We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A la Commedia” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel a La Commedia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel a La Commedia
Ranked #28 of 386 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A la Commedia”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2012

This was an excellent hotel and the staff very friendly and helpful. It's position in Venice close to the Rialto and San Marco made is central to the whole trip. The rooms were very well appointed and comfortable- great bathroom. Breakfast was ok but don't expect full English! - but this is similar to most continental hotels. Would highly recommend it and would go back again if visiting Venice.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stephanie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,910 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,457
    381
    43
    15
    14
See reviews for
318
1,283
37
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (224)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2012

perfect location, very good stuff, clean and warm
just only can say: Thanks

Room Tip: seams like any rooms are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ttteppel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wroclaw
Level Contributor
263 reviews
262 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 197 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2012

Staff were very friendly and helpful. A few steps from the grand canal and the Rialto Bridge and only 5-10 minutes walk to St Mark's square. The facility was spotless, the room was very comfortable. The breakfast room is well managed and the breakfast good. Free wi-fi is only for 30 minutes then you pay 8 euro for another 3 hours.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pawel_WRO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2012

We stepped from a bitterly cold day in late January into a warm lobby and to an even warmer welcome from Roberto . He greeted us by name and told us that our room was waiting for us. Yes, we had been here before. In fact, this was our fifth visit to La Commedia. The location suits us perfectly and is central for our long walks through Venice. We normally stay for seven days or more, and we find the service outstanding. The beautiful, spacious room is spotless, the staff accommodating, polite and friendly, and we always look forward to breakfast. The range is not wide, but, what is there, is of high quality, and the staff are always responsive and amicable. On the few occasions we have needed some extra assistance at Reception, staff, particularly Massimo, Frederico and Roberto, have always been prepared to help in any way they can. There is a sumptuous, elegant Venetian touch to this hotel without being kitschy. We're looking forward to returning to Venice and our Venetian hotel shortly.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank thetravellingdrums
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riga, Latvia
Level Contributor
73 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2012

Paid for 2 nights in January around 400 EUR for a junior suite room. For Venice the price is just wright, it`s very easy to pay more, but get less of what this hotel offers.
Very good location of the hotel - in the middle of everything. The Rialto bridge was within 5 min. walk. The room was large, clean, nice decorated and up to date. The bathroom had a good size. Would recommend for a city trip and also for couples.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2012

Friendly and helpful staff make this place entirely. The biggest bad point for me is the price... Ended up paying 600€ for 3 nights... This when coupled with the extortionate amount for everything else in Venice made it quite difficult to enjoy it. Other than that, very clean and good breakfast spread.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Andrew S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WALES
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2012

This hotel is very central, yet reasonably quiet, very clean and provides an excellent continental breakfast. The staff were very polite and helpful. The room was not huge, but was big enough. The bathroom, on the other hand, was a good size. One thing we especially liked was that the sheets were changed after the second night. (If we were rich enough to pay someone to wash and iron them, I would change sheets nightly at home!!!! - but we are not!). The only down-side was that we were offered a "free" trip to the Murano Glass factory, and were told that we would be taken by taxi. We checked and double checked. Yes the trip was "free". Please note that there is no charge to go round the glass factory. They do this in the hope of gaining a sale (of course). On signing out of the hotel we were presented with a bill for the taxi (i.e. the full cost of the "free" trip - which could easily have been done more cheaply on the Vaporetto). Pity - this left a bad taste in the mouth. If, you take this on board for the future, and avoid such "free trips" - unless you were going to take a taxi to murano anyway, this is an excellent hotel to stay in.

Room Tip: In Venice, expect a view of a wall unless you choose a hotel on a canal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CAEWALES
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
Castello
Hotel Ai Cavalieri di Venezia
San Marco
NH Collection Venezia Palazzo Barocci
Castello
Hotel Colombina
Hotel Colombina
#48 of 386 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,731 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Marco
Hotel Al Codega
Hotel Al Codega
#25 of 386 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,286 reviews
Santa Croce
Hotel Canal Grande
Hotel Canal Grande
#11 of 386 in Venice
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,888 reviews
San Marco
Corte Di Gabriela
Corte Di Gabriela
#7 of 386 in Venice
5.0 of 5 bubbles 693 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel a La Commedia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel a La Commedia

Property: Hotel a La Commedia
Address: San Marco 4596/A | Corte Del Teatro Goldoni, 30124 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Marco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Venice
#20 Luxury Hotel in Venice
#23 Romantic Hotel in Venice
#42 Business Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel a La Commedia 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just opened in 2006, Hotel a La Commedia is located in one of the most lively areas of the historical centre a few steps away from Rialto bridge and the most famous San Marco's Square. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Fastbooking, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Hotel a La Commedia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
a La Commedia Venice
a La Commedia Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing