We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Hotel in Ortigia”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Royal Maniace Hotel
Ranked #16 of 75 Hotels in Syracuse
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 March 2012

Spent 4 nights here in early March and we were delighted. Staff couldnt have been more helpful even giving us what may well have been the best room in the house, sea view , balcony...
We had dinner and breakfast served on our balcony which caught the morning sun.
Excellent food. They found some of the famous red prawns at very short notice. Cooking was simple, unflashy and very accomplished. Try the trophie pasta with porcini.
Gianni the waiter was efficient and charming.
Everything one wants and needs in a small modern hotel.

Room Tip: Check for balcony you can sit out on. Room 111 had this and was charming. Shower not Bath though.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Alex186370
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (464)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

163 - 169 of 465 reviews

Reviewed 6 February 2012

The staff were very warm and courteous in emails prior to our visit. I asked for the seaview room on the top floor and that's exactly what we got. Great views over the Ionian Sea from the balcony doors. The plumbing is looking a little bit tired, and the square Althea toilet seat doesn't fit any human anatomy I'm aware of, but everything was great overall. Wooden floors were a nice "warm" change from the tile every else (it was January), they they felt a little gritty.

There's an elevator, and two parking spaces out front (first come, first serve). Luca (AM) and Antonella (PM) at the front desk were very friendly and helpful. Breakfast includes a wide selection of sweet and savoury, though the fruit salad had been partially frozen, smelled a bit old, and the server was adding fresh fruit to it.

Great location for exploring Ortygia, and we could have watched the sunrise from our room if the skies had been clear.

Room Tip: Deluxe Room with Sea View on the top floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joe B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2012

I love staying in small hotels where the staff knows who you are and go out of their way for you. This was such a hotel. Antonella on the front desk did everything asked of her and more- always with a smile. Of course I also liked the accomodation- we had a junior suite (room 111) which was a bit sparse but had a balcony facing the sea. Unfortunately our childrens' room (124) had a sewage smell but apparently this is a common complaint of all hotels facing the sea and we were offered a change of room and dinner for 2 in the hotel in recompense.The breakfast was fantastic and the free wireless actually worked (unlike in many other hotels) I would definitely return here if I visit Sicily again.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelingaussie0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2011

We stayed 2 nights and were very pleased with the room and service. The hotel is right on the water in the old city. An easy and interesting walk to everything. Our room was very spacious and stylishly modern. The little restaurant served and excellent breakfast. We had the fixed priced dinner one night that was first rate. We were lucky to have a parking space right by the front dooe. Parking in the old city can be a challenge, so we were happy to leave the car in one spot for the two days we were there. We were very glad we decided to stay in the old city rather than further afield. It is a terrific place to explore on foot. Definitely recommend the Hotel Maniace, which is a good value for what's offered.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Friar4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2011

A small boutique hotel that was just the right size, in a breathtaling location in Ortigia, Siracusa.
The staff were welcoming and friendly, they even parked our car for us when we couldn't squeeze into the tiny parking spot outside the hotel. The room/suite was all Italian style, with a glorious terrace overlooking the Mediterranean, just right for an afternoon glass of prosecco whilst we watched the world go by.

Breakfasts were excellent, although I always find the Italian enthusisam for cakes and pastries at breakfast a little strange. We were sorry not to have sampled their fixed price evening meal, but somehow time got away from us.

We would certainly return to the Royal Maniace if we are ever back in Siracusa.

Room Tip: Try and get a room or suite overlooking the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Olivia4809
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2011

A perfect size of hotel to get personal and friendly approach. We were quite many in a group staying there at the same time, but already the second morning, I got my fresh orange juice and cappuchino without telling anybody. Stylish and cosy architecture and very fresh. Staff is extremely helpful whatever task. The fantastic seaview is bonus of course, but I was happy anyway. I stayed 7 days during November-December with mostly great weather.

Room Tip: Try to get seaview.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lars P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2011

This place deserves the ratings I had figured out on theis site.
Ortygia is obviously quite a place when it first get to park your car when you unload your luggages. But what a smooth process : reception clerk took the keys and simply managed.
Was so windy that late afternoon, waves getting on the shores were just incredible. What a view !
Location is just perfect to discover in a few hours the island and next door to quite some restaurants on Via Roma.
Breakfast is nice and this fresh organge juice was just perfect

Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
Thank jukala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Syracuse hotels
0.6 km away
Algila Ortigia Charme Hotel
0.7 km away
Grand Hotel Ortigia
Grand Hotel Ortigia
#17 of 75 in Syracuse
679 reviews
1.1 km away
Grande  Albergo Alfeo
Grande Albergo Alfeo
#11 of 75 in Syracuse
707 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Charme Hotel Henry's House
1.8 km away
Grand Hotel Minareto
Grand Hotel Minareto
#9 of 75 in Syracuse
1,308 reviews
4 km away
Hotel Caiammari
Hotel Caiammari
#7 of 75 in Syracuse
409 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Maniace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Maniace Hotel

Address: Lungomare d'Ortigia 13, 96100, Syracuse, Sicily, Italy
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Syracuse > Syracuse
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Syracuse
#7 Family Hotel in Syracuse
#8 Business Hotel in Syracuse
#10 Romantic Hotel in Syracuse
#14 Luxury Hotel in Syracuse
Price Range: $82 - $251 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Royal Maniace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity.ca, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Royal Maniace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Maniace Hotel Syracuse, Sicily, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing