We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (204)
Filter reviews
204 results
Traveller rating
162
31
5
3
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
162
31
5
3
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews private entrance central location pastries within easy walking distance apartment kitchenette
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 204 reviews
Reviewed February 13, 2017

We had separate entry with our own set of keys. Room was very specious (in fact it was two adjoining rooms as we had triple room booked). It was cleaned up everyday.
Rosalia is an amassing host. She baked her own cakes every morning for our breakfast. Her coffee was the best I ever tasted! She also helped us with everything we needed help with. The building itself is very interesting being converted from the old paper factory.
We also had kitchenette, so making our tea was not an issue. It was our truly "home away from home" in Palermo.

Room Tip: Breakfast is cakes and pastries, yogurt, some cold cuts and coffee/tea/hot chocolate
  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tanya L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 20, 2016

It is centrally located, but is difficult to find, person we dealt with via email spoke English but when we arrived we were greeted by a nice lady, but she didn't speak any English, so we were unable to communicate at all; very dark and stuffy room, no screens on windows, lots of mosquitoes, no privacy. We ended up leaving and finding a hotel. I don't like leaving poor reviews, just don't want others to be as disappointed as we were.

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Joann R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 2, 2016

Nice hotel, close to city center and transport. Airport Express right outside the front door. Good breakfast with free choice of coffee, and some 'real food' like ham and selection of cheese together with the mamelades. Very firendly staff.

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Atle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 23, 2016

my wife and I stayed here for 2 nights at start of our Sicily trip. Before our stay the owner Rosi was very helpful giving us directions to the B&B as i had read that it is hard to find so we had no problems walking to it from the train station which was only 10 minutes away. Ai Cartari is in a great location in the La Kalsa district a minute walk from some great restaurants and bars and shopping streets. Our room was the downstairs room which was huge with large double bed with lots of wardrobe space and a lounge area with sofa's we also had with our own private door/gate onto a small square. There was also a strong free wifi connection in the room. our problem with our room was the lack of privacy and that we had no control over the a/c. Our room was downstairs beneath the dining area and Rosi's own living area but there is no wall seperating the two areas at the stairs only a curtain and the bathroom which is underneath the stairs is not covered by the curtain so it is possible for people upstairs to see down into the bathroom and also every conversation can be heard. The a/c is centrally contolled by Rosi and we had to ring her to turn it on which is a hassle and then it is turned off during the night, which as we are from Ireland and not used to any heat was a problem for us. Maybe if we had stayed in a different room upstairs i would give better than an average score.

Room Tip: for more privacy dont book the downstairs room
  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank GerbinhoPower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 23, 2015

Initially difficult to find as not advertised as a B&B on the outside of the building, we were just greeting by a locked door and a choice of 5 or 6 doorbells, none of which say the owner's name.
Once we gained access we were amazed at how spacious the building was inside.
The location was superb, right on the edge of the historic, picturesque, bustling part of the city.
Breakfast was fit for a king, far too much for 2 people.
My only complaint would be the fact that we could not adjust the air conditioning in the apartment. The building temperature was controlled by the owner for the whole building and being Italian she obviously didn't find the temperature too hot, unlike us poor Brits who were wilting in the heat.

  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
Thank wendianne64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews