We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely friendly hotel”
Review of Hotel Scalzi

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Scalzi
Ranked #13 of 78 Hotels in Verona
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 August 2011

My husband and I stayed at the Scalzi because it was an easy walk to the Arena. It was a very comfortable hotel, with a large room and very nice bathroom in a quiet street nevertheless near the center of town. The staff were very friendly and helpful If we are back in Verona we will certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Berkeleian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (644)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

230 - 236 of 644 reviews

Reviewed 5 August 2011

While in Verona, we only had one day, but the family-run Scalzi was perfect. Within a short walk to the Arena and the river. Quaint courtyard where breakfast was served was a great way to start our day. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PSeidell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2011

We came to Verona to visit the opera. Hotel Scalzi is at a perfect location, just a 10 minute walk to the Arena and the city center. Very nice and clean room, big bathroom and shower, and tasteful breakfast. But what made the hotel perfect was the very friendly, helpful and efficient staff. We would definitely return to this hotel!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Heijden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2010

I booked a room for one person for 2 nights (100 euro per night). The room was disappointingly small, with an even smaller bathroom. I think the room was 2.80 x 2.50 meter, and a bathroom of 1 x 1 meter. I do understand that rooms for one person are smaller, but this was really the smallest room I ever slept in. But the worst of all was the awfull smell inside the room which did not disappear by leaving the windows open.
After this I went to Padua, and stayed in Hotel Belludi in Padua (two stars designhotel, 121 euro per night), what felt like heaven after my horrible stay in Hotel Scalzi.
The only really good thing in hotel scalzi is the very helpfull staff.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank filip081
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2010

Stayed there with my husband for 2 days, excellently refurbished....great taste in every detail. Nice 10 mins walk to Arena - very friendly and helpful staff - will definately stay there again very soon !

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JudyJetsonGreece
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2010

We spent two nights at Hotel Scalzi. Since we were arriving by train, this was a perfect location, midway between the station and the city centre. We arrived at 8.30 am off the overnight train, 3 hours before check in time, and found the staff really helpful giving us a vacant room straight away. Later we found them very helpful again as we had a problem with some train tickets and they let us use the internet on the desk. Breakfast was enjoyable, and the room was fine. We loved Verona, just a 15 minute walk from the hotel to Piazza Bra and the Arena.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 5474C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2010

i spent 5 nights in the Hotel Scalzi in August. the hotel is ideally situated approx 10 mins walk to the station and 10 mins to Piazza Bra. it was clean, the staff were friendly - and spoke English- and breakfast ,by Italian standards was plentiful. Tea and coffee were made to order! My room would have been a little small if there were two of us but for one it was fine. It had a very nice shower room and proper towels! (not the usual Italian towels that resemble kitchen towel!) Worth staying in and yes i would go back to it again.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joaneyles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Verona hotels
1 km away
Giulietta e Romeo Hotel
0.9 km away
Hotel Milano & Spa
Hotel Milano & Spa
#10 of 78 in Verona
2,445 reviews
0.4 km away
Grand Hotel Des Arts
Grand Hotel Des Arts
#4 of 78 in Verona
1,275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Best Western Hotel Firenze
1.2 km away
Accademia Hotel
Accademia Hotel
#2 of 78 in Verona
1,902 reviews
1.4 km away
Mazzanti
Mazzanti
#7 of 78 in Verona
239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Scalzi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Scalzi

Address: Via Carmelitani Scalzi 5, 37122, Verona, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Verona > Verona
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#13 Romantic Hotel in Verona
#13 Business Hotel in Verona
Price Range: $120 - $281 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Scalzi 2*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Scalzi is located in the historic Avesani Palace in the center of Verona. The strategic location between Piazza Bra with the Arena, Castelvecchio and the Porta Nuova Railway Station, outside the restricted traffic area makes it a great choice for you stay in the city of love. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Scalzi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scalzi Hotel Verona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing