We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (595)
Filter reviews
595 results
Traveller rating
225
243
88
31
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
225
243
88
31
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviews street noise old world classic hotel old style breakfast buffet the hotel staff bring earplugs mini bar opera house old palace pastries fourth floor central location large bathroom main sights air conditioning wi fi
Filter
Updating list...
29 - 34 of 595 reviews
Reviewed March 3, 2018

Nothing modern here -- just good old European luxury like you see in the movies. Location is very good, rooms are just fine, wifi works great. Makes you think that you are back in an earlier century. Not run down at all but i am sure that it costs quite a lot to keep it in this good condition.

The only small complaint is that the breakfast buffet could be better.

We would stay there again.

Room Tip: Classic European luxury
  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank waynebT8122ZJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 26, 2018 via mobile

I was recommended this hotel as one of the best in Palermo and although the looks are of a vintage luxury hotel the flavour I was left with at checkout was just of vintage. Technology in the rooms is obsolete. The air is very dry and fluctuates through the night from tropical hot to Siberian cold. The thermostat in the room seems to be part of the golden forniture rather than a functioning item. Double beds are composed by 2 very hard mattresses rather thank one and pillows feel old and hard. The shower is fit for a one star hotel, no water pressure and scaled-up shower heads make the experience rather dreadful after a bad night sleep.
Breakfast is half decent although not fit for a 5 star hotel.

If possible avoid

Stayed: February 2018, travelled on business
3  Thank Federico E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 16, 2018

This hotel is very old world and the furniture and fittings complement the era. We had a very good size corner bedroom with three large windows which we could open. The hotel is well located with everything being in walking distance. The choices at breakfast were good and varied. We weren't able to have breakfast on our last morning as we had a very early flight. We asked reception the day before if we could have a breakfast pack. To our shock and surprise they said no!! How difficult is it to put some yoghurt, juice, water and fruit into a bag?! We have stayed at many fine hotels around the world and never encountered this before if we've had to leave early. The hotel goes into lock down after a certain time with most guests having retired to their rooms. Surely it would give a staff member something to do!! As very little is open in the early hours of the morning it would have been nice to have had something to eat!!

Stayed: January 2018
1  Thank Gayfitz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 3, 2018 via mobile

The hotel location is perfect, rooms are clean, everything works, hotel facilities are nice and as you see from the pictures the hotel looks quite nice inside. The breakfast is good but not great, maybe not 5 Star. The service is good but great, maybe not 5 Star. The rooms and more or less every other areas of the hotel looks good but a bit like they had better days ...
Still in Palermo a good choice - at least in these days price value was ok.

Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Jws_fra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 29, 2017

Spent two comfortable nights in Grand Hotel Wagner with our adult daughters. Both rooms were clean and well appointed. a bit noisy if you leave the window shutter open - but that is Palermo at its best. The hotel is old but renovated well and has good amenities in the room. Clean and a good value. Best part is the location, within. block of the main shopping areas and walking distance to all major attractions. Roberto at the front desk was gracious and helpful. Breakfast buffet had something for everyone

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank defman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews