We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful location, a really peacful escape”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
14 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Bungalow -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Catania, Province of Catania, Sicily

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 14 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
French first
German first
Italian first
Any
English first
LeonAnirI
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful location, a really peacful escape”
Reviewed October 1, 2015 for a stay in September 2015

We stayed here at the start of September and found the location, right next to the sea and a few miles from the base of Etna, a great choice to either relax in the sun or go exploring the wonderful scenery, towns and villages along this stretch of Sicilian coast. A car is essential.

The cottage/cabin is all wood and has a double bedroom and small single bedroom, bathroom with shower, and open plan kitchen and seating area. Everything is clean and tidy. As this is self catering, and we like to cook, the oven is great (gas) but as another reviewer noted some more kitchen utensils would be useful i.e. chef knives. It can also be a little dark inside so an extra light wouldn't go amiss. We were totally happy to spend time indoors especially when we had a couple of days thunderstorms!

The outdoor area is lovely, shaded by olive trees with views across the sea. The walk to the rocky beach is a fun adventure down a spiral staircase, through a short tunnel to then emerge at the base of the small cliff. Even if others are staying at the time you can easily have this whole stretch of water to yourself.

This is a family run business, and the family are lovely. They were very kind and helped and advised us when we needed. They take pride in their homes, are very polite and non-intrusive and really want to see their guests relax and enjoy their stay. Virginia and Claudia are very sweet but that doesn't stop them jumping on a quad bike!

I highly recommend this place if you are looking for an uncomplicated, peaceful retreat and a base to explore eastern Sicily... although in some ways I'd like to keep it our little secret!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location, the views, the beach, our family hosts
Liked least: Mosquito bites!, not enough variety of kitchen utensils for home cooking
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John B
Euxton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Wonderful peaceful location”
Reviewed June 22, 2015 for a stay in June 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We booked this lodge for part of our first holiday in Sicily and its location as a stepping off point for places we wanted to see was great. It took some finding, with the GPS taking us by a convoluted route. We'd have done far better to use the instructions provided by Claudia and only turned on the GPS when much closer.

If you want calm and tranquillity, this is the spot. Set in a shady grove of olive and eucalyptus trees on a cliff top, backed by a commercial palm tree nursery, it's 7 minutes drive from the tiny fishing village of Pozzillo and 18 minutes from Riposto, the Port of Etna and its restaurants. A vehicle is clearly needed, particularly if you intend to eat out or explore the archaeological sites or the region. For us, this was not a problem, we liked the quiet.

One of the reviews we read mention good food, which puzzles me since there is no food on offer.

The lodge, or cabin was of suitable size for two or three and equipped as it says in the advert. For us there were a few drawbacks. It was lined with dark stained pine boards and, together with small windows to keep the heat out, was very dim, sometimes gloomy, even with the door open. The main room and the large bedroom were each lit by one up-lighter. The dark stain absorbed most of the light. The position of the light in the bedroom threw deep shadow into the wardrobe, equipped with two coat hangers – we used a torch to find our clothes. A chest of drawers would have been so useful.

We tend to travel with a fair set of electronics, laptop, tablets, phones and cameras, all of which need charging. The lodge has three power points. The one in the bedroom is used for the single bedside lamp, one in the kitchen area shared a three-way adaptor with the cooker, and one in the bathroom. The charming owner, Claudia, supplied us with a 6-way extension to enable charging when we raised the problem.

The kitchen was fitted with a full cooker and sink for those who wished to eat in, but would have been much improved with an extra pan and some more basic utensils. A fish slice and a can opener would have been useful.

Air conditioning, which is available, is a rather expensive additional cost. At 10 Euros a day it can add 25% to the cost of the rental. We were fortunate – in early June we did without. The following week we stayed in a charming apartment in another part of Sicily. The weekly rental was less and included use of the three air conditioning units.

We suggest the lodges would accommodate 2 or 3, but be very crowded with more. Access to the rocky beach is by underground spiral staircase and tunnel. The access is fenced off but may need padlocking to prevent young children straying into possible danger.

The owner, Claudia, who speaks excellent English, was very welcoming and helpful as far as she could be, and with a minimum of expenditure and effort this could offer a lovely, quiet and peaceful holiday for independent and adventurous travelers.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Tranquil location
Liked least: Dimness of the interior
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Garcia T
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Stunning place”
Reviewed October 28, 2014 for a stay in October 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Beautiful place to stay. The view is fantastic and the owner really friendly. Rooms are really convenient and clean. And on top that the food they make is amazing !

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GENNARO C
1 review
Reviewed August 28, 2018 for a stay in August 2018
Google Translation

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniela L
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 23, 2017 for a stay in April 2017
Google Translation
1
person found this review helpful

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Nein.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sandrine...
Lezigne, France
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2016 for a stay in July 2016
Google Translation

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: La vue sur la mer
Liked least: un peu de bruit venant du camping le soir mais raisonnable
Travelling group: En famille avec jeune(s) enfant(s)
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hervé B
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 31, 2016 for a stay in July 2016
Google Translation

Travelling group: En famille avec adolescent(s)
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing