We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,185)
Filter reviews
1,185 results
Traveller rating
480
451
151
63
40
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
480
451
151
63
40
Show reviews that mention
All reviews central location nice hotel excellent location the hotel staff front desk staff sicily trip pastries the main square comfortable rooms via etnea rental car the heart of the city the air conditioning short stay fish market breakfast was excellent breakfast room
Filter
Updating list...
15 - 20 of 1,185 reviews
Reviewed September 11, 2018 via mobile

We were very late arriving as our plane was delayed by a few hours. Brought by the Jules Verne guide from the airport in the coach and walked to the hotel from the street by the square. Not far.
Room was at the back so very quiet and dark. GREAT! Just what I needed for sleeping. Clean. Friendly, polite, attentive staff.
In the morning we were able to have a decent breakfast and be on our way without fuss.
No time to see the surroundings but a week later with a few spare hours in Catania we walked past it and could see how well placed it was for accessing all the major points of interest in the city if we’d had the time. I would stay again if we returned independently.

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Glynis98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 11, 2018

Please take the mediocre to poor reviews seriously. The location is convenient and James is right - because of the location, management is not customer focused. The hotel moved us several times and each time said the smaller, older room was better. Clearly this wasn't true and if there weren't better rooms, just say so and provide a glass of wine. Don't tell me up is down and frown when I don't agree. I would say if you are traveling as a tourist and an older woman- please listen to the lack of service. You may need more kindness and concern than you will get here. It's worth walking an extra block or two in a safe city to get good service. The Una hotel is just down the street and it's much nicer and the service is super. I've since gone to that hotel and was very happy.

Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank MaryR4722
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 29, 2018

This hotel was a little "out of the way" of the main street, but we loved our stay here. It was 35 degrees plus while we visited Catania. The hotel was comfortable and cool. I must say there were two employees who totally went out of their way to be friendly and helpful. They were Stefano and Francesca. The management should know how special these two people are. We were in Sicily for 12 days and stayed at several hotels. We just didn't find the hotel staff as friendly and helpful as these two people were!! It made our stay so much more pleasant-especially with the extreme heat. They taught us a way to go up the 3 flights of stairs in front of the hotel without having to climb the stairs. They were friendly and outgoing...also, their English was great. That you Il Principe for making our stay in Catania so enjoyable!!!

Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank onesweetgem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 27, 2018

Near the central square and our room was smallish but very clean and modern. We arrived very late after flight delays and were looked after very well by the front desk staff.

The room had a good bed, a safe and both blackout curtains and shutters. We were on the street but had no noise and got a good sleep. WIFI was quite slow.

The bathroom was also quite small but was very modern and clean, had good toiletries and good hot water pressure.

Breakfast was in an older area but was a decent buffet meal.

Overall, we would return here.

Date of stay: June 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank RobandMaryJean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 19, 2018

Excellent value for the location. I would reccomend it to anybody needing a centric place to rest, Close to many restaurants,and a safe area! I was really impressed by Catania, a hidden gem of the pre-Savoya ruin of Southern Italy.

Date of stay: July 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank WayneWestwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews