We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Friendly, helpful, and inviting.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Crociferi B&B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Crociferi B&B
Ranked #27 of 281 Catania B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Limerick, Ireland
1 review
“Friendly, helpful, and inviting.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2011

Friendly, helpful, and inviting hosts (with excellent English). Like visiting family.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Monestere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

279 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    208
    56
    8
    3
    4
See reviews for
34
170
16
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Venice, Italy
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2011

Our room in this friendly B&B had an incredible scene painted on the vaulted ceiling, just like ones we had seen in museums set in former palazzi and a balcony overlooking the street. The breakfasts were wonderful, with fresh fruit and homemade quince jam. The location is very convenient to the historic sites in Catania.

Room Tip: Only one room has this incredible ceiling, but the others have their charms as well.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Janice S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Teresa R, Proprietario at Crociferi B&B, responded to this review, 26 November 2011
Google Translation
thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brattleboro, Vermont
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2011

After 2 weeks road-touring Sicily in November, 2011, we felt completely welcomed by Teresa and Marco. Well-travelled themselves, Marco and Teresa know how to make you feel at home. The breakfasts were brimming with kiwis and other fresh fruit, along with delicious cappuchino or espresso. Teresa took time to point out must-see points in the city (including the sublime monastery), as well as pointing us to two imaginative and delicious slow-food restaurants. This B&B is completely clean and opens out of a wonderful old courtyard. Our double room was enormous and completely comfortable. While bathrooms are across the hall, they too are immaculate and each of the rooms has their own private bathroom with a door only you have a key to. I'd definitely come back here as soon as I get the chance.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank j f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Teresa R, Proprietario at Crociferi B&B, responded to this review, 26 November 2011
Google Translation
thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2011

Go there, sleep there, enjoy there Catania!

Teresa prepairs a breakfast like at home my Mum.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MartinChristoph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
76 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2011

Unlike the previous reviewers we were not all that happy with this place. The location is good for sight seeing in Catania. The room was a large corner room, however, on a Friday or Saturday night that means that you have bars with outdoor seating on both sides which play music until late. The outdoor seating only appears after dark so it was not apparent on booking in. Each room has its own bathroom across the hall from the bedrooms making it difficult for those not carrying a bathrobe - no robes are supplied. One of the first comments the proprietor addressed to us was that we should be very careful to turn off the lights because electricity was expensive. This left us feeling like unwelcome distant relatives she had felt obliged to take in and frankly it is her job to manage the business expenses not her guests.

Breakfast was good standard Italian breakfast. The only tourist information available was a city map and information on tours up Mt. Etna but as the weather was bad that was of no use. We mentioned at breakfast our plans to go to Siracusa for the day but no information was offered re buses even that several bus companies operate from the bus depot and each travels to a different part of Sicily. In the end we left a day early and decided not to stay at B&B's in the future.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sydney_traveller_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Teresa R, Proprietario at Crociferi B&B, responded to this review, 7 November 2011
ciao Joy, ciao Alexander, thanks for taking your time to write this rewiew...I believe that when you decide to make a trip the first step is to choose the location, the next is the choose the structure..I realize that not everyone knows what is the difference between an B&B and a Hotel..so if you don't know the difference of the type of the accomodation the fault is not mine....I don't think that in down-towns of New-York, Berlin, Barcelona you can hear the sound of silence...for this you must choose an hotel on the slopes of Etna. As for turning off the lights when you live the room: I say to all (italian, american, spanish, french etc)not only for the economic factor but above all for the environment..I,m sorry that you have misunderstood my request.Regard the tourist information, I think that goes beyond the citymap or Etna escursion. I explained that you could visit Taormina or Siracusa by bus, there are buses every hour for both cities..if your wait at the bus stop was more than one hour you could ask....When I asked how it was your day in Siracusa you answered that you are not there, you have waited more than one hour and half and tourist offices in New Zeeland (where you live) works better...
THE WORLD IS BEAUTIFUL BECAUSE IS DIFFERENT..
Another note: WEATHER, I don't have the power to make sunshine on command....
I hope that your trip to Malta in a hotel has been better..
ciao
Teresa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lakewood, Ohio
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2011

Perfect place, personal and attentive proprietor, Theresa. Was so helpful with directions, booking our next stay in Syraccusa among other things. Good breakfast too. Would stay here again for sure.

Room Tip: We had a smaller cozy room and it was perfect. The room with the painted ceiling is bigger. There is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank monamia90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2011

A place that makes you feel instantly welcomed and at home. Lovely decorations makes this quaint place unique and special. Although the owners were away for their vacation during our stay there, we were attended by staff who were very friendly and helpful. Breakfast is a simple spread with freshly brewed coffee and toasts personally prepared by the staff. Staying at Crociferi was a wonderful experience; warming and homely. Communication was easy as the people spoke relatively good English.

With only 3 rooms available, be assured that you get a personal and excellent service. As they are snapped up quickly, do book in advance if you were to plan your stay there.

Centrally located in the city, it takes about 15 minutes walk to the bus station and 25 minutes walk to the ferry terminal. The nearby mercato is a 'must' visit. Food options is aplenty located just a few steps away from Crociferi.

I would highly recommend this to anyone who is looking for a 'home' away from home on a holiday.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank R33n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Catania hotels
Palazzo Cerami
#12 of 281 in Catania
4.5 of 5 bubbles 164 reviews
B&B Nel Cuore di Catania
#8 of 281 in Catania
5.0 of 5 bubbles 65 reviews
B&B Palazzo Bruca Catania
#14 of 281 in Catania
4.5 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro Catania
Eh13 B&B
Eh13 B&B
#5 of 281 in Catania
5.0 of 5 bubbles 184 reviews
Borgo-Sanzio
Casa Barbero
Casa Barbero
#3 of 281 in Catania
4.5 of 5 bubbles 570 reviews
Centro Catania
Bad Catania
Bad Catania
#24 of 281 in Catania
4.5 of 5 bubbles 329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crociferi B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crociferi B&B

Property: Crociferi B&B
Address: Via Crociferi 81, 95124 Catania, Sicily, Italy
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Catania > Catania > Centro Catania
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 281 B&Bs / Inns in Catania
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Crociferi B&B 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity.ca and Expedia so you can book your Crociferi B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crociferi B&B Catania, Sicily, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing