We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Travelocity
CheapTickets
Expedia.com
Booking.com
Hotels.com
View all 9 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (406)
Filter reviews
406 results
Traveller rating
118
172
77
20
19
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
118
172
77
20
19
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 406 reviews
Reviewed November 2, 2019 via mobile

The hotel is in a great location and only about a 15 minute walk to the old town. The room was comfortable and spotlessly clean and the staff were pleasant and helpful.
I had thought from the photos on the website that the hotel would have a little more character and there are some lovely photos in the hotel of days gone by but it was OK.
The WiFi did not work at all in our room. It said connected but no Internet.
Despite this I would stay again.

Date of stay: November 2019
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank AlisonY990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Moderno, Responsabile reception at Hotel Moderno, responded to this reviewResponded November 3, 2019

Dear Alison, thank you very much for the review! We are very glad that you enjoyed your stay at Hotel Moderno, especially for its location, in the heart of the city, the comfort of the rooms and the helpfulness of the Staff. We are very sorry to hear about the wi-fi! We will do our best to improve this service. We hope to accommodate you again in the future. See you soon! Best Regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 1, 2019 via mobile

Pros:

- Very polite and helpful staff. Big thanks to all ladies in the reception during our stay.

- We had two rooms booked and had to cancel one, they did not agree to reimburse even part of money but gave us a much bigger room.

- Location is very good to reach Bari old town.

Cons:

- Hotel is old, not good infrastructure and I expected more based on photos I saw in Trip Advisor. We got an apartment with kitchen, but there was no glasses, clutery, plates, we borrowed wine opener and got 3 of them broken.

- Internet only worked in the lobby during entire stay. Although staff said it should be working we could not connect any of our devices in the room.

- Breakfast is ok but very odd hours, they serve breakfast only between 7:00am to 9:30am.

- Air conditioning works only on limited hours of the day and during the night is very noisy.

The stay was not horrible but next time I will be in Bari I will try a different hotel.

Date of stay: September 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank Ivo L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Moderno, Responsabile reception at Hotel Moderno, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2019

Dear Ivo Lucio, thank you very much for choosing us and for taking the time to review your stay with us!
We would like to thank you for mentioning the helpufulness and kindness of the reception staff as this is one of the most important aspect for us. We take note of all your comments in order to improve all our services. Furthermore, we would like to point out that all the rooms are equipped with a kitchenette but this is an extra service that we offer only on request. In this case we equip it with all dishes. Anyway, we hope to accomodate you again soon for another journey with us, maybe in one of the new superior rooms. Best Regards!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 3, 2019 via mobile

Great hotel in a great location. Great service, super clean and very helpful...it felt like better than home. Most recommend for a wonderful stay. Will definitely go back when in Italy. Thank you for your hospitality Elis & Samoela.

Date of stay: June 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Aferdita Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Moderno, Responsabile reception at Hotel Moderno, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2019

Dear Elis and Samoela, thank you very much for choosing our Hotel and for spending time writing this amazing review! We are very happy to read that you enjoyed your stay in our Hotel and our beautiful city. We really appreciate your kindness and we hope to see you again! Greetings from Hotel Moderno.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 12, 2019

It is very close to the city center and railway station. The staff is very friendly, I received a quiet room, in the breakfast they have a very good espresso. I had the worst bed in a hotel and very bad pillows. A minus is the lack of vegetables (tomatoes, peppers) at breakfast

Room tip: ask a quiet room
Date of stay: March 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ciprian333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Moderno, Responsabile reception at Hotel Moderno, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2019

Dear Guest,
Thank you for choosing our hotel and for spending time writing this review! We very are glad that you enjoyed the strategic position of our Hotel, the kindness of the the reception staff, the quietness of our rooms and the good quality of the espresso served daily during breakfast and 24h at our lobby bar. However, we took notes about your suggestions: it’s a way for us to improve our service and achieve the guest satisfaction. We look forward to welcoming you at your Hotel again. Best Regards!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 27, 2019

This hotel was my choice because of it's location, very close to the train and bus stations, but it is also walking distance to the old town.
The room was big and very clean. I had also a balcony looking to a inside court yard. There is a free safe in the room. They changed the towels and did the cleaning every day.
Breakfast was ok: cheese, ham,salami,yogurt, jams, butter, cakes, croissants, different juices. For hot water for tea and for coffee (which was very good) you have to ask the hostess.
Stuff at the hotel was very friendly, they speak English.
There is also a luggage room where you can let your luggage if you need.
I enjoyed my stay here, even i didn't spent too much time inside the hotel as you can suppose.

Date of stay: February 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Cristina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Moderno, Responsabile reception at Hotel Moderno, responded to this reviewResponded March 3, 2019

Dear Cristina, thank you very much for this amazing review where you highlighted our streghts: the strategic location of the Hotel between the old town and the train and bus station, the accurate cleaning service, the high quality of the breakfast products and the warmth of the staff. Your words fill our hearts with happiness and satisfaction. We hope to welcome you to Bari again. Best regards!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews