We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic Agriturismo, I would definitely recommend it to anybody and would love to stay again”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Agriturismo Sommavalle
Ranked #45 of 164 Speciality Lodging in Verona
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Fantastic Agriturismo, I would definitely recommend it to anybody and would love to stay again”
Reviewed 30 May 2012

I decided to stay in an Agriturismo during my stay in Verona after hearing about them in a podcast and I would definitely recommend this one. A wonderful building with superb views in a peaceful location on a hill over Verona. Our room was large and spacious and I loved the woodwork. The bathroom was also large, airy and very clean.

Marco, the host, was very friendly and happy to help us with information, he gave us maps and recommends restaurants and places to visit. The breakfast was very nice, with fresh bread, pastry, yogurts, cereals and fruit to choose from.

I just spotted in another review that someone said you could only get to this Agriturismo by car, but it is in fact very easy to get to by bus, with a number of routes servicing the road right outside. The bus also went right through the centre, with one of the stops being on the Piazza Delle Erbe so it was very handy as well as being cheap (1.15 euro per journey, or free with a 'verona card')

I hope to return to this agriturismo and to the wonderful city of Verona.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lovely_Katie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    50
    15
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
13
36
3
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 1 October 2011

My husband and I spent three lovely nights here. Marco is everything everyone else says he is. The perfect host AND travel guide. He suggested "non-touristy" restaurants and places to visit in the surrounding area. We did everything he suggested and our three days couldn't have been better except if we could have stayed longer. The rooms were impeccably clean and large. Breakfast was delicious. The agriturismo was amazingly beautiful. It was fun and relaxing wandering through the olive groves, vineyards, orchard, and garden. Don't trust your GPS to get you there though. Ask Marco for directions. It's easy and on well paved roads. I would recommend this lovely hideaway high above Verona to anyone who enjoys quality and comfort, and who likes to be treated as a special guest!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 8 September 2011

It was a magnificant stay and still warms our hearts thinking back!Marco was the perfect host and went out of his way helping us and giving us great tips to make our visit unforgettable!It was easy and fun even without a car!Were recommending it to all our friends ,and will definately be back ourselves!

Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank jelliecat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cartagena, Colombia
Level Contributor
168 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2011

I spent two nights in this amazing property just a few kilometers from Verona, situated in a magnificent olive grove/orchard. The house itself is furnished in a most stylish manner, and the rooms are huge, with all modern amenities. As I came for the Verona Festival, it was a welcoming respite being in this tranquil place away from crowds in this third most visited city in Italy (after Rome and Venice). Owner’s passion for Africa (which I share) resulted in some beautiful pieces of art distributed throughout the house. Last, but not the least, Marco, the owner, is truly a most gracious host, and also very knowledgeable. His advice on things to see and above all on directions (you can only get here by car) was invaluable. When I return to Verona. I would never stay anywhere else.

Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Viktor S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Granite Bay, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2011

We stayed with Marco for 4 nights, and loved every minute. Very clean, modern room, beautiful view and an easy drive into town. Marco was the best host and gave us tips for restaurants, sites to see, and served a very nice breakfast. It is so nice to escape the busy city to a quiet location that is very peaceful. You will not find a more humble, gracious host, with a great sense of humor. Thanks Marco!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Monte W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Palm Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2011

Once we found Sommavalle, we could not have been more pleased with our choice to stay here. As many others have said, Marco was very helpful in recommending places to visit and eat. The setting above Verona in the hills with vineyards and olive trees surrounding the guest house made for a perfect place to unwind. I would not recommend having a large car for the roads leading to Sommavalle and the narrow drive down to the guest house. Marco has done an amazing job decorating the place-very tasteful, simple, and comfortable. Our bathrooms was huge by European standards. The drive into Verona for free parking was easy-but definitely better to stay up on the hills above Verona. Everything about our stay at Sommavalle was remarkable.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BTS1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 2 June 2011

Our stay was nothing short of amazing. Marco is the perfect host, providing invaluable information on where to eat and visit within Verona, he also helped us make some decisions on where else to visit in Italy. The accomodation is wonderful, huge beautfully decorated rooms with big bathrooms. The breakfast was lovely!. We didnt want to leave.
Thanks Marco!.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carley30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Verona hotels
1.1 km away
Agriturismo Il Pianetto
Agriturismo Il Pianetto
#16 of 164 in Verona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 103 reviews
5.5 km away
Agriturismo Bacche di Bosco
3.3 km away
Agriturismo Altobello
Agriturismo Altobello
#9 of 164 in Verona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 km away
Agriturismo il Porcellino
Agriturismo il Porcellino
#34 of 164 in Verona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
0.6 km away
Agriturismo San Mattia
Agriturismo San Mattia
#1 of 164 in Verona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 499 reviews
10.1 km away
Ca del Volto
Ca del Volto
#62 of 164 in Verona
5.0 of 5 bubbles 18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Agriturismo Sommavalle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Agriturismo Sommavalle

Property: Agriturismo Sommavalle
Address: Via Sommavalle 9/a, 37128, Verona, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Verona > Verona
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 164 Speciality Lodging in Verona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Agriturismo Sommavalle (Farm Holidays Sommavalle), Verona. A Few Minutes From Ponte Pietra Bridge, On The Hills Overlooking The Center Of Verona, Romeo And Juliet’S City, This Oasis Of Peace Offers You A Unique Opportunity: Living The Country Side And Enjoying The City!Sommavalle Is Located In Verona Close To The Historical Centre; From Sommavalle You Can Reach The City Centre With The Arena Di Verona, Its Famous Squares (Piazza Erbe, Bra) In Only 4 Kms. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing