We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Colomba d'Oro Hotel
Ranked #18 of 79 Hotels in Verona
Certificate of Excellence
Germany
Level Contributor
74 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Wonderful location”
Reviewed 17 September 2011

Lovely entry, charming old style, friendly, helpful staff, perfect location, parking close. Rooms traditional, comfortable and clean, with air conditioning. Bathroom beautiful old Veronese pink marble, very 30's, but equipment and outlets, hair dryer, need updating. Nice breakfast room with lovely wait staff.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank St-Ives-Crown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

434 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    193
    169
    50
    17
    5
See reviews for
58
220
19
58
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ljubljana
Level Contributor
66 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2011

We went to Verona for a concert in Arena. I had a bit of problems finding it by my car. It is in ancient part of town, near Piazza Bra. Arena is only few steps from hotel. It has ideal location for researching old town of Verona, which is beautiful.
Hotel is in old building, but interior is very clean and well maintained. Bed and pillow were excellent (not too soft and pillow was not too big). Bathroom is big enough and very clean. Staff was friendly and spoke English. Breakfast was OK with good range of different food (butter, jams, few different salamis, cheese, eggs, yogurts,.....
If you are planing to come with a car, make a reservation for a garage. It is in same building and much cheaper that public garage.
.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LjubljanaTurist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
40 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2011

The Colomba d'Oro is less than 300 yards from the Arena, making it perfect for those visting the opera festival.

Rooms are small, but well-furnished and with air-conditioning. They also have double glazing (useful in the city centre, where bed-times are late and dustcarts early), and shutters for the windows.

Staff mostly speak reasonable English, and are knowlegeable and helpful. The only meal available is the breakfast buffet, but that is no hardship, as there are so many other cafes and restauarants nearby.

The Colomba d'Oro is the perfect spot to live the Verona lifestyle - opera in the Arena from 9pm until midnight, dinner afterwards (perhaps watching the passagiata with a glass of amarone or prosecco in hand), sleep until it is time for a lunch with some more wine, then stroll and snooze until it is time to shower and change for the opera again. Great for a few days of lotus-eating, with the Blackberry firmly switched off.

We travelled on a package organised by Robert Schweitzer, who specialises in travel for the opera in Verona. His packages are not cheap, but he looks after everything - travel, accommodation, opera tickets, champagne in one's seat before the performance starts, champagne and canapes at Liston 12 in the Piazza Bra during the intervals, and dinner (at least once) with the artists after the opera. This is the third year that we have travelled with him (the first was in 2004), and we will travel with him again, if we can.

Room Tip: The lift is ancient, so lower floors are better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank London_Brief
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, NY
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2011

this hotel has a very nice European feel with lovely entrance and off the main tourist road location. we stayed there two nights in two different rooms as we only planned for one night but decided to stay one more day for the opera. both rooms were clean with updated bathrooms. general decor of the rooms (and mirrored hallways) could use an upgrade. Our main complaint was lack of concierge service. Staff was very nice and tried to be helpful, but didn't seem to be knowledgeable. breakfast was excellent.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Olka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancashire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2011

The hotel is in an ideal spot - a quiet spot just of the Liston and right by the Arena. The room was spotless as was the bathroom. The toiletries were a good make; the airconditioning was effiecient and quiet. Breakfast was from 7.30am to 11am (good if you had been to the opera!) and had a good range of food on offer. The staff were pleasant and friendly and helped with buses and taxis. The city itself is just wonderful..It is so compact you can easily walk to all the main sites. We bought Verona cards which are a great bargain. They cost 15 euros for 2 days or 20 euros for 5 days and include city bus travel. We visited most of the places on the card - museums and churches and were very impressed indeed. Do visit the Antico Caffe Dante ristorante on the Piazza signora. It is a great place to eat and the staff just do everything to make your meal very pleasant.
For a cheaper coffee (but still very good) try the little place on the Via Diaz at the city end of the Corsa Cavour - very pleasant. We just loved Verona and were only sprry we were too early in the year for the opera. Next time!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Polly03223
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2010

All in all we liked this hotel. The location was good as we were close to tourist attractions, shopping, and dining. Also, they offered underground parking for 20 euros a night which was awesome because street parking is impossible to find. The staff were attentive, the room was clean, breakfast was good. The only thing that wasn't 100% for me was that the room was a little dated. We had a geat time seeing sights and we found the people to be a bit friendlier than some of the other towns we toured in the region. Must sees in Verona include Juliet's house, Castelvecchio, San Zeno Maggiore, and the shopping district. Hope you like it as much as we did! Buon Viaggio!

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank DenverLizzie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandy, Utah
Level Contributor
41 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2010

Stayed at the Hotel Colomba d'Oro in September for one night. The common areas, reception and breakfast, were very nice and had that great European feel. Our room was very clean but a bit drab and boring- very different from the other public areas of the hotel. Bathroom was nice and the staff was friendly. Breakfast was not memorable, and very average.

The nice thing about this hotel was the location. Close to the arena, shopping and some great food. Make sure to stay out at night and enjoy the Verona atmosphere.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank wilkinson123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Verona hotels
0.2 km away
Hotel Milano & Spa
Hotel Milano & Spa
#10 of 79 in Verona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,153 reviews
0.2 km away
Giulietta e Romeo Hotel
0.4 km away
Accademia Hotel
Accademia Hotel
#2 of 79 in Verona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,716 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Grand Hotel Des Arts
Grand Hotel Des Arts
#3 of 79 in Verona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,046 reviews
0.1 km away
Hotel Bologna
Hotel Bologna
#7 of 79 in Verona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 741 reviews
0.8 km away
Due Torri Hotel
Due Torri Hotel
#6 of 79 in Verona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 631 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Colomba d'Oro Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colomba d'Oro Hotel

Property: Colomba d'Oro Hotel
Address: Via Carlo Cattaneo 10, 37121, Verona, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Verona > Verona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Verona
#18 Romantic Hotel in Verona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Colomba d'Oro Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A special place is waiting for you in the heart of ancient Verona, between the stone walls and frescoes of an elegant medieval building. Enjoy the rich heritage of a luxury hospitality, made even more accurate by the most advanced technologies. This, and has always been, the only Four Star hotel in the immediate vicinity of the world famous Arena di Verona, a few steps from Palazzo della Gran Guardia Congress Center and the famous cafe in Piazza Bra. The ideal retreat for a romantic weekend in the city of Romeo and Juliet, and the perfect location for an exclusive business stay, with all the pleasures of comfort and luxury. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Colomba d'Oro Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colomba d Oro Hotel
Colomba d Oro Verona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing