We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,862)
Filter reviews
1,863 results
Traveller rating
959
515
217
105
67
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
959
515
217
105
67
Show reviews that mention
All reviews shuttle service overlooking the marina free shuttle pool restaurant sea view room terrace bar main building art nouveau an oasis minute drive town centre old world classic hotel large terrace wonderful hotel old style loved this hotel
Filter
Updating list...
216 - 221 of 1,863 reviews
Reviewed July 24, 2017

There are pictures hanging of this beautiful hotel from 1908 and the 1920's and you can just imagine the great parties and events here as you wander through the formal rooms, or sit having cocktails looking over the water. We found the location to be quite good - far enough outside of Palermo but close enough to take the shuttle in and grab a taxi home each night. Breakfast is very well done and served on the waterside patio. Our room was clean and could have used an update, but it wasn't that essential as we found plenty of places to hang out such as the gorgeous pool and the balcony facing the marina off the spa. We had a car as we were making many side trips and would very strenuously recommend you not to drive in Palermo as we found the traffic to awful and the residents of Palermo have very liberal interpretations of the driving rules.

Room Tip: Ask for Marina view
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ConsamStapleton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Villa Igiea G, General Manager at Grand Hotel Villa Igiea - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2017

Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to tell about your positive experience at Villa Igiea.
I am very happy that you spent a good time here enjoying our Pool. It is true, sometime driving can be a little stressful in town.
I truly hope to welcome you again.
Sincerely
Vito Giglio
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 21, 2017 via mobile

A lovely few days staying at this historic hotel just outside Palermo. Breathtaking views (really, it's worth getting a sea view) and lovely common areas. Bar and restaurants, and breakfast, overlooking the bay. Free car parking is also a great bonus, although it gets busy. Restaurant food was 'decent bistro' standard but not mind blowing given the prices - the lamb was pretty tiny for example, but the view and ambience made up for it.
Sadly the service isn't yet up to Sofitel standards I've seen in many other hotels, especially in the bar. It really is very difficult to get service sometimes, and there are too few tables outside which causes issues on summer evenings. I get the idea that Sicilians are used to making it very clear when they want service, but you shouldn't need to work so hard just to get a drink or bill at a 5* hotel. Service was occasionally good but usually indifferent and sometimes simply rude - and complaints to the bar and reception were dealt with defensively and not addressed.
That said, the hotel and location are so good, and housekeeping was excellent with touches like fresh cherries in the room every day and turndown service. The moments of bad service can be addressed with training (I hope) and maybe this hotel can truly earn that 'by Sofitel' badge.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with friends
Thank TPJN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Villa Igiea G, General Manager at Grand Hotel Villa Igiea - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2017

Dear Guest,
Thank you for sharing your feelings following your recent stay at the Grand Hotel Villa Igiea and for pointing out some weaknesses occurred during your stay.
At MGallery by Sofitel we strive day by day to deliver authentic and memorable experiences and our Team is very well customer orientated. However, I will take all your remarks under consideration in order to improve the quality of our services.
Thank you again and I truly hope to welcome you back in the near future.
Sincerely
Vito Giglio
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 21, 2017

We were very disapointed overall with this Hotel. We decided to stay there because the evaluations were good... but... the reality is not so glamorous. Look at the pictures of some details to understand better. The maintainance of this old hotel is not good. The cleaness is bad. The Wine list of the main Restaurant (Donna Franca Florio) is vast, however, they do not have most of the listed wines. We had two dinners and one lunch and they did not have 12 of the wines I ordered. So, I gave up and had to accept the suggestions of the sommelier, by the way, not a very pleasent person.This hotel definitely does not worth the rates that they charge.

Room Tip: Choose another hotel
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vladimir de Sou... V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Villa Igiea G, General Manager at Grand Hotel Villa Igiea - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2017

Dear Mr. Vladimir,
Thank you for sharing your feelings following your recent stay at the Grand Hotel Villa Igiea.
I am veru sorry for the disappointing experience you had, mostly for the reduced wine choice. Please rest assured that I will take appropriate measures to solve the issue and avoid similar circumstances.
Thank you again for poiting it out and I truly hope you will give Villa Igiea another opportunity in the near future.
Sincerely
Vito Giglio
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 20, 2017

We enjoyed our stay at the Villa Igiea. We had a very spacious suite with a large balcony overlooking the harbor filled with luxury yachts. The room was comfortable and well equipped, the bathroom was good size, except the shower was a bit cramped. We enjoyed evening cocktails on the deck each evening but otherwise did not eat at the Hotel. Its location precludes walking to most of the sights of Palermo.

Stayed: July 2017
Thank erich802
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Villa Igiea G, General Manager at Grand Hotel Villa Igiea - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2017

Dear Guest,
Thank you for sharing your positive feelings regarding Grand Hotel Villa Igiea.
I truly hope to welcome you once again in the near future.
Kind regards
Vito Giglio
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 20, 2017

We stayed here for 2 nights and were so thankful for this little haven in the midst of chaotic Palermo. The hotel is outside of the center of Palermo, with a free shuttle service into the town. I loved staying outside Palermo because the city of Palermo itself is just chaotic and kind of dirty. The hotel service is wonderful and they go above and beyond to meet your needs. I loved the staff- all very kind and accommodating. Absolutely gorgeous breakfasts each morning and beautiful grounds. The hotel itself is a little dated and the rooms could be updated, specifically the bathroom but overall wonderful little place. My husband and I rented a car and parked it for free here, great home base if you would like to explore the much more beautiful town of Cefalu about 1 hour away.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Mary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Villa Igiea G, General Manager at Grand Hotel Villa Igiea - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this reviewResponded July 21, 2017

Dear Ms Mary,
It is such a beautiful feeling knowing that you felt as you were in heaven.
We strive day by day to deliver an authentic and memorable stay to our valuable Guests.
That is why your satisfaction is the best award we could ever receive.
Thank you again for sharing it and we are looking forward to welcoming you again.
Sincerely
Vito Giglio
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews