We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just Great”
Review of La Villeggiatura

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
La Villeggiatura
Ranked #68 of 476 Venice B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 September 2011

A great little B&B in a genuine Venetian house. Located in the centre of Venice, 3 minutes away from Rialto bridge. Ask Barbara where to eat, her advice is priceless.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thomas K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (259)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

101 - 107 of 259 reviews

Reviewed 27 August 2011

We stayed 3 nights at this beautiful B & B. It is immaculate, beautifully furnished and Barbara, the proprietor could not be a better hostess. Our train was delayed 3 hours and she made special arrangements for us to be met. She spent a lot time giving us advice on places to see and excellent restaurants of all price ranges. She is lovely and very knowledgeable. The Inn is on the 3rd floor with no elevator, but they helped us with our bags. The location is fabulous. Very convenient, yet quiet at night. The breakfast was delicious and fresh. Excellent value.

Room Tip: We were in room off the main desk. It was very large and beautiful and very private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mugsylosangeles1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2011

We paid 250 euros in cash (a discount) for a double room with a roll away bed for a third person - our 25 year old daughter. We had reserved a triple room. We could only get one key to our room so it was very difficult to coordinate timings when we wanted to visit separate sites. No one was there when we were leaving in the middle of the day so we had to manage all our luggage down the three flights by ourselves. Immediately upon closing the exterior door, our daughter realized she had left her sunglasses inside. Since no one was there, she was not able to get them and had to purchase another pair. It might be worth a better rating if the price was lower. Our room was quiet and Sunil was pleasant.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank momo8034
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2011

room quiet but without view. good AC. bath blocked. The manager wasn't at the hotel when I had to get my luggage back before catch my plane. Not possible to receive telephone calls. Breakfast poor.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lucettelaurent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2011

We stayed in the Doge suite. This room, as well as the other 3 larger rooms/suites are right off of the lobby and breakfast area. I believe there are 2 smaller rooms on a level above. The room was nicely furnished with antique furniture, although the white sofa looked a bit on the shabby side and the walls were in need of some touch up painting. There were 2 windows with a nice view of the walkway below and a bell tower. The bathroom was modern, bright and shower was good, but the heated towel warmer did not work and leaked when we tried it. The room has air conditioning and supposedly heat, but when we arrived we asked Sunil if we could turn on the heat, he said no. We had walked with our luggage through pouring rain and puddles and we were soaked, so the heat would have been nice and would have helped to dry our soaked shoes. The bed was firm and comfortable and the room was relatively quiet.

A pet peeve of mine is fresh towels daily in a hotel. We stayed 3 nights and our towels were only changed once and that was upon request. We had put our towels on the floor so they would be changed because we had sopped up the leak from the towel heater. Even then, we realized that only 1 of 3 towels had been changed, so we asked Barbara if we could have fresh towels, which she did take care of. She seemed surprised that our towels had not been changed out.

The breakfast room was nice, bright and peaceful. Sunil served breakfast each morning and was very pleasant. Breakfast was the same every morning (croissant, roll, cereal, yogurt, fruit, juice and coffee). It would have been nice for a little variety. Our first morning, Sunil was unpacking a food delivery as we ate breakfast and I saw the large bags of frozen croissants and rolls and at that point knew it would be the same every morning. It was a tasty breakfast, but for the price, a little more effort could have been made, especially with the fresh produce market right around the corner and fresh pastries all over the city.

Barbara was there from mid-morning to mid-afternoon and was helpful in suggesting an itinerary for the day, or restaurants.

The price was a sore point, considering the amenities we received. We paid 250 Euro per night for 3 people, although a cash discount was offered, so our final price was 225 Euro with cash payment. Rick Steves mentions that it is difficult to get Venetian Hoteliers to pinpoint a price and we found this to be true at La Villeggiatura. We were initially quoted a much lower price (email quoted below), but when I e-mailed just 2 weeks later because I had temporarily lost the original email, the price had gone up considerably (also quoted below).

Original email received 7-19-10...

"The prices for July get from a min of 145 Euros to a max of 165 Euros ( depending on the room ) per room per night including a full continental breakfast, service and taxes. The cost for the thir persons ' stay is 25 Euros per night and it includes the extra bed , breakfast and taxes."

2nd email received 8-4-10 (after the first email we received was temporarily lost in cyberspace and later restored)...

"The prices are 205 Euros for the superior room and 210 Euros for the junior suite, per night including a full continental breakfast, service and taxes. The stay for the third person costs 30 euros per ngiht, for the extra bed, breakfast, service and taxes."

We probably would have been very pleased with the room and services had we paid the lower price.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Critic46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lavilleggiatura, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at La Villeggiatura, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2011

We really appreciate you writing such an exhaustive review about us and we thank you for giving us the opportunity to address the issues mentioned by you, starting with the price quoting.

As you can see from our first e-mail to you (that you kindly attached to your review) the first price quoted by us is for the month of July, which is mid-low season, as you can see on our website as well. The second price quoted is for the month of June, which is high season in Venice. Our lowest price rate applies to our low season.

Second, we have a central heating and air conditioning system that cannot be switched back and forth. June is a very warm month and it is not possible to change the whole heating system for one rainy afternoon only.

In Italy we have very strict FDA regulations that we must follow. We are encouraged not to offer cakes, nor any other baked goods, unless we know all the ingredients. Our croissants are the most safe and certified, besides being delicious. In addition we offer fresh fruit, different kinds of yogurts, ruskes, cereals and juices.

Please feel free to contact us with any questions you may have or any other suggestions you may have and it will be an honor to have you as our guests again at La Villeggiatura in the future.

Very truly yours

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2011

We stayed here for 6 nights and loved everything about the B&B. Barbara made us feel very comfortable and was so helpful in planning our daily "trips". The breakfasts were really good and we enjoyed speaking to the other guests. Our room was beautiful and extremely clean and a very comfortable bed. Great location; well worth the price!

Room Tip: We would highly recommend the Doge room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JAGHW69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2011

Hi! My partner and I have been in Venice for some days recently and stayed at the Villeggiatura.
We'd like to say that was wonderful :) We had a very good experience.
It's nice to see how a big, unique, international, multicultural city, Venice, doesn't lose its genuine nature: the washing hanging out, friendly people at the bars and in shops. You'll always find a smile (if you enter with a smile ;)) I'll always keep in my mind the image of some old women set out of their houses just chatting, knitting and looking for some rest enjoing the fresh air in the shade ;)
The residence where we stayed was so romantic. Every room with a peculiar and personal style; attention for all detailes, aromatic scents everywhere, and all the support you may need. From the shop where buy that special thig you are looking for to the restaurant where to eat something typical and economic ;) or the best museum/exposition to visit according to your preferences: I mean, personalized care 360' ;) We really apreciated it. Thank's Barbara!
We hope to come back soon.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GemaDiez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
San Marco
Hotel Locanda Fiorita
Hotel Locanda Fiorita
#147 of 385 in Venice
263 reviews
Cannaregio
Hotel Ca' Dogaressa
Hotel Ca' Dogaressa
#69 of 385 in Venice
1,183 reviews
Cannaregio
B & B Al Saor
B & B Al Saor
#50 of 476 in Venice
265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Cannaregio
Alla Vite Dorata
Alla Vite Dorata
#34 of 476 in Venice
305 reviews
Castello
La Porta D'Oriente B&B
La Porta D'Oriente B&B
#126 of 476 in Venice
88 reviews
Santa Croce
Campiello Zen
Campiello Zen
#26 of 476 in Venice
405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Villeggiatura? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Villeggiatura

Address: Calle Dei Boteri San Polo 1569, 30125 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Polo
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #68 of 476 B&Bs / Inns in Venice
Price Range: $197 - $350 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — La Villeggiatura 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity.ca and TripOnline SA so you can book your La Villeggiatura reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Villeggiatura Hotel Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing