We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Adequate but not ideally located” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Porta Palio

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Porta Palio
Ranked #41 of 79 Hotels in Verona
goteborg
Level Contributor
46 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Adequate but not ideally located”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2011

It's quite a walk from the central station and the hotel is situated besides a 4-lane motorway. Ridiculous traffic situation in some parts of Italy. Rooms are basic with uninspiring view, even though a small river flows by rapidly. Staff is very helpful, but gave us sponsored replies on what restaurant to choose. After pressing for other alternatives the clerk more sweepingly suggested something on the hill viewing over the old city center.
Nothing special with this hotel, but you'll get your nights rest. The breakfast is actually very good and breakfast staff keeps the buffet filled. Internet use is not free.

Room Tip: Traffic is intense so make sure your window faces rear side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hotelinspectorgadget
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

571 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    76
    268
    171
    35
    21
See reviews for
63
322
27
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Port Republic, Virginia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2011

Freedom Treks booked this room for my husband and me as a part of a seven day bike tour of Italy, The staff was friendly and helpful. Our luggage was waiting for us when we arrived, and the pleasant desk clerk showed us where to stow our bikes. The room was clean and relatively spacious. The bed was comfortable. The bathroom was very clean. The breakfast was filling, but just average. The coffee was fine. We enjoyed our stay at Hotel Porta Palio.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank candyfoster47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grass Valley, California
2 reviews
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2011

The outside of the building is cute and the room was a good size. That's all the good things I can write. Two of the Staff people were quite unhelpful, one of them downright surly. The breakfast, included in the per-night price, was barely adequate (low quality items) and the coffee was HORRID! (They're happy to provide unlimited, free coffee for breakfast but all the coffee varieties are brewed in a vending-style machine - just push the button of your choice. Caffe Americano is not supposed to have 0.5cm of foam on top!) The shower was okay for me because I'm a small person but it would not accommodate a larger person - it's really very small. There were some loud, probably drunk people walking down the hallway at 2:30AM. And the food in the adjacent restaurant did not sit well on my stomach. I definitely would not stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Redbarbara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Japax, Proprietario at Hotel Porta Palio, responded to this review, 5 August 2011
Dear Guest,

you complain about the breakfast,, well... almost all our guest find it very good, much more than what they expected from a 3 star budget hotel
You complain about our restaurant because the food 'did not sit well on your stomach', well... maybe it is because you are not used to the italian cooking
You complain about the shower that is too small, well... it is for normal people!! I'm 190cm and i have no problem at all to use it.
De gustibus non est dispuntandum, but... maybe you have not the right expectations about our 3 star budget hotel, or maybe the holiday is not as it should have gone for you
About drunk people in the street, I think you can find everywhere. I was in London and in the Us and I've seen so much more drunk people that here in Italy at night.
About the unpolite staff, maybe they were tired about all of your complaints, because usually our guest make compliments before leaving!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Verona hotels

Prague, Czech Republic
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2011

For me it was the worst "100 Euro per night" hotel. The room was very dirty with molds in the bathroom, all around the shower. It was really disgusting to take a shower there. And the room smelled like molds as well. It was also quite far from the centre (not really a walking distance, even, if we walk a lot). I would never go there again.

Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Lina2222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Japax, Proprietario at Hotel Porta Palio, responded to this review, 20 July 2011
Dear Guest,

you stay here (maybe, but I have serious doubts) at August 2010 and you write now your review??? There are no traces of molds in all our Hotel, I'm sure that you have done a big mistake.
And no one of our guests complain about cleanliness of the rooms and the bathrooms.
Rather, they compliment!
This review is very very suspect.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Germantown, TN
Level Contributor
234 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2011

unless you have a car - I wouldn't recommend this. The entire hotel needs some serious updating and although it was a budget hotel - I wouldn't recommend it or ever stay here again. Wifi didn't work, had to take a taxi everywhere, breakfast was just OK - had much better and the staff was not overly helpful. Look elsewhere if going to Verona.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank teresa18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Japax, Proprietario at Hotel Porta Palio, responded to this review, 30 June 2011
Dear Guest,

I can't understand guests that complain about the location of the Hotel: when you've done the reservation haven't you seen where the Hotel was located? If you preferred an Hotel at a few steps from the Arena why haven't you booked one of those? There are several! I can tell you why: because of the price, my friend!
About the wi-fi that didn't work, I'm sorry, but the system was broken due to circumstances beyond our control and we were waiting for a spare part.
About the Hotel that needs updating, I can tell you that every year the hotel is the subject of careful renovation and maintenance.
But the question is always the same: if you want to pay a little (as you notice we are a budget Hotel) you can not expect the services and treatment of 5 stars.
When a guest comes to us with the correct expectations can only go away satisfied.
Thank you very much.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. George, Utah
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2011

This was the best hotel we stayed in during our visit to Italy. The staff was very accommodating and friendly! I felt very comfortable and safe here. The location was pretty good as well. It was about a 15 min walk or a 10 euro taxi ride from the train station. The bathroom was spacious and the shower were leak-free. I especially enjoyed the quiet rooms. But the best part is the free continental breakfast. It saved us a lot of time and money. The conveniency was the closest to most American hotels. I look forward to staying here again!

Room Tip: Take the taxi at night instead of walking
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mestiza84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2011

The room was spacious, and the bed was typical of a European hotel - relatively small and not particularly comfortable. The hotel isn't in a very desirable location, situated on a busy street about 20 minutes walking distance from the colosseum. However, the restaurant (which can get busy) was suprisingly nice and serves a good dinner. Although I wouldn't stay here again, it's not a bad choice for the budget traveler.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mwynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Verona hotels
0.8 km away
Hotel Piccolo
Hotel Piccolo
#32 of 79 in Verona
3.5 of 5 bubbles 613 reviews
0.8 km away
Hotel Martini
Hotel Martini
#25 of 79 in Verona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 566 reviews
4.2 km away
Ibis Verona
Ibis Verona
#46 of 79 in Verona
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
San Marco Hotel
San Marco Hotel
#38 of 79 in Verona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 684 reviews
0.8 km away
Montresor Hotel Palace
Montresor Hotel Palace
#31 of 79 in Verona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 741 reviews
4.6 km away
B&B Hotel Verona
B&B Hotel Verona
#42 of 79 in Verona
3.5 of 5 bubbles 421 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Porta Palio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Porta Palio

Property: Hotel Porta Palio
Address: Viale Colonnello Galliano 21 | 37138 Verona, 37138, Verona, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Verona > Verona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 79 Hotels in Verona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Porta Palio 3*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Porta Palio is a modern 3 star hotel located close to the ancient walls of the city center of Verona. Its location makes it extremely easy to get to from the Airport Valerio Catullo (with the Aerobus service - runs every 40 minutes - cost 6.00 Euros), from Verona Porta Nuova railway station and the motorway (exit Verona Nord A22 Brenner ). Hotel Porta Palio is located only 15 minutes walk from the 'Arena di Verona', outside the restricted traffic zone and no parking problems for your car. Free internet Wi-fi connection. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Porta Palio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Porta Palio Hotel
Porta Palio Verona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing