We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet Haven in Venice” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ca' San Rocco

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ca' San Rocco
Ranked #138 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Quiet Haven in Venice”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2011

The Ca'San Rocco is located in a quiet residential part of Venice, within walking distance from the train station and also to the ferry which takes you along the Grand Canal to all the major sights.
We stayed in the apartment, which had a self contained kitchen and stove - it really was like having your own home in Venice.
The breakfast was a mixture of pastries, bread rolls and yogurt.
The staff was very friendly and helped us with bookings.
Highly recommended!

Room Tip: Ask for the private apartment
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sydneytraveller689
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

287 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    181
    91
    10
    4
    1
See reviews for
46
182
17
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Marlborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2011

The location of Ca' San Rocco was first class. Very quiet, yet with easy access to all areas. Top floor suite was very spacious with kitchen area, fridge etc. This room also has a roof terrace overlooking adjacent gardens and giving superb views over the roof tops. The ambiance was fantastic. There is a canal not too far away (on the other side of the garden) but although you can occasional hear the sound of a boat moving along you cannot see anything. Breakfast was very good and taken on the terrace (weather permitting). Very helpful staff. Good value restaurants close by. Would certainly use again.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Roy658
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2011

We love the location of Ca' San Rocco. It is close to both the train station & Piazzale Roma. But please be aware that you will have to carry your luggage over 2-3 bridges to/from either of the above. Ca' San Rocco is not close to the water so a water taxi would not be an option to get there. This is something to keep in mind if you have a lot of luggage and/or physically challenged.

We stayed in the outside apartment. Technically it is still part of the building but it can only be accessed from outside the gate. We were not given keys for the gate so every time we needed to go into the building we had to ring the bell. But it was not a problem as we only went in once a day for breakfast. The apartment was recently renovated so it was modern, spacious and very clean. The was no views from the windows. Although the apartment was next to a small street, we weren't bothered by noise nor people walking past. There was not a lot of traffic and the road was not a main thoroughfare.

The breakfast selection was limited but the terrace where we ate more than made up for that!
It was quiet and peaceful and offered a great view of the lovely courtyard next door. It was so relaxing sitting there each morning, with those awesome cappuccino in hand, listening to someone in a nearby apartment practicing on the piano.

I was a little miffed at checkout when I was told I needed to pay an extra 18 euros (approximate) in new taxes. Apparently this new tax went into effect a few weeks ago but the staff didn't inform us either before or upon our arrival. I wasn't too happy because I explicitly asked and got written confirmation during my last email exchange that the price I was quoted include ALL service and tax charges.

Other than that, we were very happy with our stay on this property.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank traveltravel88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ilkeston uk
Level Contributor
27 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2011

Nessled away in a quiet street but only 5 minutes from the bus station the San Rocco is a haven of tranquility.
the rooms are clean and well equipt ,the breakfast is lovely with plenty of choice but it is the terrace where it is taken that makes it special.
You will not be disappointed here.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bertieIlkestonUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2011

Ca' San Rocco is in the heart of the San Polo area of Venice.
Nestled in the streets and lanes of Venice where a 'wrong' turn leads to a local restaurant serving locally caught seafood brought from the open air market that runs from Wed-Mon in Rialto.
Room was spacious and comfortable with little touches such as complimentary toiletries.
Fantastic churches around the B&B which are worth a visit. But ladies cover up your shoulders!
Breakfast was simple but enough to fill you up the day ahead. Fresh coffee is also served and my husband and I always had a caffelatte or cappuccino to start the day.
In all a wonderful gem of a B&B and a fantastic city. Big thank you to the staff at Ca' San Rocco.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank brooksalexandra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2011

The hotel hast a great location in a central but quite location - great if you are ready to explore Venice by foot. Rooms are clean and spacious, breakfast is great (for Italian standards - but it is not an American breakfast with eggs, beans, etc.). Staff is friendly and helpful, recommendations prooved to be good.
Definitely a recommendation.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Memberger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tipperary, Ireland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2011

We really had a good experience at the Ca san Rocca. The rooms were spotless and the bathroom excellent. The staff were particularly friendly helping with detailed directions to events. The directions on the site for the hotel, were really good and there was no problem finding it as a result. this is quite a feat given that it's Venice where getting lost is par for the course!! A welcome retreat for the weary traveller and we would stay there again.
(Irish couple)

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cahir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
San Polo
Locanda Sant'Agostin
Locanda Sant'Agostin
#89 of 385 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 878 reviews
Santa Croce
Hotel Al Sole
Hotel Al Sole
#115 of 385 in Venice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 829 reviews
Santa Croce
Hotel Dalla Mora
Hotel Dalla Mora
#99 of 385 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 526 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Polo
Ca' San Polo
Ca' San Polo
#159 of 385 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 412 reviews
Santa Croce
Hotel Gardena
Hotel Gardena
#190 of 385 in Venice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 383 reviews
Santa Croce
Hotel ai due Fanali
Hotel ai due Fanali
#182 of 385 in Venice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ca' San Rocco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ca' San Rocco

Property: Ca' San Rocco
Address: San Polo 3078 | Ramo Cimesin, 30125 Venice, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Polo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#57 Romantic Hotel in Venice
#99 Family Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ca' San Rocco 2.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Ca' San Rocco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ca` San Rocco Hotel Venice
Ca San Rocco Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing