We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Colomba d'Oro
Nearby Hotels
US$186
US$170
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$300
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Maxim Hotel(Verona)
US$135
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$211
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
US$289
US$271
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Mazzanti(Verona)
US$171
US$159
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Grand Hotel Des Arts(Verona)
US$256
US$230
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Leon D'Oro(Verona)(Great Value!)
US$194
US$155
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$231
getaroom.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Martini(Verona)(Great Value!)
US$91
US$81
getaroom.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (512)
Filter reviews
512 results
Traveller rating
231
199
57
20
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
231
199
57
20
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspiazza brahistoric hoteltraditional hotelexcellent locationfew stepsside streetquiet streetrecommend this hoteleasy accessmain piazzastay there againvery nice hotelair conditioningwithin walking distancequiet roombreakfast was excellentbreakfast room
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
174 - 179 of 512 reviews
Reviewed 15 September 2011

We went to Verona for a concert in Arena. I had a bit of problems finding it by my car. It is in ancient part of town, near Piazza Bra. Arena is only few steps from hotel. It has ideal location for researching old town of Verona, which is beautiful.
Hotel is in old building, but interior is very clean and well maintained. Bed and pillow were excellent (not too soft and pillow was not too big). Bathroom is big enough and very clean. Staff was friendly and spoke English. Breakfast was OK with good range of different food (butter, jams, few different salamis, cheese, eggs, yogurts,.....
If you are planing to come with a car, make a reservation for a garage. It is in same building and much cheaper that public garage.
.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank LjubljanaTurist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2011

The Colomba d'Oro is less than 300 yards from the Arena, making it perfect for those visting the opera festival.

Rooms are small, but well-furnished and with air-conditioning. They also have double glazing (useful in the city centre, where bed-times are late and dustcarts early), and shutters for the windows.

Staff mostly speak reasonable English, and are knowlegeable and helpful. The only meal available is the breakfast buffet, but that is no hardship, as there are so many other cafes and restauarants nearby.

The Colomba d'Oro is the perfect spot to live the Verona lifestyle - opera in the Arena from 9pm until midnight, dinner afterwards (perhaps watching the passagiata with a glass of amarone or prosecco in hand), sleep until it is time for a lunch with some more wine, then stroll and snooze until it is time to shower and change for the opera again. Great for a few days of lotus-eating, with the Blackberry firmly switched off.

We travelled on a package organised by Robert Schweitzer, who specialises in travel for the opera in Verona. His packages are not cheap, but he looks after everything - travel, accommodation, opera tickets, champagne in one's seat before the performance starts, champagne and canapes at Liston 12 in the Piazza Bra during the intervals, and dinner (at least once) with the artists after the opera. This is the third year that we have travelled with him (the first was in 2004), and we will travel with him again, if we can.

Room Tip: The lift is ancient, so lower floors are better.
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank London_Brief
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2011

this hotel has a very nice European feel with lovely entrance and off the main tourist road location. we stayed there two nights in two different rooms as we only planned for one night but decided to stay one more day for the opera. both rooms were clean with updated bathrooms. general decor of the rooms (and mirrored hallways) could use an upgrade. Our main complaint was lack of concierge service. Staff was very nice and tried to be helpful, but didn't seem to be knowledgeable. breakfast was excellent.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Olka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2011

The hotel is in an ideal spot - a quiet spot just of the Liston and right by the Arena. The room was spotless as was the bathroom. The toiletries were a good make; the airconditioning was effiecient and quiet. Breakfast was from 7.30am to 11am (good if you had been to the opera!) and had a good range of food on offer. The staff were pleasant and friendly and helped with buses and taxis. The city itself is just wonderful..It is so compact you can easily walk to all the main sites. We bought Verona cards which are a great bargain. They cost 15 euros for 2 days or 20 euros for 5 days and include city bus travel. We visited most of the places on the card - museums and churches and were very impressed indeed. Do visit the Antico Caffe Dante ristorante on the Piazza signora. It is a great place to eat and the staff just do everything to make your meal very pleasant.
For a cheaper coffee (but still very good) try the little place on the Via Diaz at the city end of the Corsa Cavour - very pleasant. We just loved Verona and were only sprry we were too early in the year for the opera. Next time!

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank Polly03223
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2010

All in all we liked this hotel. The location was good as we were close to tourist attractions, shopping, and dining. Also, they offered underground parking for 20 euros a night which was awesome because street parking is impossible to find. The staff were attentive, the room was clean, breakfast was good. The only thing that wasn't 100% for me was that the room was a little dated. We had a geat time seeing sights and we found the people to be a bit friendlier than some of the other towns we toured in the region. Must sees in Verona include Juliet's house, Castelvecchio, San Zeno Maggiore, and the shopping district. Hope you like it as much as we did! Buon Viaggio!

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank DenverLizzie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews