We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful place to stay in Palermo”
Review of Ambasciatori Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ambasciatori Hotel
Ranked #10 of 98 Hotels in Palermo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 May 2012

We stayed here for 4 nights in May. The room was spacious and spotless. The staff was very friendly and gave quite a few good suggestions about the places to eat.

The location is very convenient and central - easy to walk to the train station and you are already in the center so walking to 4 corners takes 10 minutes.

The best part of course is the terrace - the view is incredible, you cannot stop taking pictures of the roofs and domes!

I would definitely recommend staying here!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank goshan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,228)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

421 - 427 of 1,228 reviews

Reviewed 13 May 2012

We stayed here for the final 2 nights of our honeymoon and were not disappointed! The roof terrace for early evening cocktails is one of the best ways to see the city of Palermo away from the hustle and bustle of the busy streets. 5 cocktails cost €32 was a bit extravagant but well worth it!
The breakfast was lacking in fresh fruit and lacks variety if you stay there for longer than 2/3 days. We found the cappucino and the regular coffee very weak- it may even have been instant!
The room was spotlessly clean, very quiet considering the noisy road and had a spacious bathroom. Most of the staff spoke English and were friendly and helpful.
All in all, we would stay there again and recommend it!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JRR32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StaffAmbasciatori, Staff at Ambasciatori Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2012

Dearest Guest,
from all the hotel staff, thank you! Thanks for leaving this positive advise about the hotel, the terrace, the lounge bar and breakfast.
We all strive together to improve the quality of the holiday of our customers, and we like to be friendly and helpfull hoping to leave a good memory of us and our city .
Thank you again
kindest regards
The staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2012

We stayed at the Ambasciatori for two nights in Palermo and loved it. The central, walkable location was great. The staff was very friendly, helpful, and professional. The terrace with amazing views of Palermo was unbeatable. Our room was small, but had some charm and was a great value for the money. The breakfast was wonderful with oranges and a machine to squeeze your own juice. I had a hard time picking out a place in Palermo since many of the famous seem way off the beaten track. We could walk to nice places for dinner, the Teatro Massimo and various downtown sights. A classy place. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KarenH224
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2012

I stayed here with my friend during our trip to Sicily. We had actually planned on staying here the whole week, but then found out from others that Palermo really isn't a nice place to spend an entire week. We changed the booking from 7 nights to 3 nights without any problems.
I can't really think of anything to complain about, the staff were great, the room was fine, epic breakfast with the possibility to squeeze your own juice one of the mornings, right on Via Roma which made it easy to find upon arrival, and so on.
Oh, and we got the best olives we've ever eaten with our wine one lovely evening on the roof terrace! :)

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank miks89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2012

Be sure to read "HoodedBanoonigan's" review of Ambasciatorri from March 2012 (also be sure to read the hotel's response, which was nicely handled, I thought). We experienced everything HoodedBanoonigan so humorously wrote about with regard to Palermo. The city is a pit of trash blowing all over the place, and Via Roma has mounds of dog crap in the parks - apparently nobody cleans up after their dogs in this city.

There are a few worthy museums and beautiful buildings, but Palermo is just so strange in that it has so much wasted potential when you consider the postcard-perfect view from the rooftop terrace at Ambasciatori Hotel.

We had a very good experience at Ambasciatori Hotel. Truly, the only memorable thing from Palermo for us is the view from atop the Ambasciatori, albeit an insidious illusion masking the filth of the city at street level. I was assured several times there was not a strike, that the amount of trash was "normal".

Back to Ambasciatori, we experienced excellent service from the staff (the ancient elevator is another story) who were prepared to recommend a few good restaurants that were open, after we were disappointed to find the five top-rated TripAdvisor restaurants we called were all closed on Easter and the day after.

Our room was spacious, clean and nicely appointed. The rainforest showerhead left a bit to be desired in terms of water pressure. The combo entry/electricity card worked very nicely for us, in fact sometimes those card-keys are trouble and this worked better than any I've had previously. And what a joy to not have to visit reception to leave the key every time you want to leave the hotel. Then again, in Palermo, the hotel room is the cleanest part of town!

Ambasciatori is a ten-minute walk to the train station, and also fairly close to most of the sites in town.

If you do visit Palermo, I would recommend the HOHO bus to get oriented - we usually combine a good deal of walking with the HOHO to get oriented, but Palermo is not a walking town, unless you don't mind dodging trash tumbleweeds and dog feces in many stages of decay.

When traveling we like to rank how much we want to revisit each town and Palermo was the first city we both ranked zero.

Having said this, given this should be a review of the hotel and not the city, I would gladly stay again at Ambasciatori Hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank IntrepidFromDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StaffAmbasciatori, Staff at Ambasciatori Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2012

Dearest Sir,
thank you for choosing Hotel Ambasciatori and for leaving your advise for us. However we are sorry, as citizens , about the way you found our city . We know that it's no perfect but we passed a bad Easter indeed, because the city had many strikes on that period and the information you received were wrong, infact it's not normal to have many trash on the streets .
We hope you will change you mind giving us another possibility , we are sure that you will remind our city for its beauties, architectural and artistic works of art and not just for its failing.
Kindest regards
The staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2012

Don't expect to find reception at the ground level - it's on the 5th floor. The hotel is a part of an apartment building in central Palermo; some of the apartments are still used as such, others have been converted into hotel rooms. From the 5th floor, where the reception is, you can also reach roof terrace, with majestic views of Palermo and surroundings. The breakfast is served there as well; the high point is a huge basket with oranges and a juice-maker, so you make your own fresh oj. The room is ok, quite basic but completely adequate and clean. Based on the room alone I would have ranked it 3*, but the very central location, plus the roof, plus the unusual arrangement increase my evaluation. The staff is very nice and friendly too.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SKTT09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2012

We spent several days here early in the year and were very pleased with the room and the staff. We flew into Palermo airport and the shuttle bus dropped off at the railway station about four hundred metres if that from the hotel so an easy walk. the airport shuttles also tm very regularly, every 30 mins I think. the staff were very friendly and helpful us, we arrived late at night and they provided several suggestions of restaurants close by where we ate well. our room was spacious and clean, it faced inwards but no problem, I didn't go there to look out of the window. breakfasts are served on the top floor with magnificent views and even warm enough to sunbathe. the streets behind are ancient and rambling, with many restaurants but not always easy to locate but we found all the recommend. and one and really enjoyed our meals.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank debcox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Palermo hotels
Tribunali
Grand Hotel Piazza Borsa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Politeama Palace Hotel
#11 of 98 in Palermo
1,314 reviews
Alma Hotel
#1 of 98 in Palermo
482 reviews
Palazzo Brunaccini
#9 of 98 in Palermo
539 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ambasciatori Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ambasciatori Hotel

Address: Via Roma 111, 90133, Palermo, Sicily, Italy
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Palermo > Palermo > Tribunali
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Palermo
#9 Luxury Hotel in Palermo
#10 Romantic Hotel in Palermo
Price Range: $82 - $406 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ambasciatori Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Ambasciatori Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ambasciatori Hotel Palermo, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing