We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The only place to stay in Venice”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Palladio Hotel & Spa
Ranked #87 of 386 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
McLean VA
Level Contributor
50 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“The only place to stay in Venice”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2012 via mobile

We arrived by ACTIV water bus to Giudecca (Zitelle stop line 4.1) looking for the hotel. The only hint of its existence is a very small plaque on the wall proclaiming it A Small Leading Hotel of the World. The facade is old and completely blends in with the rest of the surrounding neighborhood. As the porter beckons us to enter we are transported to a different place and time. Luxury, serenity and beauty surrounds you. Everything is the real article: from the rough hewn tables to the couches and old world classic breakfast room with its murals. The included breakfast was all encompassing and the only reason to order a la carte is to use up the leftover euros from the previous night's cigar lighting. Save a few canned fruits and some marginal pastries, the food was tasty and well presented.
We had reserved a garden suite but were upgraded to a canal view room on the top(2nd) floor. Venice at our feet! Earlier in the week we had stayed in a small hotel (read B and B) in sestiere San Polo and felt overrun with the throngs of humanity. Giudecca is the perfect base from which to explore Venice without having the suffocating masses all around you. The hotel has their own free shuttle twice hourly from 10 am to midnight.
The room itself was a comfortably sized chamber with a separate shower and bathtub. Bidet included of course! Toiletries were of high quality as would be expected from a hotel of this caliber. A bottle of prosecco and Venetian cookies added a nice touch to the gracious welcome. Though our room was not ready (we had arrived at 9:30am) they held our luggage and offered us breakfast. A small hiccup: they told us it would be ready by 1pm but was not until 3p, the official check in time. Restaurant reservations were handled graciously by the front desk.
The hotel left us with a very special feeling of privacy and luxury. We could hardly take the bus as we left for the airport: we splurged for a water taxi at (gulp) €110!

Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank WorldTraveler1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BauerHotels, Resident Manager at Palladio Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 1 February 2017
Dear Guest,

thank you for your extensive feedback on your stay at Palladio Hotel &Spa
We highly appreciated your comments and the entire Team is delighted to know that the experience was up to your expectation.
We really look forward to welcome you back, please do not hesitate to contact us for any futher information.

Best Regards,
Stefano Noviello
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

621 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    397
    143
    51
    20
    10
See reviews for
77
424
10
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
california
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2012

Went to the Bauer Palladio for the third time for our usual week end get away without children.
The place is getting better and better year after year.....staff is growing up, same Gm,our loved Simone,improvements in the restaurant area . We were greeted at the dock by Simone which he welcomed us as old friends. In the room fresh flowers,prosecco bottle and biscuits. We had a prosecco glass with Simone one evening and, as usual, he looked after us on a daily basis from breakfast till the goodnight note left on the pillow at night, what a great idea.unfortunetly the pool is not there yet but the staff was kind and honest enough to inform us before our arrival. Breakfast is better with some hot dishes a la carte, it makes sense in terms of value. Wine list is new with a different concept and food is much better this time. This time we were not upgrade due the full occupancy of the hotel, but who cares if you're pampered from the first moment that you step in an till your check out time? Being recognized by every single member of the staff means too much to us and we are already planning a family Reunion in october.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank drzimmel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BauerHotels, Direttore at Palladio Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 18 January 2017
Dear Guest,
thank you for your extensive feedback on your stay at Palladio Hotel &Spa
We highly appreciated your comments and the entire Team is delighted to know that the experience was up to your expectation.
We really look forward to welcome you back, please do not hesitate to contact us for any futher information.

Best Regards

Stefano Noviello
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bergen
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2012

A great hotel with a large peaceful garden to escape the crowds. Very well run with efficient and friendly staff(our room was serviced by the time we got back from breakfast every morning). A special mention for Allesandra, Laura and Tach - very attentive.
We'll be back!
Chris & Jane

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HeyChrisBergen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BauerHotels, Direttore at Palladio Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 18 January 2017
Dear Guest,
thank you for your extensive feedback on your stay at Palladio Hotel &Spa
We highly appreciated your comments and the entire Team is delighted to know that the experience was up to your expectation.
We really look forward to welcome you back, please do not hesitate to contact us for any futher information.

Best Regards

Stefano Noviello
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2012

The hotel exudes an air of quiet elegance without opulence. It is a nicely updated 15th century building, even with a domed roof. The staff was very helpful, making sure I was awake when they called on morning call. The complimentary shuttle took us close to San Marco Square, making this serenely quiet island conveniently accessible. The mozzarella and ricotta cheese served at breakfast were wonderfully delicious with full bodied milk taste.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nghk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BauerHotels, Resident Manager at Palladio Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 3 February 2017
Dear Guest,

thank you for leaving your comments and observation about your stay at Palladio Hotel & Spa.
We highly appreciate that you enojoyed your stay and it was as you expected.
We hope to welcome you again for another occasion

Kind regards,
Stefano Noviello
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2012

Very friendly staff, very nice room. Tranquil and nice gardens at the back. Beautiful building. Quiet and peaceful, slept in late as it was very silent. The breakfast was definitely below standard for a supposedly five-star facility. The safe didn't work and neither did the fridge for the minibar.

The location is perfect on Giudecca very close to the Vaporetto line 2, 4.1 and 4.2 - making it easy to get into the center as well as directly to Murano for those who want to enjoy world class glass blowing.

The fitness center was a 10EUR per day extra, so we never tried it out, however Giudecca is a nice location for running in the morning and is not as crowded as the main island.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bishop4711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BauerHotels, Resident Manager at Palladio Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 3 February 2017
Dear Guest,

thank you for sharing your experience at Palladio Hotel & Spa.
We really appreciate that you had a good stay and we are sorry if safe and minibar didn' t work correctly. Your feedback will help us to make things like these not happen again.
Anyway we hope to receive you in another occasion.

Best regards,
Stefano Noviello
Resiedent Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2012

My wife and I stayed here for our anniversary and the location, opposite San Marco, could not be more perfect. The complimentary shuttle boat crosses the water in no time and you arrive to a peaceful, beautiful hotel where the staff are friendly, willing, and charming. I would like to particularly thank Allesandra and Tatch - who are professional, warm, helpful, and a credit to the Bauer. Nothing was too much trouble and they made our stay very enjoyable and we wish them well.
We stayed in a suite overlooking the garden and the room was immaculate; clean and simply decorated with a very comfortable bed, spacious lounge, and fantastic bathroom with jacuzzi bath, powerful shower, and his n' hers sinks. For a five star hotel, we were disappointed that there were no tea and coffee making facilities in the room and breakfast was the simplest of fruit, cold cuts, and pastries; with eggs, omelettes, bacon, and smoked salmon all 'extras' at considerable expense. Why? Surely at the rates charged, these are simply essentials.
We did not eat in the hotel (again, the rates for dinner were simply excessive) and instead opted to eat at the Cipriani next door - around 250Euro for two for dinner but the view of Venice is the best, the food and wine fantastic, and the weather meant we could eat on their floating dock over the lagoon. Perfecto.
In my opinion, the Bauer is perfect for those wishing to escape the chaos across the water. It was a pleasure to arrive back after the days of bedlam..

Room Tip: We loved the suite overlooking the gardens... so quiet my wife said, with a sense of humor, that she...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wornandtravelled
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BauerHotels, Direttore at Palladio Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 18 January 2017
Dear Guest,
thank you for your extensive feedback on your stay at Palladio Hotel &Spa
We highly appreciated your comments and the entire Team is delighted to know that the experience was up to your expectation.
We really look forward to welcome you back, please do not hesitate to contact us for any futher information.

Best Regards

Stefano Noviello
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2012

Stayed here for four nights over Easter and was very happy with my choice. The hotel is on Giudecca island which is situated across the lagoon from San Marco and greatly benefits from being an oasis of calm from the mayhem of the tourist areas. The room was a duplex with a sitting room directly looking out over the lagoon to San Marco, a bathroom, of course, and a large dressing room. Bed was firm but comfortable and the staff were fantastic, nothing too much trouble.
There is a boat service ( complimentary) between the hotel and the main island which was perfect for our needs, so one can visit the sites yet retire later to a place of peace and quiet.

Food, as is usual in Italy, was very good and priced as one would expect in a quality hotel. Breakfast was a little disappointing but no real grumbles.

The one downside I had was the price of the spa facilities which I thought were very expensive even for Venice. I would have thought that residents would have had some "perk" in that department. However, the hotel did surprise me with a birthday cake although I have no idea how they knew it was my birthday! My wife swears she did not tell them.
Giudecca itself is less touristy but gives a taste of the real Venice. Near the hotel we found a really good restaurant serving local dishes.
I would use this hotel again

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Poppo59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BauerHotels, Direttore at Palladio Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 18 January 2017
Dear Guest,
thank you for your extensive feedback on your stay at Palladio Hotel &Spa
We highly appreciated your comments and the entire Team is delighted to know that the experience was up to your expectation.
We really look forward to welcome you back, please do not hesitate to contact us for any futher information.

Best Regards

Stefano Noviello
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
San Marco
Bauer Palazzo
Bauer Palazzo
#68 of 386 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 850 reviews
Cannaregio
Ca' Sagredo Hotel
Ca' Sagredo Hotel
#42 of 386 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Castello
Metropole Hotel
Metropole Hotel
#50 of 386 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,196 reviews
Dorsoduro / Accademia
SINA Centurion Palace
SINA Centurion Palace
#56 of 386 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 869 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palladio Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palladio Hotel & Spa

Property: Palladio Hotel & Spa
Address: Fondamenta de Le Zitelle Giudecca 33, 30133 Venice, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Giudecca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Venice
#55 Luxury Hotel in Venice
#62 Romantic Hotel in Venice
#98 Family Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Palladio Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Palladio Hotel & SPA is an amazing building designed in the 16th century by the world-renowned Renaissance architect Andrea Palladio. The property is a rare jewel in Venice, with its 58 elegant guest rooms and 21 spacious Suites and Junior Suites, a private garden and breathtaking lagoon views. It is located on the Giudecca Island just across the basin from the word-famous sister properties Bauer Hotel and Bauer Il Palazzo. BAUER.Palladio Hotel & Spa has a warm and welcoming decor with a soft color palette of pastels. Each of its spacious rooms is beautifully detailed with the finest paint decoration and tapestries, while still maintaining its original identity. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Palladio Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bauer Palladio Hotel And Spa
Bauer Palladio Hotel Venice
Bauer Palladio Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing