We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (176)
Filter reviews
176 results
Traveller rating
48
77
29
11
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
48
77
29
11
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviews minute walk from st marks square croissants great location san marco city tax stayed nights cheese buzzer meats reception cappuccino euro
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 176 reviews
Reviewed October 27, 2017 via mobile

Having read lots of reviews, I knew the pitfalls to finding this hotel. It is a few minutes from SAN Marco and can’t complain with how close it was it was brilliant. However it is very difficult to find, I read lots of reviews had google maps and knew what the hotel looked like but we still struggled! Ensure you know what it looks like. You see a restaurant of the same name, turn right and go down a very small alleyway and it’s on your left. You have to be able to recognise it as there is no noticeable signs.

We rung the bell on the door to no answer. A waiter from the restaurant then came opened the door and shouted through to someone. She then came out and had very limited English. We eventually understood we had to follow her as she took us away from the hotel...we had no idea what was going on! She showed us to another door and showed us the code (bit unsettling as there was a dentist sign on the door!) she showed us up to a room and left. No information about breakfast or anything basically!

Room was clean with nice bathroom but whatever/whoever is upstairs is incredibly noisy!! Constant stomping around and moving furniture. Only stopped between 11pm and 7am which resulted in poor sleep!

Didn’t have breakfast first morning as we had no idea what to do, when it was etc. Would suggest there needs to be some guest information in the room.

Second morning someone came for my passport number and then told us about breakfast. We went back to original hotel entrance for it. Was basic meats and cheese but did the job.

Overall, felt we were just overspill guests as we had seen guests in main hotel after breakfast. It’s not great to be lead to a random building with a dentist and not have a clue about anything! The location is great and only minutes from San Marco but this hotel majorly falls short in other aspects.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Catherine R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 27, 2017 via mobile

Great location 5 min walk to piazza San Marco, bed was comfortable and breakfast was nice, very hard to find hotel we walked past the alleyway 3 times as there is only a small sign on door. check in and out is a pain if it's outside business hours as there is not really a reception area. Rooms aren't real big either but good bathroom and shower.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Robbie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 11, 2017

Certainly not 3 stars, I paid 500 Euro for three nights. I reached the hotel at 11:00 PM. There was no one at the reception. They did not also answer the phone calls.
The front door was locked, I did not have the key nor the code door. After calling the reception several times, I called the manager and he was so rude. He did not even come to check whether we entered or not. Or whether we wanted anything.

-Moreover, I have three years old child, I requested a separate bed for him and wanted to pay extra. There was nothing. Next day, I requested again a bed, they left nothing.
-Bug bites. We wake up with several swellings and red dots on our bodies.
- Booked a deluxe room, and had to climb more than 50 steps. No elevator.
- Poor breakfast - sliced of dry bread, jam and ham.
-The hotel is dark at night. The restaurant downstairs close early. No lights and no one at the reception to ask about the locations or any things. No maps available.
- I cannot believe how people rated it well.
- Never again!

Room Tip: If you have children never use duplex room as it's located on the third floor with no elevator
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank AbeerK31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 8, 2017 via mobile

We had booked into a double room for €100 a night. The place is a nightmare to find and is a single brown door with no signs. No instructions are available on their website/booking.com so it took us a while. We tried calling them and no answer but we soon realised this was because there is no reception. Eventually we asked a few locals (most of whom had no idea themselves) and we found it: it's off the main street and is behind the restaurant Trattoria La Bricola. We went into the restaurant and the waiter was incredibly rude and gave vague directions to the hotel was whilst walking away from us. Thankfully, a kind local helped us actually locate the door to the hotel. We then rang the buzzer and the same rude waiter came out from the restaurant and complained that we rang the buzzer. Apparently he told us to wait for 5 minutes (which of course we didn't hear as we was walking away and grumpy)...

After this ordeal, we were given a room by the waiter(!) that wasn't what we booked. But we were too tired to complain and we only had it for 1 night. He didn't give us any information. Check-in consisted of him just giving us a card and leaving. He didn't even show us the room so we had to go to each room one by one to see which room would open.

Thankfully, the room was nice and clean. The shower and bathroom were well equipped and clean with some shower gel/shampoo and many towels. Wifi was good.

The location is amazing being a minute walk from Piazza San Marco. Breakfast was average consisting of bread, croissants, cheese and cold meats with the highlight being the cappuccino made by friendlier staff. One suggestion would be to have some soft music at breakfast as it's very eerie and a bit unnerving. Checkout however was much nicer as we were in a rush and the gentleman was accommodating and quick.

Great room and location was ideal. However friendliness of service/staff and information they give does make a huge difference and this is something they should work on!

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Tana P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 25, 2017

The location of this hotel was absolutely perfect, 2 minute walk from St Marks Square. Me and my partner were in Venice for 4 days and walked round the whole city easily from our hotel, great location. The staff were extremely hospitable and spoke amazing English. Our room was spacious and cleaned daily... a perfect stay.

Room Tip: We had the deluxe room and the top floor to oursleves, it was spacious and had a spa bath and amazing air conditioning
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Lottie949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews