We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location!”
Review of Pensione Guerrato

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Pensione Guerrato
Ranked #136 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 February 2012

It is difficult to book a single room in Italy for a family of 5, however, the Pensione Guerrato turned out to be the perfect option for us due to its location and charm. The Pensione is located in a charming alley right next to the Rialto Market. Easy to get to from the rail station and only steps from the Valporetto stop. The building is filled with beautiful antique wood pieces. It is not fancy, but very practical and perfect for a family stay. The rooms are basic, but very clean. Ours had a queen bed and three cots for the kids. WiFi is free and breakfast is included. Being in the heart of Venice is a big bonus! -- We would stay here again!

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank MMAAMM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (588)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

360 - 366 of 588 reviews

Reviewed 19 January 2012

This is a wonderful place to stay in magic Venice. The location is superb - near the Rialto bridge and metres from the Markets, and surrounded by shops and restaurants. It is a family run hotel and the service is friendly and helpful. The building goes back to the 1200's and is full of charm and atmosphere - wooden floors, antique furniture etc. We stayed in a 3 bedroom apartment on the third floor with a kitchen and dining room - very suitable for a family. View from the window across the markets to the Grand Canal. The only drawback for some people would be climbing the stairs - no elevator, so luggage has to be carried up on arrival. This wasn't a problem at all for us but may be for some. Breakfast was simple but good - cereals and bread/pastries etc. Overall we all just loved it here and would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank BrisbaneAlison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2012

My family of four adults stayed in the apartment, Carampane, for three nights. The apartment is located about four blocks from the hotel (about a 5-10 minute walk). It was recently remodeled and very nice. It consisted of two large bedrooms and two good-sized bathrooms and a combination living room and kitchen. The apartment is located down a dead-end street in a residential area. You do have to walk up one flight of stairs to get to the apartment as there is no elevator. The apartment was in a very good location, close to the fish market and Rialto Bridge. The only negative thing about our stay was the chilly reception we received at the hotel. The woman who checked us in was very unwelcoming and made us feel like we were a bother. When we checked out, we got a similar response from a man. We were only at the hotel to check in and out so the chilly reception was really not a problem. However, because of that I'm not sure I would stay at the hotel but would definitely stay in the Apartment Carampane again.

Room Tip: For a family or group of four or six, I would definitely recommend staying in the Carampane apartmen...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ann C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2012

This is why you go to Italy...you know you are not in an Holiday Inn. Great small hotel, 24 charming
rooms run by two brothers, they will help you find the best local places to eat. Two minutes from the
Rialto Bridge. We loved it, going back this fall.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Bill E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2012

Venice was the third stop on our trip to Europe in August 2011. We chose this hotel because it is recommended by Rick Steves. The location was fantastic. The hotel was clean and the reception staff were professional and sort-of friendly. We stayed on the 5th floor, and it was super quiet, I don't think anyone else was staying on that floor, and so it felt spooky. However, our room faced a square, and noise from the bar below was loud at night. The room was huge, and the bathroom was big and clean. The water pressure in the shower was terrible and it was very frustrating to rinse out shampoo! The a/c worked well and was quiet. My husband developed tonsilitis in Venice, and we had to travel to our next destination a day early in order to be with family, because he was not comfortable in the hotel. The hotel owner asked us to pay for the night we missed, minus 25E. We were grateful, but would have liked a bit more forgiveness. Overall, I would recommend this hotel to any one who wants a clean hotel with a great location, doesn't mind trickling water in the shower, doesn't mind stairs and a bit of night noise. We were satisfied, but not thrilled.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Scoutingitout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2012

Located steps from the Rialto Bridge and just behind the bustling fruit market, one can easily walk right by this when first attempting to locate the pensione,however arriving from the airport is simple, just get off at the Vaporetto stop Rialto Mercado, walk thru the gate and take a right. Rooms are small, basic mattresses a bit stiff. Bathrooms (en suite)are also small and basic. The small view thru my window was of the market and just beyond the Grand Canal. Overall the pensione is slightly warn but clean. Breakfast is simple, cereal, brioche, coffee. Staff is pleasant and are very helpful. We were here during Carnivale so rooms are noisy, but I'm sure everywhere is noisy then!! Since the ps sone is located in an alley, it is probably more quiet at other times. Overall a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank RaeRae M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2011

I stayed here for 3 nights in September. My room was on the first floor with the bathroom down the hall. To be fair, I was warned that it was a bit noisy and it was especially when they were preparing breakfast. I did like the breakfast and found staff friendly.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Linda L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
Santa Croce
Hotel Dalla Mora
Hotel Dalla Mora
#87 of 385 in Venice
583 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Casa Petrarca
Hotel Casa Petrarca
#131 of 385 in Venice
439 reviews
San Marco
Hotel San Salvador
Hotel San Salvador
#98 of 385 in Venice
431 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Cannaregio
Hotel Bernardi Semenzato
Hotel Bernardi Semenzato
#141 of 385 in Venice
939 reviews
San Marco
Hotel San Samuele
Hotel San Samuele
#88 of 385 in Venice
497 reviews
Cannaregio
Hotel Villa Rosa
Hotel Villa Rosa
#188 of 385 in Venice
522 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pensione Guerrato? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pensione Guerrato

Address: Calle drio la Scimia 240/a | Rialto, 30125 Venice, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Polo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#9 Best Value Hotel in Venice
#82 Family Hotel in Venice
#113 Romantic Hotel in Venice
Price Range: $111 - $263 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Pensione Guerrato 1*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the pulsing heart of Venice, adjacent to the vibrant and brightly colored Rialto fish market, it's the perfect place to start experiencing life the venetian way. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Pensione Guerrato reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pensione Guerrato Venice
Pensione Guerrato Hotel Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing