We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (958)
Filter reviews
958 results
Traveller rating
798
125
15
8
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
798
125
15
8
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviews peggy guggenheim eggs and bacon nespresso machine water taxi accademia bridge modern design dorsoduro area great boutique short walk breakfast was delicious tucked away the main hotel perfect location bottle of prosecco fresh fruit small canal stay in venice
Filter
Updating list...
535 - 540 of 958 reviews
Reviewed August 31, 2012

We have returned from our Azamara cruise, and I would like to highly recommend Charming House DD724 for a pre-cruise hotel. The location was ideal for checking into the cruise after a one night stay. There are a few canal bridges to walk over, but rolling suitcases make it a short walk to the cruise ship terminal. The rooms are tastefully decorated, and the bathrooms are a nice size. The coffee bar and pub across the alleyway provided a nice respite after a day of Venice walking. Also, the breakfast room displays a wonderful selection of art and tour books to use at leisure. Breakfast was eggs, bacon, assortment of fruits and breads with perfect coffee or latte. Venice hotels are pricey...we selected this one for location and quiet, but it is a nice springboard for walking to Venice sights. We used the water taxi from the airport, and disembarked close to the hotel...print out directions on hotel site. Enjoyable!

Room tip: We could look out on a canal...I don't know about the other rooms.
Date of stay: August 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sunnytiger23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CharmingHouseiQs, Proprietario at Charming House DD724, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2012

I wish to thank you very much, dear guest, for the wonderful description to TripAdvisor ‘s readers about our hotel. I have indeed never talked about the location of DD724 in respect to the cruise terminal, it is indeed very close, only three bridges or 1 stop by public transport. We are very happy to have been of help during your journey.
Hope to see you soon.
CB

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 28, 2012

Ideal location between the Foundation Peggy Guggenheim and the Punta della Dogana at the end of the Grand Canal almost opposite to the Piazza San Marco.
Quiet, tastefully furnished and with delicious breakfasts.
A highly recommended place to stay in Venice !

Room tip: Ask the rooms next to the Guggenheim Foundation.
Date of stay: August 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Philippe M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CharmingHouseiQs, Proprietario at Charming House DD724, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2012

When I decided to open DD724 I choose this place because of the location. And after 10 years it’s still, as you said, a heaven of peace in Venice, despite of the opening of new museums in the area, such as Punta della Dogana and Fondazione Vedova, a small space recently restored by Renzo Piano with a fantastic collection of the most important Venezian contemporary painters. Don’t miss this two museums when you are in Venice!
Hope to see you again soon.
CB

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 28, 2012

I have been to Venice before and paid lots of money for very poor hotels, So I was apprehensive. The hotel is located next to the Guggenhein in Acadamia, which has a lovely feel not as crowded and busy as St Marks, but only 10 mins away when walking. The hotel is small circa 8 rooms or so, very modern and upgraded to a high standard, the staff are incredibly helpful and friendly. The rooms are simply and tastefully equipped to a very hgh standard, with deep luxorious beds.The breakfast room provided continetal breakfast with the added offer of cooked eggs and bacon cooked to order from the attentive staff, the food was lovely very high quality and a great strat to the day.

We paid about €220 per room for our mid week trip. For me in Venice this was a very good price for such a lovely experience, when I go again it will definately be the place I try to book first.

Outside there is a fab little bar, which serves beer for around €3 euros, with food very tasty and cheap.

Room tip: All rooms have their own character and are special in their own way.
Date of stay: June 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CharmingHouseiQs, Proprietario at Charming House DD724, responded to this reviewResponded August 23, 2012

Lovely guest, thank you. We are indeed very happy to have so special and nice people visit us. We enjoy our guests company and comments and it is always a pleasure to offer you the best service we can. I hope to see you again some time.
Best,
CB

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 26, 2012

DD 724 is different from the other hotels in Venice - we were looking for something contemporary and boutique and DD 724 fits that bill. While the room didn't have the view that you may get on the some of the other bigger hotel on the Grand Canal, the service was excellent and the staff was very helpful. Also it has an excellent location - it is away from the maddening crowds of St. Mark's but right next to the Peggy Guggenheim and the Academia Gallery, the two best things in Venice. Also, most of the sights are within a 15 minute walk and close enough to some good places to eat

Date of stay: July 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SFdiddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CharmingHouseiQs, Proprietario at Charming House DD724, responded to this reviewResponded August 23, 2012

Dear guest, thank you very much, I read with pleasure your review. “Great hotel in Venice” perfectly captures the characteristics of Charming House DD724. I hope you’ll have the opportunity to come back to visit us again, and please always check for the best rates on our website. Do not hesitate to become our fan on Facebook. Write a post and it will be our pleasure to send you a personalized Charming gift.
CB

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 10, 2012

Location is fantastic away from the main tourist areas but closer enough to walk to them. Lovely annex room which was spacious and well designed. Friendly staff and always at hand to help and offer advice. Cant recommend enough for a lovely stay in Venice !!!

Room tip: Ask for annex room as over looks canal and is away from main part of hotel so feels like you have your own apartment.
Date of stay: July 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 756MartinP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DD724, Proprietario at Charming House DD724, responded to this reviewResponded July 28, 2012

I wish to thank you very much , dear guest, for the beautiful feedback and the very helpful tips you gave to the tripadvisor readers Waiting for you soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews