning after you showed up at the reception and told me that you couldn't sleep because the air conditioning didn't work all night long and that you wanted a refund for your bad experience. I came up to check if the A/C wasn't really working and i found out the temperature was 22°!So i told you:"Air conditioning is working, is freezing in here!" then you told me:"now is working but tonight it wasn't". I knew that when you came back the evening before and in the room was hot and I also knew that in the moment we found out what went wrong (the client inadvertently set the a/c in FAN mode) we quickly fixed it so i understood that there was somenthing wrong in your request infact you told me:"I will write a bad review on internet".When you said that I felt threatened and now I honestly think that your review is unfair.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
Cannaregio
Hotel Il Mercante di Venezia
Cannaregio
Hotel Hesperia
Hotel Hesperia
#90 of 385 in Venice
977 reviews
Cannaregio
Hotel Florida
Hotel Florida
#230 of 385 in Venice
652 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Cannaregio
Dolomiti Hotel
Dolomiti Hotel
#236 of 385 in Venice
297 reviews
Cannaregio
Hotel Belle Epoque
Hotel Belle Epoque
#197 of 385 in Venice
910 reviews
Cannaregio
Ca' Fontanea
Ca' Fontanea
#159 of 385 in Venice
290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa Rosa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Rosa

Property: Hotel Villa Rosa
Address: Cannaregio 389, 30121 Venice, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Cannaregio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #170 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Villa Rosa 2*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Villa Rosa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rosa Hotel Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing