We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$114
US$97
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 27% below average rates

The price you found is 27% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$132/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$95
US$76
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 16% below average rates

The price you found is 16% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$91/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Alma Hotel(Palermo)
US$95
US$89
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 23% below average rates

The price you found is 23% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$116/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Hotel Bel 3(Palermo)
US$70
US$68
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$112
US$109
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
US$100
US$85
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 14% below average rates

The price you found is 14% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$99/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Casena dei Colli(Palermo)(Great Value!)
US$60
US$40
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 25% below average rates

The price you found is 25% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$53/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Albergo Cavour(Palermo)(Great Value!)
US$46
US$43
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
US$371
US$323
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$308
US$299
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (117)
Filter reviews
117 results
Traveller rating
96
18
3
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
96
18
3
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmurano chandeliersquattro cantihuge dining tableeach pieceservants quarterspiazza pretoriaevery morningwalking distancebreakfast is servedcakesgiovannipalacehostapartmentterracecenturiesantiques
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 117 reviews
Reviewed October 6, 2017 via mobile

You are a guest in a Palace !! Sig. Giovanni the owner is a most gracious,knowledgable and hospitable gentleman. The accomodation is centrally located near the historic centre of Palermo, very close to i Quattro Canti and the Ballaro' market. Offstreet parking in the locked courtyard is a bonus. Our room was clean and comfortable. We would definitely stay here again.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Max P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 7, 2017 via mobile

The scaffolding at the front makes it a little bit difficult to find at first if you don't know about it, but otherwise this is an elegant place I would recommend anyone to stay in in Palermo! I'm sure once the whole place is completely restored it will look magnificent considering what we saw inside was already quite breathtaking. Giovanni was a hard working, wonderful host, very welcoming and attentive - almost felt like you were staying at a relative's house or in this case mansion/palace! The room we stayed in was very spacious, beautiful, elegant and peaceful. Had no problems sleeping. We were also quite amazed at the beautiful dining room for a freshly baked breakfast every morning! This accommodation is within walking distance to many Palermo historical sites - Santa Maria dell'Ammiraglio, Fontana della Vergogna, Piazza Pretoria to name a few. We would definitely come back here next time we are in Palermo and we will stay for much longer!

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Lychel1e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 12, 2017

Situated on Via Maqueda at walking distance of some of the most beautiful points of interest of Palermo (Quattro Canti, the Church of San Cataldo and Martorana, Piazza Pretoria), the Montevago Palace is wonderfully refurbished, an oasis of comfort and calm. We booked the apartment for one night, and a room for the other nights. All bathrooms are very modern and functional; everything is very clean, the staff is very kind, wi-fi is excellent and free; parking is free, onsite. Those coming by car need a protected zone permit, that can be bought from any gas station or tobacco store against 5 euro per day.

The palace is situated at the second floor of an old building, connected by an elevator. It has two wings – one for sitting, living, parties, with charming beautifully decorated saloons, most of them having painted ceilings, Murano chandeliers and amazing art decorations. Breakfast is served in style in one of these elegant rooms, at a huge dining table.

The rented area is in the other wing. The rooms are spacious and comfortable, nicely decorated with vintage furniture, original paintings and antiques, each piece telling you a story. We went mid-April when it was good weather, and did not use the air conditioning, neither the heating.

The apartment is impressing: situated on two levels, with large rooms for sitting and dining and a marvelous terrace, two large bedrooms and one bathroom. The entrance to the bathroom is from a bedroom, so the guests from the first bedroom have to cross the second bedroom in their way to the bathroom - therefore we recommend the apartment to families or very close people.

Room Tip: The apartment is very large and comfortable and its terrace is wonderful. We highly recommend it.
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Carmen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 16, 2017

Previous reviews comment about location and first thoughts, but within minutes of meeting Giovanni and being ushered around his palace you realise that you are in another world lived by the fish and famous of centuries gone by.
Giovanni's house is oppulent and stunning, each room flows on like a mini Versailles palace, paintings, statues, murano glass chandeliers, parquetry floors, it does not end.
We were so lucky to stay here and be allowed to share such a palace.
Had the 2 bedroom apartment which in years gone by was probably the servants quarters but it was brilliant.
Many thanks to Giovanni for allowing us to reside there for four days, truly a lovely gentle man.

Room Tip: Check website for the photos
  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank RL1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 24, 2016

My first impression dragging my luggage down Via Maqueda was: what kind of place were we stayin? From the outside much of the street looks non- descript. It can be a bit hard to find, but find it we did after passing through an old car size doorway. The palazzo screams vintage elegance. Our apartment was immense, nearly the size of my house. The furnishings and decorrations reach back to a very different era of Sicilian life. And the ceilings are beautiful and rival the finest museums. We were met by Giovanni, the proud and meticulous owner of this hidden gem of a B & B. Giovanni was gracious and ever so belpful in negotiating the streets of Palermo. The beds were comfortable, the bathroom modern and the Wifi excellent. The location was in the heart of old Palermo near the Quattro Canti. Although there is parking, I don't recommend driving as Palermo is a warren of twisted alleys, tight spaces and aggressive traffic. Use public transport as it is effiicient and, along with your feet, gets you around quite nicely ( with Giovanni's excellent tips). We loved Palermo's busy street life right outside the door of the Palazzo Montevago.

  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Ernjack1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews