We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice but a bit overpriced” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Palladio Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Palladio Hotel & Spa
Ranked #78 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Stockholm
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Nice but a bit overpriced”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2012

Very friendly staff, very nice room. Tranquil and nice gardens at the back. Beautiful building. Quiet and peaceful, slept in late as it was very silent. The breakfast was definitely below standard for a supposedly five-star facility. The safe didn't work and neither did the fridge for the minibar.

The location is perfect on Giudecca very close to the Vaporetto line 2, 4.1 and 4.2 - making it easy to get into the center as well as directly to Murano for those who want to enjoy world class glass blowing.

The fitness center was a 10EUR per day extra, so we never tried it out, however Giudecca is a nice location for running in the morning and is not as crowded as the main island.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bishop4711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

607 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    387
    139
    51
    20
    10
See reviews for
77
412
10
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
harrogate
Level Contributor
44 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2012

My wife and I stayed here for our anniversary and the location, opposite San Marco, could not be more perfect. The complimentary shuttle boat crosses the water in no time and you arrive to a peaceful, beautiful hotel where the staff are friendly, willing, and charming. I would like to particularly thank Allesandra and Tatch - who are professional, warm, helpful, and a credit to the Bauer. Nothing was too much trouble and they made our stay very enjoyable and we wish them well.
We stayed in a suite overlooking the garden and the room was immaculate; clean and simply decorated with a very comfortable bed, spacious lounge, and fantastic bathroom with jacuzzi bath, powerful shower, and his n' hers sinks. For a five star hotel, we were disappointed that there were no tea and coffee making facilities in the room and breakfast was the simplest of fruit, cold cuts, and pastries; with eggs, omelettes, bacon, and smoked salmon all 'extras' at considerable expense. Why? Surely at the rates charged, these are simply essentials.
We did not eat in the hotel (again, the rates for dinner were simply excessive) and instead opted to eat at the Cipriani next door - around 250Euro for two for dinner but the view of Venice is the best, the food and wine fantastic, and the weather meant we could eat on their floating dock over the lagoon. Perfecto.
In my opinion, the Bauer is perfect for those wishing to escape the chaos across the water. It was a pleasure to arrive back after the days of bedlam..

Room Tip: We loved the suite overlooking the gardens... so quiet my wife said, with a sense of humor, that she...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bigdom8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2012

Stayed here for four nights over Easter and was very happy with my choice. The hotel is on Giudecca island which is situated across the lagoon from San Marco and greatly benefits from being an oasis of calm from the mayhem of the tourist areas. The room was a duplex with a sitting room directly looking out over the lagoon to San Marco, a bathroom, of course, and a large dressing room. Bed was firm but comfortable and the staff were fantastic, nothing too much trouble.
There is a boat service ( complimentary) between the hotel and the main island which was perfect for our needs, so one can visit the sites yet retire later to a place of peace and quiet.

Food, as is usual in Italy, was very good and priced as one would expect in a quality hotel. Breakfast was a little disappointing but no real grumbles.

The one downside I had was the price of the spa facilities which I thought were very expensive even for Venice. I would have thought that residents would have had some "perk" in that department. However, the hotel did surprise me with a birthday cake although I have no idea how they knew it was my birthday! My wife swears she did not tell them.
Giudecca itself is less touristy but gives a taste of the real Venice. Near the hotel we found a really good restaurant serving local dishes.
I would use this hotel again

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Poppo59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston,MA
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2012

This hotel is "interesting" being a former "sanctuary for unmarried women of virtue". I found it dark and not inviting. The staff is fabulous and can't do enough for you. The rooms are large and are comfortable enough but there is a step up to the bathroom. In the middle of the night I didn't remember that step and fell and injured myself pretty badly. I think rather than trying to maintain the convent atmosphere, they should remodel it top to bottom and get rid of that step at the same time. It's in an excellent location on the Grand Canal opposite St Marks Sq. and accessible by a complimentary shuttle.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pmom226
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2012

The view from Guidecca is wonderful - views over the water to St Mark's Square. The Palladio has a courtesy launch to the Bauer Palazzo and two minutes from the Palladio you will find the the Zitelle vaporetti stop. The atmosphere on Guidecca is very calm compared the main island. We had a lovely garden suite which very comfortable and nicely decorated. The view of the garden was an unexpected bonus - masses of spring flowers! We had lunch in the hotel once - which good value with sensibly priced wines. Breakfast was OK. The service in the hotel was exceptional - Alessandra needs to be singled out for charm and efficiency - but everyone seemed to enjoy their job and do it well. Little touches such as the galss of prosecco on arrivel, the vases of fresh flowers and orchids in the suite and the bottle of wine on ice when we return to our rooms all contributed to this excellent hotel experience. I would recommend the Bauer Palladio most strongly (and I seldom do this).

Room Tip: Garden rooms are sunny and quiet - with a lovely view. They are a bit cheaper.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank paulukabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2012 via mobile

My wife and I have just returned from our fourth stay at this hotel. We were greeted as old friends and upgraded to a lagoon view room, which had fresh flowers and a bottle of Prosecco waiting for us. On each visit we have had at least one of our children along. The staff all looked after us very well, the rooms were great and the food in the restaurant was good enough to tempt us back evening after evening. Having stayed in many hotels around the world, this has become a real favourite. It's location on the Guidecca should not put anyone off; it's easy and fun to travel the 5 minutes journey across the lagoon to near St Mark's Square, which also happens to be the view from the hotel!

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Tim P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 December 2011

We stayed here at the end of September for 4 night break in Venice. We travelled by Water Bus from the airport and just prcked up the free shuttle from the Palazzo. The service we received from the minute we entered the reception was amazing, they took us up to our room following a short tour of the hotel and its facilities. We were given a free upgrade to an attic room which had a sitting area, TV area, dressing room and a huge bed on a mezzanine floor. Candles were lit in our room at the end of each day and fresh orchids left in the bathroom. This really was special. We would stay here again if we visit Venice. We don't eat lunch or dinner in hotels and like to experience restaurants in other places however we did have did have breakfast and I have to agree with some other comments that this was a bit disasterous. For a 5 star hotel this was very disappointing. Not enough staff, not enough cups, plates or bowls - all pretty basic as far as breakfast is concerned. My husband I ended up sharing a coffee cup! They really need to get this bit sorted. The rest though as I said was fantastic.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Valentine1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
San Marco
Bauer Palazzo
Bauer Palazzo
#57 of 385 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 781 reviews
Giudecca
Belmond Hotel Cipriani
Belmond Hotel Cipriani
#31 of 385 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 750 reviews
San Marco
Bauer Hotel
Bauer Hotel
#72 of 385 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,452 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Giudecca
Hilton Molino Stucky Venice Hotel
Castello
Metropole Hotel
Metropole Hotel
#44 of 385 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palladio Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palladio Hotel & Spa

Property: Palladio Hotel & Spa
Address: Fondamenta de Le Zitelle Giudecca 33, 30133 Venice, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Giudecca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Venice
#53 Luxury Hotel in Venice
#62 Romantic Hotel in Venice
#98 Family Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Palladio Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Palladio Hotel & SPA is an amazing building designed in the 16th century by the world-renowned Renaissance architect Andrea Palladio. The property is a rare jewel in Venice, with its 58 elegant guest rooms and 21 spacious Suites and Junior Suites, a private garden and breathtaking lagoon views. It is located on the Giudecca Island just across the basin from the word-famous sister properties Bauer Hotel and Bauer Il Palazzo. BAUER.Palladio Hotel & Spa has a warm and welcoming decor with a soft color palette of pastels. Each of its spacious rooms is beautifully detailed with the finest paint decoration and tapestries, while still maintaining its original identity. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, HotelsClick, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Priceline, Travelocity.ca, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Palladio Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bauer Palladio Hotel Venice
Bauer Palladio Hotel And Spa
Bauer Palladio Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing