We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Happy Hospitality”
Review of Hotel Becher

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Becher
Ranked #56 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Happy Hospitality”
Reviewed 16 April 2012

I booked the hotel purely from the great reviews on tripadvisor and we were not disappointed. It was a surprise 50th Birthday present for my partner and our first time in Venice. I organised a shared water taxi direct from the airport ( £25 each) and there was plenty of space with 4 other couples. We were dropped off at the pier closest to our hotel and it was a challenge to locate the hotel, but we managed it eventually ( we were later advised that the taxi diver should ideally escort us to the hotel door direct ). The hotel is charming and full of character and as there had been a cancellation we were offered a room with balcony overlooking a picturesque canal way.Although small, the room was adequate and tastefully decorated.The singing Gondoliers travelled up and down the canal frequently and it was such a happy atmosphere. A nice touch was the hot drinks and snacks facilities on the first floor where you could help yourself at any time.
Breakfast was pleasant and there was plenty of choice and although the breakfast room was small it was still enjoyable and one morning we ate on the small jetty by the canal which was a treat.
Now on to the Happy Hospitality ! Mrs Anna and Massimo are a credit to the establishment and although neither are the owners , they genuinely aim to guarantee a wonderful break. On my partners Birthday, Massimo secretly organised a private Gondola which picked us up direct from the hotel jetty ( a little bit pricey, I thought, at 110 euro )and gave us a bottle of champagne 'on the house' to accompany us ! A lovely touch by the hotel and the trip was worth every euro !
Massimo also organised a free trip to the island of Murano where we had a tour of the glass factory, another lovely day out!
I would definitely recommend this hotel to all who travel to Venice and I hope to return one day.Big thank you Mrs Anna and Massimo :-)

Room Tip: The double room with balcony overlooking the canal was delightful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BluediverManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

899 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    574
    257
    48
    13
    7
See reviews for
209
507
40
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Virginia Beach, Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2012

Sept. 2011. we are 3 middle age women, friends vacationing (husbands at home), American, but one originally from Europe..executive, business and physican backgrounds. My first trip to Venice. I wanted to experience all the charm of San Marco but I like clean, comfortable and upscale accommodations as well. We all agree that the Hotel Becher more than delivered. Massimo and Anna were delightful! Family owned and managed says it all. It has charm, comfort, safety, ambiance and is very nicely located. The water access is a nice feature, particularly when arriving/departing with luggage .Use the water taxi (so simple!) We shared a room for 3 (3 twins) but without canal view. I'm sure that would have been nice but didn't miss it. We would all return to the Hotel Becher, especially if still family run. Massimo wears many hats and was incredibly accommodating, informative and friendly.

Room Tip: we paid ahead for reduced rate but did not request a specific room location
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank phylva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
120 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2012

I arrived exhausted and this place revived me. Excellent welcoming at the front desk and room ready ahead of time. I had a small but perfectly adequate room on the first floor with a window looking out to a tiny canal, complete with gondoliers singing as they went by. The staff is first rate--Massimo helped me with my free internet connection (It's 12 euros a day at the Europa and Regina). He also helped me call my credit card company when I had a problem. Way beyond the call of duty and happy to help and knowledgeable. The breakfast was lovely--large assortment of meats, breads, jams, and so forth with coffee made for you the way you like it. The whole place was quiet and other guests were considerate. If you're looking for a true Venetian experience rather than a 5 star hotel, this is the place for you. Thank you Hotel Becher!

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the canal--adorable and truly Venetian.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank classicalmusictravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wales
Level Contributor
51 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2012

We stayed at the Hotel Becher in March 2012. The hotel is hidden away not too far from St Marks Square. It is a real delight. We had 2 rooms, a double with balcony and a triple family room. Both rooms were very well presented and very comfortable. The staff were very helpful and could not do enough for us. Breakfast was nice and filled us up for the day ahead. Should we return to Venice, we will aim for Hotel Becher straight away.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nebbers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
5,497 reviews
182 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11,897 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2012

We were in Venice for Carnevale 2012 and booked a room with Hotel Becher 4 months in advance. They offer discounts for prepaid bookings but charge additional for the canal view, so it turned out about the same cost for a 3 nights' stay.

The hotel may be difficult to find at first but it has a very good location, 5 minutes from St Mark's Square, and La Fenice Theatre is just around the corner.

We arrived around noontime and check in was easy, staff were friendly and helpful, and wifi was free.

We stayed in a double room along the canal and got the room we expected. Two sizable windows which afforded a view of gondolas passing by (and they frequently do especially in the afternoon), and gondoliers singing - a nice treat. This was the cliche we were hoping for and got it. Size-wise we were happy with the room space, and the bed (which was a proper double) was comfortable. We had problems with the safe on the 1st night, and couldnt use it thereafter. The bathroom was heavily scented to our liking (fortunately this went away during the course of our stay) and occasionally there was an unpleasant smell of drainage - probably not unexpected in Venice, and this did not last.

Breakfast area was small but didn't get crowded when we went. We enjoyed their breakfast buffet a lot. This included the traditional carnevale pastry, one of the better fritellis we tried while in Venice. And their chocolate muffins were yummm! It was too cold to have breakfast on the boat landing during winter but it offered a nice place to chill out in the evening.

It is generally pricey to stay in Venice, especially during Carnevale, and Hotel Becher is no exception. Their pricing however seems at par with other hotel rooms with canal view that we were looking into. As we got the stereotypical Venetian accommodations we were aiming for we were quite happy with our stay, and would consider returning.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BradJill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Sussex
Level Contributor
203 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2012

We stayed in Hotel Becherend Nov beginning of Dec 11 for a suprise for my husband for our 3rd wedding anniversary. I was hoping that it would be special enough to remember and it was! Its a lovely hotel, with traditional Venician style decoration in a great location. The hotel is very clean, including the rooms and bathrooms. The bed was comfortable and the rooms were lovely and warm which was a much needed as it was very cold but lovely and sunny during our visit! We stayed for 3 nights and found the hotel to be in such a good location - 5 mins from St Marks - 10/15 mins from Rialto etc but we tended to go off the beaten track more than the main attractins and the good thing about Hotel Becher's location is that it's easy to find after a day of exploring!!
The staff were friendly and helpful - particularly the receptionist and she even up graded us to a room with a balcony overlooking the canal which was wonderful to look out over first thing in the morning! The hotel was quiet so we could get some much needed rest and relaxation after our days of wandering the streets of Venice!
Our room was spacious enough but not huge - it wasn't an issue for us as we were out all day and again in the evenings and literally used it as a base - why wouldn't you in such a beautiful city!!! If you had more than one suitcase then you may struggle to not trip over them! That may have just been the room we stayed in so worth asking room size before discounting. Thebathroom was a good size too with plenty of hot water and towels.
The only thing - which i think i saw mentioned on here in reviews - is the breakfast. Its not bad - please don't be discouraged - its just not great! There was plenty of selection of sweet cakes and breads etc - all too sweet for me - just a personal taste. Plenty of tea and coffee too. Fruit juices were a bit odd! The orange was like squash not fresh juice. I would have a selection of cheeses and meats instead for breakfast which was perfectly acceptable! The breakfast room is quite small and cosy but again its breakfast before you head out to a beautiful city so i really wouldn't hold it against the hotel! The only time I suppose it could be an issue is high season and would they fit everyone in if they all turned up for breakfast at the same time!
Anyway - we would definately go back to the Hotel Becher without hesitation. It gave us some great memories in a quiet but very convenient location at a really good price. It really did help make a perfect 3 night break for us and I wouldn't hesitate to recommend if you are visiting Venice and want a warm, comfy base for your exploring!
Venice is a beautiful city and perfect at the time of year we went - a very romantic and enjoyable trip

Room Tip: I can only comment that the room with a balcony overlooking the canal was lovely albeit not very big...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sarah_gray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2012

Hotel Becher was amazing, classically decorated in gorgeous ornate Venetian decor, with extremely nice staff who bent over backwards to please you, SO NICE. Our room was huge, and bathroom was great, our views were of another building, but we were in close walking distance to St. Marks and everything in that area.

We flew into the Venetian airport and hired a water taxi and he said "because of high waters" he couldn't taxi directly to our hotel (when we paid well over $100 US for this taxi)- so he dropped us off at the beginning of what is truly a maze of hallway- sized cobblestone streets to get to our hotel. The staff there said they were being lazy and should've taken us directly to their hotel port, so if you take a water taxi, insist that they do!! It is extremely hard to find on foot, and I speak Italian :)

Also, take advantage of the free water taxi Hotel BEcher offers to Murano Island- amazing, pretty much free day trip that kept costs down for nighttime!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JML35805
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
San Marco
Hotel Colombina
Hotel Colombina
#50 of 385 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,774 reviews
San Marco
AD Place Venice
AD Place Venice
#38 of 385 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 885 reviews
San Marco
Duodo Palace Hotel
Duodo Palace Hotel
#65 of 385 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,464 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Marco
Residence Corte Grimani
Residence Corte Grimani
#16 of 385 in Venice
5.0 of 5 bubbles 885 reviews
Hotel Antiche Figure
#9 of 385 in Venice
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,522 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Violino d'Oro
Hotel Violino d'Oro
#58 of 385 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Becher? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Becher

Property: Hotel Becher
Address: San Marco 1857, 30124 Venice, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Marco
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#42 Family Hotel in Venice
#65 Romantic Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Becher 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Becher reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Becher Hotel Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing