We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Central Palermo but certainly only 2 star”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Cristal Palace Hotel
Ranked #51 of 101 Hotels in Palermo
Perth
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Central Palermo but certainly only 2 star”
Reviewed 23 September 2009

From the time we arrived there has been dissappointment after dissappointment. The initial greeting is anything but professional; the concierge was put out to serve guests being in conversation with hotel colleagues. Coupled with the blatent false advertising on the web site, where the hotel logo has 4 stars but on arrival the logo is now associated with 3 star and as i have titled it is more like a b-rated 2 star. The room window faced the services area where all you could see was pipes, ducting and emergency evacuation ladders, a great way to wake up every morning on a long anticipated holiday......NOT. The shower was not operating properly and everytime someone in the hotel flushed the toilet the shower went scoulding hot. The house keeping had no concept of being courteous as they made excessive noise slamming doors and talking loudly early in the morning. The breakfast is not worth making your way down to eat. On the other hand there are ample restaurants in the close vacinity and are of a quite high standard. To summarise do not stay at this hotel unless you are very willing to compromise and be tolerant. NEVER AGAIN!

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KJB_Perth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

399 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    74
    137
    118
    43
    27
See reviews for
50
154
27
67
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Long Beach
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2009

This hotel was fine. It did, however, have a great location. The internet fee's were a little high and some of the common area's needed a good scrubbing.

Stayed June 2009, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank N2PKG4U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2009

This was one of many stops that my father and I made this summer as part of a graduation trip.

First off, I would like to echo what a few other people said: Take the bus from the airport. Some taxi driver wanted $75 to go to the hotel, when the bus was only $5 or so. Just ask the nice driver where Via Roma street is, and then ask people on the street for the hotel direction. On another note, we got around Palermo by using the sight seeing bus that picks up just a few blocks from the hotel.

The lobby is a very nice place, and the hotel itself is in a very nice part of town, with an ATM directly across the road. The staff was friendly and helpful, and they do take your passport for a short time... Do make sure you get it back quickly. There is luggage storage downstairs, a computer that you can use for a small fee, and a place to eat that we never made use of.

We actually stayed twice in this hotel. Once, we stayed for 2 nights. We left Palermo for another part of Sicily, and then returned for a final night. The first time around, we had a very large room with a great bathroom. The view was facing a building, but that was no great loss to us. The tv appeared to be like US satellite, and we were about to pick up some English channels. However, when we returned for our final night, the room appeared to be a touch smaller, and no satellite television... This was kind of disappointing. If you really are going overseas to watch tv, and want a better range of channels, I would email them and request them, because apparently not every room has them.

Overall, the staff was nice, the rooms were clean, and the location was quite good. I would love to stay here again.

  • Liked — Nice staff, clean rooms, good location
  • Disliked — Lack of channels that we had the first time
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Supervioletrays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2008

I would have loved to write a review of this hotel but, unfortunately, am unable to do so. On arrival, despite a confirmed booking made weeks in advance, we were told that there was a 'problem' and that there was no room available. There was no explanation of what this 'problem' was. Without being consulted we had been been booked, by them, into the Mercure a few blocks away. There ws no offer of assistance to carry the bags back to the car. My comment, in Italian, that I was not particularly happy about this was met with a very sarcastic "mi dispiace".

However, the Mercure turned out to be a delightful hotel – very good room with a view and an excellent barman who, despite the fact that it was now around 10.30pm, rustled up some toasted sandwiches for us.

My advice - cut out the middleman and book the Mercure direct!

  • Stayed October 2008
    • Value
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DoctorOxford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Palermo hotels

Madrid
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2008

I agree with the other reviews. The is a nice 3 star hotel in a good location. The rooms are clean and comfortable and the staff and helpful and friendly.

Tip: If you're coming from the Airport by bus, get off at the stop in Piazza Castelnuovo (Near the corner of Via Emerico Amari and Via Roma) - it's a 5 min walk to the hotel (Note: The return bus leaves on the other side of piazza). If you stay on the bus until the train station, you'll end up having to walk back 30 mins down Via Roma.

  • Liked — Location
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aussie_Traveller3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2008

1. Excellent location on Via Roma - great shopping, restaurants, near to train station (but taking a cab cost us 10euro after we refused to pay 15 euro before getting into the cab for a less than 2km ride), walkable distance to Quattro Canti and Cathedral.
2. Room - new refurbishment, double glazed windows, CNN on tv (the only english channel but better than nothing!).
3. Great service - reception staff speaks english (the tall guy at reception was very friendly and helpful and speaks great english), restaurant staff very friendly as well.
4. Cheap internet - where else can you find a hotel which provides wifi for 3euro/hour?
5. Restaurant - we felt tired and lazy arriving late in the evening and went for dinner in the hotel restaurant. The set 2 course menu was 12 euro that included a primi and secondi PLUS a side and dessert!!! But don't expect michelin star standard food here.

  • Liked — Cheap internet and great location
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Nonblondie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
172 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2008

The Cristal Palace Hotel is a no-nonsense good value hotel right in the old part of Palermo, and an excellent base to explore the sights of the city.

Finding the hotel by car was an achievement in itself, given the traffic-from-hell experience that is Palermo (the word “bedlam”. I am told, derives from the name of the Hospital of St. Mary of Bethlehem, London, which was an insane asylum. Could “palermam” be used to describe an insane, out-of-control traffic system ?)

Managed to find a parking space directly outside the hotel, but was shooed away by the hotel staff to an overnight parking garage, which cost 12 euro. Could find no explanation for this (unless staff were keeping these spaces for themselves) but didn’t mind the expense in knowing that the car was safe.

The hotel room was clean, air-conditioned, with TV, minibar and a decent bathroom. Not much more I can say about it. Room cost was 85 euro for a double, which was reasonable. The location is good, being within walking distance of the main activities of the city – the port, opera house, cathedrals, shopping streets etc.

Breakfast was standard fare, even if the basement breakfast room was a bit gloomy, and the staff not exactly full of life. But then, they had Palermo’s traffic to face, so can you blame them ?

  • Liked — Central location
  • Disliked — Traffic
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dec105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Palermo hotels
Politeama
Mercure Palermo Centro
Mercure Palermo Centro
#14 of 101 in Palermo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,750 reviews
Politeama
Artemisia Palace Hotel
Artemisia Palace Hotel
#5 of 101 in Palermo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 616 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Politeama Palace Hotel
#7 of 101 in Palermo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,186 reviews
Hotel Garibaldi
#25 of 101 in Palermo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,037 reviews
Hotel Joli
#24 of 101 in Palermo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 579 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cristal Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cristal Palace Hotel

Property: Cristal Palace Hotel
Address: Via Roma 477 a/d, 90139, Palermo, Sicily, Italy
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Palermo > Palermo > Politeama
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#28 Luxury Hotel in Palermo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Cristal Palace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the historical center of the city of Palermo, the Cristal Palace Hotel is ideal resting for the visit of the city. Its intense history passes through civilization and different and conflicting dominations, that have determined the various faces of it: the rich Arabic city with the magnificent palaces to the center of luxuriant tropical gardens, the cultured and refined Palermo of Fred II, the Baroque city and the Palermo liberty and elegant. The HALL is very simple, with a minimal style that makes the pleasant structure, adjust to a guest leisure and business and is an elegant place to the demands of the guest. The restaurant of the Cristal Palace Hotel proposes to own guests a various choice of typical and national dishes, as the example of the culinary art of our earth. Our restaurant has an original Menu but also a simple Menu characterized from the Mediterranean cuisine. Cristal Palace Hotel is perfect to organize different congresses. The hotel will have a room equipped for meeting and congresses with maximum capacity up to 100 people. In the Cristal Palace Hotel we have two Junior suite. The Junior Suites are realized in a big spaces. It will be characterized by an angle reading, with a desk, usable also as plan job. Separated bath in two parts with a of Tub whirlpool bath and Shower. The Cristal Palace Hotel is sure the hotel for every person: the tourist or the business man here will find a good hospitality. Because in the Cristal Palace, the hospitality is at home!!!!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity.ca, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Cristal Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cristal Palace Palermo
Hotel Cristal Palace
Palermo Cristal Palace
Cristal Palace Hotel Palermo, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing