We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good location, service incredibly poor!” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Politeama Palace Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Politeama Palace Hotel
Ranked #9 of 101 Hotels in Palermo
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
156 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Good location, service incredibly poor!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2011

Firstly, we arrived very late at night, two young women and had pre booked an airport transfer direct with the hotel. Not only did the taxi not arrive, when we rang them / arrived at the hotel there was no apology. We'd purposefully pre booked a transfer as we'd been advised that the taxi rank closed at midnight and we wanted to be sure we had safe transport. On the next day we wanted to visit Marsala on the bus and the receptionist eventually looked up the bus times for us online and told us the bus stopped directly outside the hotel and we could purchase our tickets on board. We dutifully stood in the scorching heat for 35 minutes only to see the bus drive past us, as it in fact stopped a lot further down the street at a different time to when we'd originally been informed. We eventually found the stop and someone sent us to a nearby bar where we had to purchase tickets before we boarded the bus. An hour and a half later we were on our way to Marsala! 

Generally, the hotel was ok. Not really a 4 star hotel. Receptions are unhelpful and not sufficiently knowledgable of the area for tourists and do not appear to want to find out basic information (e.g. bus times). Breakfast is fine, European buffet style. Room is clean but the shower could be nicer with a more appropriate shower curtain. No safe in room. Good location but I wouldn't stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank littletraveller85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,133 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    382
    516
    166
    53
    16
See reviews for
161
426
87
200
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2011

We decided to stay in this Hotel as the bus from the airport stops in front of the hotel. We were very pleased to find out it was exactly correct. The hotel is near to the centre of the town and there are several bus stops to all different parts of the town. It is easy to be found and it is walking distance from the historic hot spots. The room was on a smaller size and a bit dark, but spotlessly clean. The bed was comfortable and the noise from a busy square did not really bother us. The breakfast was very good but the space in the restaurant was limited. Over all perfect hotel for travelers looking to spend the days outside and get a good night sleep at the end of the day. Would stay here again!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Iris78_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marino, Italy
Level Contributor
54 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2010

The location of the Hotel was very good, walking distance from old city center and in front of the bus stop for the airport connection. The room was clean and big, but a bit expensive (single room, 90 euro - booked on internet). During the night it was noisy (the window of my room overlooked a busy square). Satellite tv in the room.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Spikeit80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
Level Contributor
77 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2010

This hotel is in a great location, the hop on/hop off bus was right across the street. Capo market was a 5 minute walk away. Lots of places and stores were in close proximity to walk to. The staff was incredible and went out of their way to help me. One evening, I wanted to get a coffee from the bar but it was not going to open for another hour so the front desk clerk went and made me an espresso and it was superb. Talk about great customer service!! On the downside, this hotel is rated 4 stars but it very old and in major need of some remodeling and modernization.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ChgoFoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
guadalajara
Level Contributor
35 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2010

I´d say that its location is the main point, that is city center. Quite good price for a dark but spacious room, recently painted though curtains belong to the time of the hotel inauguration. A noisy air conditioned system did not help to have a quite sleep. .
Average and standard breakfast and correct staff.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JUANMA_1312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Littlehampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
286 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 358 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2007

I stayed here for four nights. I had booked a single room which was very small but clean and with a view of the mountains. Unfortunately the main light didn't work, one of the hinges on the plastic toilet seat was broken causing it to swivel when sat on (a very unpleasant awakening first thing in the morning!) and there was no tea or coffee in the room which I would expect for a four star hotel. I was told I couldn't have an evening meal in the hotel as the restaurant was now closed in the evenings! The second night, my bedcovers disappeared, apart from a sheet! I noticed the sheets smelled of cigarette smoke.
On the positive side, the hotel is perfectly situated for the airport bus and the hop on sightseeing bus and is within walking distance of the major sites. The staff were efficient and helpful.
I hate having to write a negative review but I expected better from a four star hotel and I also feel it is unfair to other TA members not to be honest.

  • Liked — Ideally situated for airport bus
  • Disliked — room facilities not well maintained
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank debdancing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
127 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2007

Booked this hotel online for the last night of our stay in Sicily - mainly because the bus stop for the airport bus is right outside the door. Good price for a double room, compared with other places in Palermo, and we actually got a huge room with a third bed in it.
The hotel lobby is bright and welcoming, if a bit tired. Reception staff very helpful, and porters very efficient. Lifts tiny - and take forever to arrive at peak times or when people have lots of luggage. Room key gave access to a hallway with doors onto the bedroom and bathroom, and containing lots of cupboard space. Bedroom large, plenty of storage, nice windows with view of the theatre and square, small minibar/fridge. Beds comfy, room quiet, didn't need earplugs, slept well here. Bathroom biggish, clean, and functioned well. Only quibble was with the shower - you had to hold the shower head while showering as there was nowhere to attach it to on the wall. Pressure was good though. Plenty of towels and toiletries provided. Breakfast was good - plenty of fruit, yoghurt, meat and cheese. Some nice pastries and three juices to choose from. Cereals poor, but overall there was enough choice. As I mentioned, the bus stop to leave for the airport is right outside, plenty of other buses stop outside for the rest of Palermo as well. About a 10 min walk to the ferry terminal, and lots of small eateries nearby, so a great location. The decor is a bit tired, and there was a slight smell of cigarettes in the corridors (although not in the room), but an excellent choice for the money.

  • Liked — Location near to airport bus stop and theatre
  • Disliked — Slight cigarette smell in corridors and tiny lifts
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Outinthemiddaysun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Palermo hotels
Politeama
Artemisia Palace Hotel
Artemisia Palace Hotel
#4 of 101 in Palermo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 584 reviews
Alma Hotel
#1 of 101 in Palermo
5.0 of 5 bubbles 378 reviews
Tribunali
Grand Hotel Piazza Borsa
Grand Hotel Piazza Borsa
#3 of 101 in Palermo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 615 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Massimo Plaza Hotel
#7 of 101 in Palermo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 478 reviews
Hotel Porta Felice
#5 of 101 in Palermo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 777 reviews
Palazzo Reale
Quintocanto Hotel & Spa
Quintocanto Hotel & Spa
#10 of 101 in Palermo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 583 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Politeama Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Politeama Palace Hotel

Property: Politeama Palace Hotel
Address: Piazza Ruggero Settimo 15, 90139, Palermo, Sicily, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Palermo > Palermo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Palermo
#8 Luxury Hotel in Palermo
#11 Business Hotel in Palermo
#16 Romantic Hotel in Palermo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Politeama Palace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel Politeama Palace enjoys a central position in Palermo, in front of the Teatro Politeama, one of the most prestigious European theatres, nearby the shopping streets, the harbour and the terminal bus from/for the airport. The property central position will allow you to discover this marvellous city, where every alley, road or square preserves a work of art, testifying the glorious past of Palermo, meeting point of the greatest civilisations and cultures of all time. The area is full of restaurants, bars and shops. The structure offers comfortable rooms and many services such as a bar serving light meals and two meeting rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Politeama Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Politeama Palace Palermo
Hotel Politeama Palace
Politeama Palace Hotel Palermo, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing