We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great experience!”
Review of UNA Hotel Palace

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
UNA Hotel Palace
Ranked #3 of 50 Hotels in Catania
Certificate of Excellence
Monterrey, Mexico
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great experience!”
Reviewed 21 June 2012

great situation, walking distance to many points of interest, breakfast is good, rooms and bathroom were clean, furniture confortable and very spacious room but I have to add that we had a jr. suite due to the fact that we were 2 adults and one child. Staff was very friendly and spoke english (most of them). It was a very ggod experience and totally recommend this hotel. (Our stay was 4days/3nights on June-2012)

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Laranacoqui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at UNA Hotel Palace, responded to this review, 26 June 2012
Dear "Laranacoqui",

thanks for spending precious moments of your time to make a review about your experience in our hotel. I understood that you have got a free upgrade to a junior suite and on this matter I would like to clarify that it depended on our staff's decision as a goodwill gesture to welcome you on your first visit always depending on our rooms availability. We are proud of your satisfaction and hoping to welcome you again in our hotel we inform you that soon it will be possible to enjoy breakfast on our Etnea Roof on our beautifully panoramic terrace with a menu fully reached in sicilian specialities.

Thanking you again for your review which helps us to make our service better, I send you my best regards.
Valentina Lanza
Guest Relation
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,627 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    896
    599
    107
    16
    9
See reviews for
290
665
61
312
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (144)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2012

I was working around the Med and the ship docked in Catania. I walked around looking for a decent Hotel close to the centre of town and found the UNA Palace. Great hotel, clean, friendly, good amenities. Right in the heart of Catania so a short walk to all the shops, cafes, restaurants. Good breakfast included in the room cost.

I had some obscure work tasks to do and the staff went above and beyond to help me (I have no Italian languiage!!)

Downsides. Internet costs 18 Euro for 4 hours. Don't know if that is warranted in the 21st century. A single load of laundry I sent out without checking cost 97 Euro (ow!!)

Generally though, two thumbs up. Gold Star. Well done.

Room Tip: I stayed there twice. All rooms seem to be sound proof and good air con so any room is good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Geoff D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at UNA Hotel Palace, responded to this review, 27 June 2012
Dear "Geoff D",

It has been a pleasure reading your detailed review which is so important to us. It is not clear from your comment if you had the chance to have a look at our roof panoramic restaurant, a perfect atmosphere to work in while enjoying a beautiful view over the town and mount Etna.
I am sorry if you were not happy with the extra cost for internet access. Its our company decision to offer a good service especially in terms of security while being online, although this includes an extra cost. However based on your comment I would like to inform you that its possible to find special offers package on our website which can include internet.
Please contact us directly next time you would like to book with us and we make sure to address your booking on your specific needs.

Thanks again for your review

Kind regards
Valentina Lanza
Guest Relation
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincolnshire
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2012

Stayed here over Easter weekend in April 2012. It is a short 15 min taxi ride from the airport (depending on traffic, of course), so this is the non fussy option for getting to the hotel. The check-in was fast and the styling is actually a good blend of contemporary and classical but the styling cues are subtle so some people may think it "sterile".

The location is excellent - just 7 mins walk from Piazza Duomo but there are a couple of treats right next to the hotel (a cafe and a gelateria). Catania generally-speaking is pretty compact so one can walk to virtually all of the major sights (except the volcano). The sightseeing bus may seem like a good deal (very cheap), but it's a very short ride.

The hotel restaurant served good seafood and had a good antipasto buffet. It is one of the better restaurants in town (with an open-air terrace bar), but you can get a good meal for quarter the price at a nearby pizzeria. If you don't want pizza, good restaurants are not difficult to find, but you need to search down the side streets (i.e. not on Via Etnea or Vittorio Emaneule II). I can recommend Osteria Antica Sicilia (corner Via Roccaforte and Via Bicocca just off of Piazza della Universita). One more point about the hotel restaurant - for some strange reason, the bill for drinks on the terrace bar is separated from your dinner bill.

Yes, everything is extra at the hotel, even with an upgraded room (internet access is not cheap, but is available), but the rooms and bathrooms are large and mine had a Juliette Balcony looking out on to Via Etnea. Soundproofing is excellent as well. I did not try out their spa services, but the prices seemed ok.

All in all, a good hotel, representing a reasonable value if you're looking something more than just a place to lay your head at night.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LincolnshireMike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UNAHotelPalace, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at UNA Hotel Palace, responded to this review, 2 March 2016

Dear Sir,
it is so pleasant to read your feedback about our hotel and we thank you for waiting such a nice and detailed review. It is rewarding for us and helpful for the other travellers.
Concerning the Wifi service, we are offering free Internet access and if you need an unlimited connection even for professional use, we have a special package and our so called upgraded room formula that only with a little supplement allows you to get it as an including benefit, together with free minibar an above all the possibility to stay even in a higher room category.
We look forward to welcoming You again in our hotel and beautiful city and in the meantime we invite to visit the other Italian design UNA hotels as well centrally located and with strategic positions in order to let you discovery the Italian excellences.

Kindest regards,

Rita Monfrini
Guest Relation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
489 reviews
110 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2012

Really liked this hotel and would not hesitate to stay here again. Could walk around the city as the hotel was very central. Restaurant was good for dinner and also breakfast.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank slwityk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UNAHotelPalace, Direttore at UNA Hotel Palace, responded to this review, 5 June 2012
Dear Mrs. "Jslwityk",
we are really happy that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel for its central position, its facilities and services, such as our panoramic Etnea Roof restaurant, which offers to our guests both delicious local food and an amazing ambiance in the core of Catania city.

It has been a pleasure to have you here as our kind guests and we hope you will stay here again in the near future.

Best regards
Massimiliano Torre
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2012 via mobile

Nice facilities but very business and sales orientated, sterile and bland with pretentious staff and be prepared for being charged for any extras.

We booked this hotel for the last night on our honeymoon and based on the strength of the reviews on this site.

We phoned and were told there was only an executive room available but on arrival discovered there were standard rooms available which suggested some dishonesty.

The room was very expensive and facilities were good plus bed was very comfy but the whole hotel lacked any character.

The breakfast was surprisingly bad, I had my first powdered scrambled egg here. Yuk :-(

The staff were very pretentious and the level of service was terrible possibly because we were two honeymooners on a one night trip as opposed to a business trip for several nights.

As a large business orientated hotel we had hoped for free wifi but were charged for just 30 mins as we checked into our flights!

Nice roof bar but but expect uninterested staff and extortionate prices. If service and the personal touch is inportant to you, try somewhere else and take the previuos reviews with a pinch of salt.

From a genuine review

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chunners
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UNAHotelPalace, Direttore at UNA Hotel Palace, responded to this review, 18 May 2012
Dear Mr. Chunners,
I Personally tried to contact you by tripadvisor Message to understand The reason to write Two reviews absolutely indentical but i not received any replay.
your review is very important for us because we believe that it will be a valuable contribution to improve us where it is necessary.
However, I would like to assure you that it is not our habit to make any distinction of customers because all our guests are equally important.
I apologize if you have felt a certain detachment, our warmth and hospitality have always characterized us as also underlined by lots of positive reviews on Tripadvisor, anyway my staff tries to interpret our guest's desire and his willingness to interact, probably during your short stay it will simply maintained some discretion to respect your privacy, serving you in the best way.
It has been my concern to verify your reservation with regard to availability that you can find even in any web sales channel and if in that moment it was given to you an Executive room, it would be surely the only type available.
Meantime, it may happen that the in the hotel receive cancellations and different types of rooms can be relisted, however, this does not necessarily mean that the price of the room at the arrival was lower than yours even for a different room type, our transparency in commercial terms is well- known and easily verified.
I wish you will be in future our guest again and I am at your disposal with all my staff for any explanation"

Best regards
Massimiliano Torre
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
73 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2012

We had dinner at the restaurant on 13 May - degustation 5 course menu for €33 was unbelievAble value. Started with a glass of sparkling wine, followed by five delicious courses and included a bottle of white wine. We arrived early (9pm) and enjoyed a drink on the terrace before being escorted to our table. The restaurAnt is on the roof of the hotel and has fabulous views. The service was fantastic and the chef delivered the first course and welcomed us to the restaurant. Fantastic experience!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MMF1810
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UNAHotelPalace, Direttore at UNA Hotel Palace, responded to this review, 19 May 2012
Dear Mrs. Elaine,
Thank you for taking a few minutes of your time to tell All tripadvisor travelers your positive experience especially For our food's quality, The beautifull location of panoramic restaurant, good service and warm welcome.
Your positive review encourages us to do our best!

Grazie!

Best regards,
Massimiliano Torre
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 May 2012 via mobile

Stayed here after four nights in Palermo; what a relief. Yes, this is centrally located and, comfortable, but the best part of the Una Palace is Rita in guest services. She helped us in numerous ways and occasions. She recommended restaurants and tours and answered all questions and problems personally. Thanks, Rita!

Stayed May 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank ldmcgoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Catania hotels
Centro Catania
Liberty Hotel
Liberty Hotel
#2 of 50 in Catania
4.5 of 5 bubbles 754 reviews
Airone City Hotel
#1 of 50 in Catania
5.0 of 5 bubbles 171 reviews
Borgo-Sanzio
Hotel Etnea 316
Hotel Etnea 316
#6 of 50 in Catania
4.5 of 5 bubbles 521 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Villa Romeo
#4 of 50 in Catania
4.5 of 5 bubbles 519 reviews
Centro Catania
Hotel Romano House
Hotel Romano House
#11 of 50 in Catania
4.0 of 5 bubbles 602 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to UNA Hotel Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about UNA Hotel Palace

Property: UNA Hotel Palace
Address: Via Etnea 218, 95131 Catania, Sicily, Italy
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Catania > Catania
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Catania
#1 Business Hotel in Catania
#2 Romantic Hotel in Catania
#3 Luxury Hotel in Catania
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — UNA Hotel Palace 4*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A prestigious building dating back to the early 1900s, in the artistic and commercial heart of Catania, was already an historical luxury hotel. The restoration project has been carried out in the view of maintaining the Sicilian style and traditional cultural heritage. The hotel provides 94 rooms and 9 meeting rooms, fitness centre, Turkish bath, indoor parking, elegant banquet room, roof garden, panoramic terrace with restaurant and American bar. SERVICES: SKY FREE in all the rooms.Internet connection with Wireless system.Pillow Wow:a pillow for every need. All our pillows are made with natural, anti-allergic fibres,Neckroll Pillow, soft and relaxing, filled with wheat chaff Kapok pillow with a soft and elastic covering to fit perfectly around the neck of each guestFirm latex pillow for those who suffer from neck acheGoose-down pillow – extremely soft and naturalFree use of fitness roomTurkish bathLaundry and ironing serviceCovered pay car park6 large rooms equipped for guests with impaired mobility Voltage 220 V UNA RESTAURANTThe UNA Hotel Palace has two large restaurants serving Sicilian specialities and fresh fish as well as a wide selection of wines from our cellars to enjoy with your meal.The UNA Restaurant is situated on the first floor and, in keeping with the tradition of old city buildings, looks out onto an internal courtyard of lava stone. The ample size of the dining room, together with its minimalist décor, makes it the ideal for business lunches and private parties. It seats up to 120.The Roof Garden, an “à la carte” restaurant, is on the 7th floor. From here you can enjoy a unique and spectacular view of the roofs of the city as well as the outline of Mount Etna to the north and a glimpse of the sea to the south. It seats up to 30.A special menu is available with a selection of the chef’s specialities.Open every dayBreakfast: from 7.00 a.m. to 10.00 a.m.Lunch: from 12.30 a.m. to 2.30 a.m.Dinner: from 8.00 p.m. to 10.30 p.m.UNA CAFÉThe UNA Palace Hotel has two delightful bars.The UNA Café next to the hall, is perfect for a coffee break or as a meeting point, especially in the colourful Mediterranean style Privè .The Roof Garden with a unique view of Mount Etna and the city rooftops.ROOF GARDENThe Roof Garden on the 7th floor offers guests a unique view of Mount Etna and the city rooftops. Here guests can enjoy our barman’s carefully prepared cocktails, or sip one of the drinks from our vast selection on the drink menu.There is also a wide selection of teas from all over the world and of delicious hot chocolates.From 7.30 p.m to 10.30 p.m. the bar provides the most fashionable Happy Hour in the city, with a rich buffet of appetizers to satisfy even the most refined taste.Open from 10.30 a.m. to midnight. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Fastbooking, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your UNA Hotel Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Una Hotel Catania
UNA Hotel Palace Catania, Sicily, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing