We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Charming hotel”
Review of Hotel Belle Epoque

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Belle Epoque
Ranked #193 of 386 Hotels in Venice
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Charming hotel”
Reviewed 30 March 2012

Charming, elegant hotel just a few minutes' walk from the train station. Got the room in the attic, which was rather small for the price but big enough; the price was about right for high season in Venice. Breakfast was forgettable (and espresso terrible) but I never rate hotels on their breakfast since in Italy a much better continental breakfast can usually be found just outside the hotel doors. In this case, it's true: Just across the strada there is one of the best pasticerrie in Venice, where they make the cornetti (croissants) fresh and the espresso is delicious. The hotel service was excellent, room was clean, shower/bath was good and the overall impression I got was positive. Good a/c. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lorisz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

900 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    133
    381
    245
    81
    60
See reviews for
165
469
49
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2012

A nice little hotel overall. In a good location, right next to the first bridge after the train station, not close to St Marks by any chance but ferrovia is still one of the busiest parts of the city. Rooms were clean and rustic looking, nice touch. However, one of 3 mornings that i was there, i was woken up by maintenance work happening outside my window (air compressor, concrete breaker, etc, the whole lot!!). Also although a double bed was requested, there was just two singles joined together, creating that familiar gap in the middle. However, i cant say that my stay was a disaster. The hotel was pleasant overall though, and particularly the staff; and i suppose one shouldnt ask for much more when he is not about to pay a pretty penny to get a 5 star in Venice.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gus213
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lowell, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2012

Wanted a room for one night in Venice. Arrived by train, so we wanted it to be within walking distance. Found Belle Epoque on line and booked it. It exceeded our expectations on every level. After being greeted warmly at the front desk, we were thrilled with our room. Very unique and so Venice. We asked for advice about how to spend the rest of our day and they couldn't have been more helpful. Located on a very charming street with shops and restaurants right outside the front door. After our full day of sightseeing came back to the hotel and asked for dinner suggestions. They suggested a wonderful and memorable restaurant within walking distance. Included breakfast which was amazing. Good value, wonderful ambiance. Highly recommend this wonderful hotel.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Monadnock51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stamford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2012

It is a small hotel but they have made the effort to make it look like a place from the old days in many ways! It is a fair walk to St Mark's Square but don't let that put you off, it is great exercise and it meant discovering Venice on foot which is a maze of wonders!

The food was pretty basic but I thought the customer service was great, and I would definitely recommend it.

Room Tip: There is a lift so all the rooms are accessible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vsolano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2012

I traveled to Italy with my husband and 6 friends. As we got off the water taxi after experiencing an awesome ride into Venice from Marco Polo airport we were pumped, excited and overly happy! When we arrived to check in we were greeted by someone (can't recall the name) who was not so thrilled to see us. Check in was easy for most of us since we printed our confirmation email but one couple had forgotten to bring their confirmation number and apparently there is no way to check in without that information. After many minutes trying to find the confirmation email our friends were able to check in.

The facilities were nice and comfortable. The breakfast was good as well, but was surprised of the lack of cheese selection and no hard boiled eggs (that I could find). The location was smack dab in the middle of the busy area of town. When I return to Venice, I will consider staying somewhere where the service may be better and the location is not in the middle of some major foot traffic.

Room Tip: Choose away from the front of the building, it is on a busy street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank debah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sofia, Bulgaria
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2012

This was wonderful hotel. The room was very nice, breakfast was too big :) Great location, clean hotel, quiet room. Nice elevator.

Room Tip: Ask for higher floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Neli G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
Cannaregio
Universo Nord Hotel
Universo Nord Hotel
#246 of 386 in Venice
3.0 of 5 bubbles 763 reviews
Cannaregio
Hotel Continental Venice
Hotel Continental Venice
#163 of 386 in Venice
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,288 reviews
Cannaregio
B4 Bellini Venezia
B4 Bellini Venezia
#109 of 386 in Venice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,539 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Cannaregio
Hotel Florida
Hotel Florida
#233 of 386 in Venice
3.5 of 5 bubbles 645 reviews
Cannaregio
Hotel Il Mercante di Venezia
Cannaregio
Hotel Agli Artisti
Hotel Agli Artisti
#290 of 386 in Venice
3.5 of 5 bubbles 547 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Belle Epoque? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Belle Epoque

Property: Hotel Belle Epoque
Address: Canareggio 127/128, 30120 Venice, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Cannaregio
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #193 of 386 Hotels in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Belle Epoque 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Belle Epoque overlooks Lista di Spagna and offers rooms in tipycal ambience who dates back to 1700. The furniture recalls the venetian style in two colours: red or green and feature Murano glass chandeliers. All the rooms are equipped with soundproof, bathrooms in white marble with shower, air conditioning, satellite television, safe and internet connection. A panoramic elevator will take you up to the floor to your room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Belle Epoque reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Belle Epoque Hotel
Belle Epoque Malcesine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing