We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (113)
Filter reviews
113 results
Traveller rating
78
25
6
3
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
78
25
6
3
1
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 113 reviews
Reviewed February 16, 2014

We arrived at midnight and even though was written on the entrance doors that guests are welcomed till 10p.m. - we called and got a nice room (newly renovated, Sicilian style flat). The hotel is located in the heart of lovely Augusta, the Old Town is around the corner, there are also nice local bars, shopping street. Marco speaks English and this is very unexpected in Sicily! He's very helpfull and really professional. We had a nice breakfast in a cosy kitchen/office of Il Carmine. Marco showed us his blog and site (very well done!) and took a picture of us - we were the first Lithuanians in his B&B:)From Augusta it's convenient to reach Pantalica (necropolis - worth to visit!), Siracusa, Catania, Taormina). Also, it was the cheapest place to stay in Sicily:) 45 eur/per night. In winter standard price is not less than 50eur (B&B, hotels).

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lina_Kr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 19, 2013 via mobile

We spent our honeymoon travelling around Sicily. We travelled anticlockwise starting at trapani with an intermediate stop at Agrigento. The latter part of the trip being based in Cefalu and Palermo. We picked Augusta for its proximity to Siracusa and Etna.

Il carmine looked highly promising and very good value. The B and B is located in a convenient location in the older part of the town. Parking is a bit if a hit and miss affair. But with persistence we managed to find a space within 2 minutes walk on each of the 4 nights we stayed.

We were given the use if the apartment. Separate from the main B and B. The room was clean and quiet. The hosts were welcoming and warm and friendly. Marco was always ready to offer advice and conversation, with a good grasp of English. Breakfasts were coffee or tea with a selection of cakes and toasts. Manuela who was not available due to recent delivery of baby very kindly baked us a romantic heart shaped cake.

All in all a success. Would recommend strongly. Not plush but who needs plush when you have the great Sicilian outdoors to enjoy !

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paulandlorr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 20, 2013

I highly recommend Il Carmine Bread and Breakfast if you're in the area. It's a great jumping point for eastern Sicily (Siracusa, Catania, Taormina etc.) Marco and Manuela are terrific hosts. This a clean, functional, comfortable environment run by professional, helpful, warm and accomodating owners. We could not have received better service, assistance and attention. We'll be back for sure!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gabepaci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 11, 2013

My girlfriend and I kickstarted our holliday in Augusta, and we couldn't be happier. Augusta is a lovely little town, 40 kilometers outside Catania, and this is a hidden pearl in Sicilly with few tourists, just as we wanted. Il Carmine B&B is the perfect place to stay in Augusta. The room was really cosy, The bathroom held a high Hotel standard, and The bed was really nice!
We have stayed in a lot of hotels all over Europe, but we have never felt so warm and welcome like we felt in Augusta. The hosts - Marco and Manuela was like a dream. They helped us with everything, Marco Even parked the car for us. We wanted a picture Of ourselfs in the car, in a smal alley in Augusta, and Marco was so kind to take The picture for us. The B&B was The best memory Of our trip to Sicilly. We will be back in The future and will also tell our friends in Norway about this place!

Arne-Petter and Silje,
Oslo

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Arne-Petter L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Looking at all the reviews, I wonder whether we have been staying the same place. We had the top appartment, with 2 double bedrooms. Rooms were clean, but very basic. Bath room however is a different story: could do with an overhaul and, Marco, whilst you do the overhaul, please install also a water heater that is in line with the capacity you offer in the rooms. We were 3, but at least one of us had a cold shower every time.

As to breakfast, the so much acclaimed home made cakes etc were scarcely available. During the week we stayed here, bread seemed to come from a discounter supermarket.

We liked the initial informal, almost familiar welcoming done by Marco. During the stay however, things became a bit too familiar. When your guests indicate their in the area for family affairs, you don't ask further and certainly don't insist. Hospitality 101, first chapter!!

Location is OK, not difficult to find and within walking distance of shops and restaurants. Parking a car is a challenge and the open spots in front of the police station next door become very tempting. However, you'd better resist and walk a bit from the car to the B&B.

All in all, a so-so experience.

Room Tip: Get a room that doesn't have an outdoor connection to the breakfast area. Stairs become very slippery when wet.
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank beddumiu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ilcarmine, Proprietario at B&B Il Carmine, responded to this reviewResponded May 25, 2013
Google Translation

Gentilissimo “Beddumiu” grazie per la tua recensione.
Le persone sono differenti ed hanno criteri di valutazione differenti pertanto non bisogna stupirsi se altri hanno dato dei giudizi al di sopra della media rispetto i tuoi. Riguardo la necessità di avere maggiore acqua calda hai perfettamente ragione ed ho provveduto apportando delle modifiche.
Riguardo la colazione sono rimasto molto sorpreso in quanto innanzitutto il B&B per legge non potrebbe servire torte fresche o meglio fatte in casa, ma solo cibi confezionati. Ogni giorno la colazione prevede:
Caffe’, Cappuccino, Te’, cioccolato, Yogurt, cereali, marmellate, miele, biscotti, fette biscottate, acqua, Succhi di frutta,Toast, Cornetti e crostatine confezionate. In più per rendere più gradevole la colazione in base alle nostre disponibilità di tempo serviamo le torte fatte da mia moglie che ripeto e come hai anche confermato erano presenti.
I toast vengono comprati al supermercato perché non conosco nessun panificio che faccia toast di qualità!
Noi compriamo i toast al “Sidis” che è un ottimo supermercato della zona.
Capitolo Ospitalità: "Durante il soggiorno è diventato un po' troppo familiare…"
Ogni mattina vi ho servito il caffè , ho chiacchierato in italiano e in siciliano con la signora e scherzato con la figlia. Forse ho l’impressione che la differenza di lingua abbia creato confusione. Non ha senso adesso cercare di giustificare quali domande erano lecite ma sappi che la classiche domande che sempre vengono fatta sono le stesse: Che cosa farete di bello oggi? Dove siete stati a cena ieri? Avete mangiato gli arancini? E la sfoglia di ricotta?
Da parte mia posso dire di aver trascorso (per me) una splendida settimana insieme alla vostra famiglia e mi dispiace di essere stato troppo "familiare"!
Ogni ospite è differente…… e credimi che per me l’ospitalità’ è al primo posto

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews