We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Venice”

Best prices for your stay
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel a La Commedia
Ranked #30 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Camber, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Venice”
Reviewed 19 March 2012

We spent our 25th Wedding anniversary in Venice. we had a very special & unforgettable time.
The quality and location of the Hotel was great, a stone’s throw from the Grand Canal and short walk to St Marks Square. The staff att the Hotel were exellent and very freindly.

Ps Venice quite exspensive take plenty of euros

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

2,008 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,533
    400
    45
    16
    14
See reviews for
333
1,356
37
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (237)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Capelle aan den IJssel, The Netherlands
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2012

Very nice hotel and very friendly personal. This was the 7th time we were in Venice and it is really the best hotel we experienced. The price was reasonable. We spend here 5 nights and are planning to come back. Probably in october.

Room Tip: our room 203 had a sight on a little square
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Moscow City, Russia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 March 2012

We stayed for two nights with 6 years old child. The room is quite big for three people and have a big bathroom. Personal is very friendly. Location is less then 5 minutes walk from the San Marco square. IF we will be in Venice one more time we definitely will stay in this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lichfield
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2012

We visited the Hotel A La Commedia on 7 March for 2 nights. We chose this hotel after reading the fantastic reviews. First of all we had been undecisive about how to get to the hotel, whether to book a water taxi (at £50 one way for a shared boat it's not cheap) or whether to wait for the Vaporetto (water bus) - we decided to arrive in style in the speedboat water taxi option and I'm so glad we did - what a way to arrive into the city! The water taxi was waiting for us with 2 other couples and we sped straight off!
The hotel is literally a 2 minute walk from the Rialto Bridge which is where we got dropped off and is really easy to find. We were upgraded to a suite which was a nice surprise - the rooms are gorgeous and spacious with a lovely bathroom and very clean. The cleaner also turns your bed for you at night and leaves chocolates and the weather forecast for the next day on the bed. We were on the third floor and the room was really quiet both from outside noise (and there is a constant stream of people walking by) and from other occupants of the hotel.
Breakfast is a great start to the day, fruit juices, tea/coffee, cereal, cold meats, cheese, fresh fruit, yoghurt, scrambled egg, bacon, croissants, bread rolls, biscuits.
San Marco square is a 5 minute walk away. We also went on a gondalier ride which we caught at the back of San Marco square for 80 euros - obviously very expensive but well worth it for 40 minutes. Be sure to haggle as the original price started at 120 euros!
We ate at Hard Rock Cafe the first night, bottle of wine, starter between us and 2 mains cost 65 euros and the second night we ate at Da Mamo which has also been recommended on Trip Advisor. We both had pizza which was delicious but we weren't that keen on the environment as the tables are pushed so close together you feel like you are having dinner with the couple next to you - food was tasty though and at reasonable prices.
All in all we had a fantastic short break and can't wait to go back - we would definately go back to the same hotel, we couldn't have asked for anything more!!!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint-Etienne, France
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviewed 9 March 2012

Stay 3 nights in this hotel and all was perfect : calm, clean, well situed and hotel employees friendly and professional
breakfast buffet was ok.

Room Tip: just precise which type of rooms you prefer when you book it (quiet, sunny.....)
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2012

Stayed two nights and the hotel was fantastic! We loved the location. It was centrally located. The only annoying thing we noticed was music being played at night about a block away in the square until about 11pm. Service was top notch! The decor of the room was a charming, Venetian style.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norway
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 February 2012

Excelent hotel. Perfect location, only 2 min. from Rialto with convenient boat transport to the airport. Very nice room, good breakfast, friendly staff.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
San Marco
NH Collection Venezia Palazzo Barocci
San Marco
Hotel Saturnia & International
San Marco
Hotel Colombina
Hotel Colombina
#49 of 385 in Venice
1,823 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Marco
Starhotels Splendid Venice
Castello
Hotel Ai Cavalieri di Venezia
San Marco
Corte Di Gabriela
Corte Di Gabriela
#10 of 385 in Venice
744 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Additional Information about Hotel a La Commedia

Property: Hotel a La Commedia
Address: San Marco 4596/A | Corte Del Teatro Goldoni, 30124 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Marco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Venice
#21 Luxury Hotel in Venice
#23 Romantic Hotel in Venice
#42 Business Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel a La Commedia 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just opened in 2006, Hotel a La Commedia is located in one of the most lively areas of the historical centre a few steps away from Rialto bridge and the most famous San Marco's Square. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, Priceline, Fastbooking, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel a La Commedia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
a La Commedia Venice
a La Commedia Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing