We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,774)
Filter reviews
2,774 results
Traveller rating
2,006
625
76
41
26
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,006
625
76
41
26
Show reviews that mention
All reviews madonna del orto lovely hotel minute walk quiet area water taxi off the beaten track cannaregio area jewish quarter first stop grand canal turn down service hotel bar orange line the main tourist upgraded to a junior suite bars and restaurants hotel is situated
Filter
Updating list...
371 - 376 of 2,774 reviews
Reviewed June 25, 2017 via mobile

A beautiful hotel that is located away from the hustle and bustle but within easy distance of attractions and restaurants. Great amenities including lovely bar with obliging staff who will ensure that you are well looked after. We had a luxurious suite that was attractively furnished with an eastern vibe nodding to the hotel's heritage. Great breakfast that included fabulous Italian cakes.

Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Safari298069
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 23, 2017

From the water taxi right to the front of this lovely hotel, to the warm welcome we received in Reception, we knew this was going to be the perfect location for our short break in Venice. Everything about this hotel has been given much thought: it is immaculate and stylishly furnished in Oriental style, every member of staff is helpful and charming, and the breakfasts are superb! There is a nice little bar, but many other bars and restaurants all in walking distance, It's the perfect area to stay in if you want to escape the crush of San Marco, and yet still be in walking distance of all the main attractions, or of the vaporetti to take to the islands. Also nearby, and well worth a visit, is the Museum of the Jewish Venetian Ghetto which includes several synagogues, and the guides are superbly well-informed.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking courtyard probably more quiet than canal views. However this is a quiet area generally.
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank carrie47267
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 23, 2017

This hotel was selected by our travel agent as part of an extended European train journey. I was sceptical. I've spent a lot of money before staying in wonderful, expensive hotels surrounding Piazza San Marco and this hotel is in Cannaregio, a less travelled outer neighborhood. I am sure glad they did. The hotel is lovely, as is Cannaregio. Our room was large, beautifully decorated, immaculate, with perfect towels and linens and a very comfortable king bed. Breakfast is very good. Yet for me the staff were the highlight; friendly, helpful and available as needed. For example they arranged an excellent walking tour with a wonderful, knowledgeable guide, a free tour to Murano and an inexpensive water taxi tour of the Grand Canal. We enjoyed our Venetian Cannaregio neighborhood and loved our hotel. We unequivocally recommend it. (And we hope to return!)

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank haroldtruett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 22, 2017 via mobile

We stayed at the Ai Mori d'Oriente hotel for 4 nights and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The hotel is located in the beautiful Venice district of Cannaregio, which has the great benefit of being quiet, away from the crowd yet within a few minutes walk of the San Marcuola and Orta boat stops making it easy to get anywhere within Venice City and out to the islands in the lagoon. One decision we did not regret was to buy a 3-day travelcard covering all the boat services covered by ACTV, the Venice transport authority. The hotel is also handily located for quite a few good restaurants within easy walking distance.
The moment we walked into the hotel, we found it exceptionally welcoming, and the staff go the extra mile to be helpful and make one's stay a pleasant one. Our room was reasonably spacious and well appointed with quietly efficient air conditioning. Breakfast was taken in a pleasant dining room, or outside, and consisted of the usual buffet with plenty of choice.
Wifi had to be accessed using a username and password from reception, but once logged in, the internet strength was good.
The hotel sets up a few tables outside beside the canal and we found it a real pleasure to sit at one drinking a glass of wine or cup of coffee.
We arrived at Venice by train and simply walked to the hotel from the station, something easily done with wheeled suitcases; the alternative is to take the service boat to the San Marcuola stop or water taxi direct to the hotel. In flying home, we walked to the Orta boat stop (8 minutes away) to catch the Alilaguna boat to the airport (€15 each); we were surprised when the boat we planned to catch was full and had to wait for the following one 30 minutes later. Fortunately we had plenty of time.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Chris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 22, 2017

This is very simply a hi-end, nice, clean, welcoming hotel in a very nice part of town but away from the noise. It's not overwhelmingly luxurious and I don't mean that as a critique. There are hotels like the Bauer which are right in San Marco and are 5-star luxury. This is simply not that but it's also not priced that way. My wife and I loved this hotel for a short trip away from the kids. It's in a quieter area that still has wonderful restaurants, shops and easy access to water taxis (1st stop from airport) and a 15-20 minute walk to San Marco. We like to walk but if not there is transport. The rooms are very clean and the bathroom was brand new and spacious.

Breakfast is good especially for an included European breakfast.

Skip the 40 Euro per person night boat ride... not worth it. The driver was nice but this wasn't a guided tour it was simply a ride in the back of a covered motor boat. Nice but not worth the money.

The desk staff was helpful but not in your face. Happy to answer questions give you a map with the route to wherever you're looking to go.

Bottom line - def a very good option for the money especially if you prefer to be slightly off the beaten path but within walking distance of the action.

We'd stay there again

Room Tip: we were in the new section of the hotel - I think those rooms are nicer but we had no view
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Dave K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews