We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“great place in the heart of Venice” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ca' dei Dogi

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ca' dei Dogi
Ranked #21 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“great place in the heart of Venice”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2011

The hotel is ideally situated in the heart of Venice (at the back of the Palazzo Ducale). it's clean fresh, welcoming and has all that you would wish for a short stay in Venice.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Tubbybren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

722 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    573
    128
    19
    1
    1
See reviews for
89
473
52
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
62 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2011

There's lots to like about the Ca' dei Dogi. It's in a great spot, just a couple of minutes from San Marco and close to the vaporetto stop and lots of good restaurants. The staff are lovely and very helpful. They go out of their way for you. The room was lovely in many ways- beautifully decorated, very clean, quiet- but it was also very tiny and I'm quite claustrophobic. This is the only negative I have for this place.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Frances R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iasi, Romania
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2011

Charming 15th century building, right on the waterfront and to water bus station. Small building, historic details, comfortable room. The hotel is very close to San Marco square, yet away from the noise and the crowd. Right outside there are fine restaurants and small shops/grocery. Wifi worked good. We were lucky to book a one-night last minute offer, but the regular price is high. Helpful staff. We really enjoyed staying there, and we'll be happy to come back :-)

Room Tip: Room with a view means a stunning view on the channel and neighbouring islands.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CristiLeon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2011

Spent six nights at Ca' dei Dogi for our honeymoon and it is a real gem of a place. The breakfast is wonderful for a full day out sightseeing. Only issue we had was influx of mosquitoes that bit us in the night. Hopefully the management will be able to address this in some way as it really was the only problem we had. Helpful friendly staff. Fantastic location. Recommended.

Room Tip: 210 is the most expensive but also probably the best room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Hebden2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
65 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2011

We stayed at the Sole apartment across the street from the dining room and it was lovely. True, there is no elevator and I counted 78 steps (6 floors) to get there but it was no so bad. Even our 2 children aged 10 and 13 did not complain about it. But don't worry, your luggage will be brought up by the hotel staff. Don't be put off by the condition of the stairwell or some of the "wet" odours at the front door. It is not representative of what awaits you at the top. Once up there, you will be delighted by a newly decorated and spacious apartment with a lovely balcony overlooking the Palazzo Ducale! Our children slept on the pullout couch in the living room and found it comfortable. The master bedroom was also comfortable. The bathroom has a nice rain shower head which we found very relaxing. Should you want to prepare a small meal, you will find a kitchenette as well as the basic utensils but no spices, oils, or such cooking accessories. The breakfast served in the restaurant had something for everyone (croissants, jams, hot beverages, juice, fruit salad, omelette of your choice, etc) and we were pleased with it. The only suggestion for improvement that we would have is that the bed covers for the pullout couch had a bad smell to them. They were clean but it just seemed like it was dried in a humid place if you know what I mean... Which I guess might be a frequent thing in a place like Venice. So we used the extra covers that were in the master bedroom closet and set the smelly ones aside.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ZurichPizazz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2011

A nice, clean hotel only 5 minutes walk from San Marco, and for me, a room overlooking the Doges' jail cells. Friendly staff and good service. Breakfast was really good (especially for the price), with a fresh omelette each morning. One of those hotels where you just feel so pleased you happened to pick that one (on TripAdvisor of course!)

Be aware the single room is very tiny. Defintiely no room to swing even a small cat. But it's clean, and beautifully appointed. I didn't have any issues with it, but it's worth being aware of if that's important to you.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Naomi L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Avila Beach, Ca.
Level Contributor
110 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2011

Four of us, two couples, stayed here Oct. 2011. From the airport we took Alilaguna Blue Line public water taxi to the San Zaccaria stop. (One stop before San Marcos stop). The cost was E15 euros per person. The ride was very pleasant and took about 45 - 50 minutes. When you exit the water taxi turn left (towards St. Marks square) go over one bridge (ponte). Prior to reaching the Bridge of Sighs the narrow street/alley Calle degli Albanesi is on your right. Half a block down Albanesi, left at the first corner and there is the hotel. Easy to find! The rooms were very clean, although typically small. Location is within easy walking distance of everything - we walked a lot. The staff is very friendly and accomodating and the breakfast, including a hot omelette each morning, was really good. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AndiamoBrian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
Castello
Hotel Le Isole
Hotel Le Isole
#13 of 385 in Venice
5.0 of 5 bubbles 860 reviews
San Marco
Residence Corte Grimani
Residence Corte Grimani
#19 of 385 in Venice
5.0 of 5 bubbles 866 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Al Codega
Hotel Al Codega
#25 of 385 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Castello
Hotel Sant'Antonin
Hotel Sant'Antonin
#16 of 385 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 801 reviews
Santa Croce
Hotel Antiche Figure
Hotel Antiche Figure
#9 of 385 in Venice
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,355 reviews
Castello
Hotel Londra Palace
Hotel Londra Palace
#22 of 385 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ca' dei Dogi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ca' dei Dogi

Property: Ca' dei Dogi
Address: Corte Santa Scolastica | Castello 4242, 30122 Venice, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Castello
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in Venice
#25 Family Hotel in Venice
#33 Best Value Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An antique Venetian palace dating back to the 15th century located close to the Palazzo Ducale and the Bridge of Sighs where you can enjoy a stay in Venice surrounded by a charming, sophisticated atmosphere and with top quality services. Ca' dei Dogi has been planned down to the finest detail to provide a unique, exceptionally pretty environment, combining typically Venetian details such as marble and mosaics with high quality technological comforts such as LCD televisions installed in every room. Six rooms, each individually decorated, where every detail contributes to the creation of an exclusive and refined atmosphere. Every detail has been carefully chosen to convey sensations of pleasure: lights, colors, quality materials, design objects, state of the art technology. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ca` Dei Dogi Hotel Venice
Ca Dei Dogi Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing