We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing amazing amazing”
Review of Il Mattacchione

Il Mattacchione
Ranked #6 of 378 Restaurants in Olbia
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$23 - US$51
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean, Contemporary, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: The Trattoria Moderna " Il Mattacchione" is a small restaurant located in the north part of Olbia, not far from the main road that take you to the harbor, to the airport and to Costa Smeralda. In this small family-run trattoria, with about 35 seats inside and other 35 seats outside(only during the summertime),you will be greeted with courtesy and professionalism. In the trattoria " Il Mattacchione" you can dive into the Sardinian's culinary tradition, reviewed with the eyes of a young couple,Giuseppe and Rossella, who have a deep love for their land and for all the products it offers. And so driven by a strong passion for food and for cooking, that Giuseppe will make you healthy meals prepared with fresh ingredients. Quality, professionalism and courtesy are the keywords of the Trattoria Moderna "Il Mattacchione".
Reviewed June 8, 2017 via mobile

This place is a treasure. The service is outstanding (feels like in a 3-michelin star place). The food is simply amazing, tasty, local, original and the plates are really well presented! The wines are from Sardaigna only and are perfect match for the dishes. Can't wait to go back in this hidden place! Congrats to the team!!!

Date of visit: June 2017
1  Thank mamat777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (791)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

22 - 26 of 791 reviews

Reviewed June 5, 2017 via mobile

A rather nondescript location - as you walk in taken aback by the simple yet great design of the place. Attention to detail in all aspects. Polite service. Waiter taking time to explain the flavours.

The food is excellent - I had the tartar. The journey started from outside the plate with the various flavoured breads complementing the tartar and then into the plate with the actual tartar. I continued with the tuna tataki. Cooked beautifully. My partner had the pork belly - again no complaints, just smiles and silence whilst eating and savouring.

This is a truly talented chef either waiting to be discovered or just having chosen a small restaurant.

Is there something to be said about portion sizes? Maybe slightly 'under just right'. Yet if I had a primo it would be ok. Absolutely not a deal breaker and I would certainly visit again.

Prices? Normal for the type of restaurant and clearly advertised. If people feel it is too expensive nobody forces them to stay.

Date of visit: June 2017
Thank IOSym
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 24, 2017

This restaurant served by far the best meal we had eaten in Sardinia. Every dish looked beautiful and tasted delicious. The homemade bread was a real treat too. Each dish was explained perfectly to us and we enjoyed everything we ate. The decor of this little restaurant is quirky and inviting, I would definitely recommend a visit here.

Date of visit: May 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Yokohama_Llama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 17, 2017 via mobile

The waitress was extremely friendly! She explained the menu to us! We tried the 5 course meal. The presentation of the food was top quality and all made fresh to order. Can not fault the food as it tasted amazing! The toilet was clean and tidy too

Date of visit: May 2017
Thank bonb705
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 6, 2017 via mobile

Absolutely outstanding restaurant in Olbia. We didn't expect such a great quality of food and service. Whatever we have chosen to eat ( baked Risotto, fresh Sea bass, etc. ) was tasteful and nicely presented. Reservation is recommended.

Date of visit: May 2017
Thank honestgerman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Il Mattacchione also viewed

Olbia, Province of Olbia-Tempio
Olbia, Province of Olbia-Tempio
 
Olbia, Province of Olbia-Tempio
 
Olbia, Province of Olbia-Tempio
Olbia, Province of Olbia-Tempio
 

Been to Il Mattacchione? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing