We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best location in town”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Bauer Palazzo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Bauer Palazzo
Ranked #68 of 386 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Market Harborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Best location in town”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2012

Our visit was a birthday treat and the Bauer lived up to expectations. The concierge was brilliant, assisting us with tickets to concerts and generally pointing us in the right direction each day. Our room was lovely and the setting for breakfast on the sun drenched terrace overlooking the grand canal was sublime. Best of all though is the combination of setting and location - so close to everything are combined. Loved all the 30s furniture and fittings too.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Andrew B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BauerHotels, Responsabile reception at Bauer Palazzo, responded to this review, 3 December 2015
Dear Guest,

we thank you for your positive review. We are very happy to read that you enjoyed your stay, our services and rooms at the Bauer Il Palazzo.

We look forward to see you in the future to be able to show you the improvement done!


Best regards,
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

850 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    571
    178
    59
    21
    21
See reviews for
162
516
14
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (169)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2012

The Bauer Il Palazzo met and even exceeded my expectations. While not inexpensive, this lovely hotel is well worth the money. The location is excellent, just a short walk from Piazza San Marco. My room had a great view of the Grand Canal and was beautifully appointed. As a solo female traveller, I really appreciated the attentive service.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Texastraveler065
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BauerHotels, Responsabile reception at Bauer Palazzo, responded to this review, 3 December 2015
Dear Guest,

we thank you for taking time to review our hotel on Tripadvisor with your comments, and we are delighted to read that you really enojoyed your stay in our structure.

We would be very glad to welcome you soon back in the next future!


Sincerely,
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kathmandu, Nepal
Level Contributor
46 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2011

.ocation, location, location. This hotel is right in the middle of everything. Best access to everything Venice. Rooms are gorgeous. Staff is unbelievably helpful and friendly. Yes, it is a bit pricey, but YOU GET WHAT YOU PAY FOR! This property is every bit on par with the best Ritz Carlton's in the US. Make sure you have a drink at on of their bars. Concierge can plan your whole day for you.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Charlieojs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BauerHotels, Responsabile reception at Bauer Palazzo, responded to this review, 3 December 2015
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at The Bauer Il Palazzo. It gives us great pleasure to read that you thoroughly enjoyed every aspect of your stay.
Our team take great pride in ensuring each guest experiences a memorable stay, and your feedback is highly appreciated.

We look forward to welcoming you back to The Bauers!


Best regards,
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 December 2011

We stayed in the Bauer despite some less than glowing reviews. Some said that the staff was rude and the rooms were just OK. I don't really see how that could be. We had wonderful staff with an exceptional concierge who made us feel as if we were the only guests in the hotel. Every time we entered the reception area he greeted us by name and had suggestions for things to do for the day. He drew maps for everywhere we wanted to go and had accurate estimates of the time it would take to walk to those locations.

We booked a deluxe room with a view (just under the suite class of rooms) and it was a nice room, well furnished with a limited but very nice view of the grand canal. All in all, we had no reason to complain about anything at this hotel. The Bauer Il Palzzo is a quirky place and it took us walk or two to find our way back to our room. It took two elevators and a sort of maze through the hallways but that just added to the nature of the hotel for us.

It is a bit expensive but so is everything else in Venice. My suggestion is to have a shorter stay paying higher prices than to try to do Venice on a tight budget. It's worth the splurge and trying to short change it will result in a much less special trip than this city deserves.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank michael t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BauerHotels, Responsabile reception at Bauer Palazzo, responded to this review, 3 December 2015
Dear Guest,

thank you very much for taking the time to write your detailed review and thoughts about your holiday in Venice and your stay at the Bauer Hotel, they are important to improve the quality of service and to enhance our reputation.

We are honoured to learn that you consider the Bauer Il Palazzo an excellent structure, we always attemp to do our best in order to satisfy all desires of our guest, and as member of The Leading Hotels of The World we continuously strive to meet and exceed our guest's expectation.


We really hope to see you in the next future to be able to show you the improvement done.


Best regards,
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nyc
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 December 2011

from the moment we arrived brought by the private boat belonging to the hotel to the moment we left we fould everything about this hotel to be delightful. we arrive late in teh afternoon after flying from the united states were greeted by the manager and led a beautiful room with a large terrace overlooking Venice with a side view of the lagoon. the room as absolutely beautiful with walls covered in blue silk. the soaps and lotions in the bath were exceptional.. the room was serviced beautifully with great attention to detail.. the restaurant had delicious food. all in all I would recommend this hotel to anyone going to vencie

Room Tip: all rooms are beautiful
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank diane119
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BauerHotels, Responsabile reception at Bauer Palazzo, responded to this review, 3 December 2015
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review your visit to The Bauer Il Palazzo.
Your feedback is highly valued and appreciated as it is the best way for us to constantly evolve and improve. We aim to provide an exceptional service in every aspect of the guest experience and we are delighted to read that you enjoyed every aspect of your stay at the Bauer Hotel.

We look forward to see you in the next future to The Bauers.


Best regards,
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2011

Nice enough hotel, but enormous public spaces of the Bauer itself are off-putting. The view from the 7th floor breakfast room is however spectacular.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NanaH630
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BauerHotels, Responsabile reception at Bauer Palazzo, responded to this review, 3 December 2015
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at The Bauer Il Palazzo. It gives us great pleasure to read that you thoroughly enjoyed every aspect of your stay.
Our team take great pride in ensuring each guest experiences a memorable stay, and your feedback is highly appreciated.

We look forward to welcoming you back to The Bauers!


Best regards,
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2011

This was our second time at the hotel and we appreciate the location and privacy.The 7th floor breakfast room offers excellent buffet and terrific views of the Canal..
The room was spacious but the rugs should be replaced and the housekeeping department could do a better job.
All in all a good place to stay, but could use a good cleaning.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scooterp1e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BauerHotels, Responsabile reception at Bauer Palazzo, responded to this review, 3 December 2015
Dear Guest,

thank you for having chosen Bauer Il Palazzo during your visit in Venice, we are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay and we are so proud having exceeded all of your expectations on all aspects.

We would be glad to welcome you again at the Bauers!


Best regards,
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
San Marco
Bauer Hotel
Bauer Hotel
#74 of 386 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,509 reviews
San Marco
Baglioni Hotel Luna
Baglioni Hotel Luna
#47 of 386 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,520 reviews
Castello
Hotel Danieli, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Marco
The Westin Europa & Regina, Venice
Castello
Metropole Hotel
Metropole Hotel
#50 of 386 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,195 reviews
Cannaregio
Ca' Sagredo Hotel
Ca' Sagredo Hotel
#43 of 386 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bauer Palazzo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bauer Palazzo

Property: Bauer Palazzo
Address: San Marco 1459, 30124 Venice, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Marco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Venice
#47 Luxury Hotel in Venice
#47 Romantic Hotel in Venice
#66 Family Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Bauer Palazzo 5*
Number of rooms: 191
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bauer Il Palazzo is one of Venice's most luxurious hotel. It is an authentic 18th century palazzo with the most spectacular vantage point in Venice - close to St Mark's Square, facing the Grand Canal and overlooking St Mark's basin. The 82 luxurious rooms including 38 suites, many with balconies or terraces, have been recently restored with the finest fabrics, gilt mirrors, carved stucco ceilings and Murano glass chandeliers. Located on the top floors of the historic palace guests have the option of staying in one of Bauer Il Palazzo's re-designed rooms or executive suites. The interior design concept of the guest accommodations on the 6th & 7th & 8th floors is quite distinct; each room is decorated in a unique sleek style, with comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bauer Palazzo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bauer Il Palazzo Venice
Bauer Il Palazzo Hotel Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing