We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely friendly hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Scalzi

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Scalzi
Ranked #11 of 79 Hotels in Verona
Certificate of Excellence
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Lovely friendly hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2011

My husband and I stayed at the Scalzi because it was an easy walk to the Arena. It was a very comfortable hotel, with a large room and very nice bathroom in a quiet street nevertheless near the center of town. The staff were very friendly and helpful If we are back in Verona we will certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Berkeleian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

556 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    270
    218
    55
    10
    3
See reviews for
61
286
53
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boca Raton, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2011

While in Verona, we only had one day, but the family-run Scalzi was perfect. Within a short walk to the Arena and the river. Quaint courtyard where breakfast was served was a great way to start our day. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PSeidell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ouderkerk aan de Amstel, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
49 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2011

We came to Verona to visit the opera. Hotel Scalzi is at a perfect location, just a 10 minute walk to the Arena and the city center. Very nice and clean room, big bathroom and shower, and tasteful breakfast. But what made the hotel perfect was the very friendly, helpful and efficient staff. We would definitely return to this hotel!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Heijden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
heule
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2010

I booked a room for one person for 2 nights (100 euro per night). The room was disappointingly small, with an even smaller bathroom. I think the room was 2.80 x 2.50 meter, and a bathroom of 1 x 1 meter. I do understand that rooms for one person are smaller, but this was really the smallest room I ever slept in. But the worst of all was the awfull smell inside the room which did not disappear by leaving the windows open.
After this I went to Padua, and stayed in Hotel Belludi in Padua (two stars designhotel, 121 euro per night), what felt like heaven after my horrible stay in Hotel Scalzi.
The only really good thing in hotel scalzi is the very helpfull staff.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank filip081
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greece
Level Contributor
37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2010

Stayed there with my husband for 2 days, excellently refurbished....great taste in every detail. Nice 10 mins walk to Arena - very friendly and helpful staff - will definately stay there again very soon !

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JudyJetsonGreece
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huddersfield
Level Contributor
36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2010

We spent two nights at Hotel Scalzi. Since we were arriving by train, this was a perfect location, midway between the station and the city centre. We arrived at 8.30 am off the overnight train, 3 hours before check in time, and found the staff really helpful giving us a vacant room straight away. Later we found them very helpful again as we had a problem with some train tickets and they let us use the internet on the desk. Breakfast was enjoyable, and the room was fine. We loved Verona, just a 15 minute walk from the hotel to Piazza Bra and the Arena.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 5474C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2010

i spent 5 nights in the Hotel Scalzi in August. the hotel is ideally situated approx 10 mins walk to the station and 10 mins to Piazza Bra. it was clean, the staff were friendly - and spoke English- and breakfast ,by Italian standards was plentiful. Tea and coffee were made to order! My room would have been a little small if there were two of us but for one it was fine. It had a very nice shower room and proper towels! (not the usual Italian towels that resemble kitchen towel!) Worth staying in and yes i would go back to it again.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank joaneyles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Verona hotels
1.0 km away
Giulietta e Romeo Hotel
0.9 km away
Hotel Milano
Hotel Milano
#10 of 79 in Verona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,102 reviews
0.5 km away
Grand Hotel Des Arts
Grand Hotel Des Arts
#4 of 79 in Verona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 982 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 km away
Accademia Hotel
Accademia Hotel
#2 of 79 in Verona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,660 reviews
0.4 km away
Best Western Hotel Firenze
0.5 km away
Hotel Trieste
Hotel Trieste
#7 of 79 in Verona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 629 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Scalzi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Scalzi

Property: Hotel Scalzi
Address: Via Carmelitani Scalzi 5, 37122, Verona, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Verona > Verona
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#13 Business Hotel in Verona
#14 Romantic Hotel in Verona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Scalzi 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Entirely rebuilt, the hotel dedicates attention to the businessman as well as to tourists who want to spend their time in a family atmosphere. The hotel is located in the city centre, 650 metres from the Arena and close to the train station. The charming and lovely rooms have independent air conditioning, television, direct line outside and long-distance calls. Buffet breakfast is served in a graceful mezzanine floor. It's also possible to book places in our private garage. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Scalzi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scalzi Hotel Verona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing