We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Becher
Nearby Hotels
US$287
US$216
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$333
US$261
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$380
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Savoia & Jolanda(Venice)(Great Value!)
US$313
US$284
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$365
US$328
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$553
US$521
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Al Duca di Venezia(Venice)(Great Value!)
US$391
US$309
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
HOTEL OLIMPIA Venice(Venice)(Great Value!)
US$222
US$195
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
US$340
US$315
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$1,376
US$572
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
Reviews (980)
Filter reviews
980 results
Traveller rating
624
281
54
14
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
624
281
54
14
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscanal viewwater taxiwatch the gondolasprivate landingrialto bridgegondolas passingla fenicefamily roomsan marcosinging gondoliersbreakfast roomjunior suitesmall hotelsmall canalsmall roomlovely hotelstay in venice
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
484 - 489 of 980 reviews
Reviewed 25 March 2012

Sept. 2011. we are 3 middle age women, friends vacationing (husbands at home), American, but one originally from Europe..executive, business and physican backgrounds. My first trip to Venice. I wanted to experience all the charm of San Marco but I like clean, comfortable and upscale accommodations as well. We all agree that the Hotel Becher more than delivered. Massimo and Anna were delightful! Family owned and managed says it all. It has charm, comfort, safety, ambiance and is very nicely located. The water access is a nice feature, particularly when arriving/departing with luggage .Use the water taxi (so simple!) We shared a room for 3 (3 twins) but without canal view. I'm sure that would have been nice but didn't miss it. We would all return to the Hotel Becher, especially if still family run. Massimo wears many hats and was incredibly accommodating, informative and friendly.

Room Tip: we paid ahead for reduced rate but did not request a specific room location
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank phylva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2012

I arrived exhausted and this place revived me. Excellent welcoming at the front desk and room ready ahead of time. I had a small but perfectly adequate room on the first floor with a window looking out to a tiny canal, complete with gondoliers singing as they went by. The staff is first rate--Massimo helped me with my free internet connection (It's 12 euros a day at the Europa and Regina). He also helped me call my credit card company when I had a problem. Way beyond the call of duty and happy to help and knowledgeable. The breakfast was lovely--large assortment of meats, breads, jams, and so forth with coffee made for you the way you like it. The whole place was quiet and other guests were considerate. If you're looking for a true Venetian experience rather than a 5 star hotel, this is the place for you. Thank you Hotel Becher!

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the canal--adorable and truly Venetian.
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank classicalmusictravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2012

We stayed at the Hotel Becher in March 2012. The hotel is hidden away not too far from St Marks Square. It is a real delight. We had 2 rooms, a double with balcony and a triple family room. Both rooms were very well presented and very comfortable. The staff were very helpful and could not do enough for us. Breakfast was nice and filled us up for the day ahead. Should we return to Venice, we will aim for Hotel Becher straight away.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nebbers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2012

We were in Venice for Carnevale 2012 and booked a room with Hotel Becher 4 months in advance. They offer discounts for prepaid bookings but charge additional for the canal view, so it turned out about the same cost for a 3 nights' stay.

The hotel may be difficult to find at first but it has a very good location, 5 minutes from St Mark's Square, and La Fenice Theatre is just around the corner.

We arrived around noontime and check in was easy, staff were friendly and helpful, and wifi was free.

We stayed in a double room along the canal and got the room we expected. Two sizable windows which afforded a view of gondolas passing by (and they frequently do especially in the afternoon), and gondoliers singing - a nice treat. This was the cliche we were hoping for and got it. Size-wise we were happy with the room space, and the bed (which was a proper double) was comfortable. We had problems with the safe on the 1st night, and couldnt use it thereafter. The bathroom was heavily scented to our liking (fortunately this went away during the course of our stay) and occasionally there was an unpleasant smell of drainage - probably not unexpected in Venice, and this did not last.

Breakfast area was small but didn't get crowded when we went. We enjoyed their breakfast buffet a lot. This included the traditional carnevale pastry, one of the better fritellis we tried while in Venice. And their chocolate muffins were yummm! It was too cold to have breakfast on the boat landing during winter but it offered a nice place to chill out in the evening.

It is generally pricey to stay in Venice, especially during Carnevale, and Hotel Becher is no exception. Their pricing however seems at par with other hotel rooms with canal view that we were looking into. As we got the stereotypical Venetian accommodations we were aiming for we were quite happy with our stay, and would consider returning.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BradJill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2012

We stayed in Hotel Becherend Nov beginning of Dec 11 for a suprise for my husband for our 3rd wedding anniversary. I was hoping that it would be special enough to remember and it was! Its a lovely hotel, with traditional Venician style decoration in a great location. The hotel is very clean, including the rooms and bathrooms. The bed was comfortable and the rooms were lovely and warm which was a much needed as it was very cold but lovely and sunny during our visit! We stayed for 3 nights and found the hotel to be in such a good location - 5 mins from St Marks - 10/15 mins from Rialto etc but we tended to go off the beaten track more than the main attractins and the good thing about Hotel Becher's location is that it's easy to find after a day of exploring!!
The staff were friendly and helpful - particularly the receptionist and she even up graded us to a room with a balcony overlooking the canal which was wonderful to look out over first thing in the morning! The hotel was quiet so we could get some much needed rest and relaxation after our days of wandering the streets of Venice!
Our room was spacious enough but not huge - it wasn't an issue for us as we were out all day and again in the evenings and literally used it as a base - why wouldn't you in such a beautiful city!!! If you had more than one suitcase then you may struggle to not trip over them! That may have just been the room we stayed in so worth asking room size before discounting. Thebathroom was a good size too with plenty of hot water and towels.
The only thing - which i think i saw mentioned on here in reviews - is the breakfast. Its not bad - please don't be discouraged - its just not great! There was plenty of selection of sweet cakes and breads etc - all too sweet for me - just a personal taste. Plenty of tea and coffee too. Fruit juices were a bit odd! The orange was like squash not fresh juice. I would have a selection of cheeses and meats instead for breakfast which was perfectly acceptable! The breakfast room is quite small and cosy but again its breakfast before you head out to a beautiful city so i really wouldn't hold it against the hotel! The only time I suppose it could be an issue is high season and would they fit everyone in if they all turned up for breakfast at the same time!
Anyway - we would definately go back to the Hotel Becher without hesitation. It gave us some great memories in a quiet but very convenient location at a really good price. It really did help make a perfect 3 night break for us and I wouldn't hesitate to recommend if you are visiting Venice and want a warm, comfy base for your exploring!
Venice is a beautiful city and perfect at the time of year we went - a very romantic and enjoyable trip

Room Tip: I can only comment that the room with a balcony overlooking the canal was lovely albeit not very big. I can't advise how big other rooms would have been so best to check. But the balcony was fab!
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sarah_gray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews