We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,466)
Filter reviews
1,466 results
Traveller rating
883
319
156
69
39
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
883
319
156
69
39
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sandy beach pool area on the rocks sea view free shuttle service hotel shuttle poolside restaurant mount etna beautiful resort cost euros star resort sun loungers restaurant staff our honeymoon hire car breakfast buffet is minutes by car
Filter
Updating list...
67 - 72 of 1,466 reviews
Reviewed June 25, 2017

First impressions were good. The property is well maintained and attractive. We were well aware that it is quite isolated but that is fine by us as we intended to spend much of our time in the resort. The view over to Ortega is great as are the beach and swimming from the rocks. Our room was small but reasonably well appointed with a private patio. We did not use the pool as it was here that our concerns about service started. Our plan for a quick swim then sunbathing at around 4pm was thwarted when we found all the sun beds free but completely littered by the remains of lunch which no one had cleared away. I don't think sitting next to a plate of cold chips can be classed as a 5* experience! Pre dinner we fancied a drink and had read in the hotel brochure that there were 3 bars, however we quickly discovered that 2 were shut and so headed to the lobby bar. No barman! I had to ask a porter to find someone to serve us and we eventually got a very nice glass of wine before heading to the restaurant where we were given a nice table looking over the bay. I fancied another glass of the same lovely wine - but no, they don't serve that wine in the restaurant, only in the bar. What? Our food came and it was alright, not good, not bad. But the service continued to amaze us with its ineptitude. Breakfast next morning followed the same pattern - my husbands cappochino was dumped on the table without a word and without a saucer!! There is clearly a serious staff training issue.
Would I stay again and pay 5* prices? Only if management get a grip and deliver 5* quality.
PS to the management. Please don't respond to this with a list of excuses as in previous reviews. Do something!

Date of stay: June 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lambley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
simona C, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Grand Hotel Minareto, responded to this reviewResponded June 27, 2017

Dear Guest,

First of all, we would like to thank You for choosing our resort for Your holiday and for writing a feedback about Your experience.
We are very grateful for the beautiful words You dedicated to the structure, the panoramas, the terraces and room. At the same time, we regret to read that Your impressions were not fully positive, from every point of view.

Since we firmly believe that the margins of improvement, for a relatively young structure full of enthusiasm and ideas like our, are always infinite, we would like to thank You for Your precious feedback: it will be our care to introduce to the Management and Property the remarks You wrote, in order to examine and check every point and trying to improve the services offered. To receive suggestions, remarks or constructive criticisms is the best way to make a complete analysis of our work and pinpoint all that aspects, standards and services we need to improve.
So, we think we're on the right track to improve more and more on what we offer, and Your comment can only be of great help.

However, we would like to reply to a specific passage of Your feedback: we are always ready and glad to reply to every single feedback we receive here on TripAdvisor (as You can verify), from the best to the worst, and we are used to do it with complete honesty, clarity and humility, assuming our responsibilities wherever necessary and truthful to do so. You called “list of excuses” what, in truth, are detailed explanations of sometimes complex dynamics, that we want to make it known not only to those who have written, but also to those who read.
After all, TripAdvisor is like a public square, where everything and its opposite can be said; it is, therefore, absolutely natural that one structure answers by giving explanations, trying to tell its truth. We do not need excuses, because when we fail we admit it: constructive criticisms serve this, Tripadvisor should serve this.

Therefore, considering Your direct appeal to the management and the will, probably, to have a direct confrontation, we would like to invite You writing an email to our official contacts: Management and Property will be happy to talk to You.

Best Regards,
Simona – Customer Care Dpt.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 25, 2017 via mobile

We had a wonderful 7 days at the Grand Hotel Minareto. The hotel is situated in a beautiful location, with striking views over to Ortigia. We had a standard room which was more than adequate, plenty of room and very quiet, it's not often I sleep so well in a hotel! If you can afford to I would recommend getting a room with a sea view as it truly is magical, however our standard room was very conveniently located for the pool and the restaurant and we were very happy with it.

We dined in the restaurant 5 times and enjoyed each meal, yes the restaurant is quite expensive but the food was well cooked and nicely presented.

The beach is superb, with fine golden sand and crystal clear shallow waters, perfect for swimming and snorkelling. It is accessed via a fairly steep tunnel with no handrail, so make sure you wear sensible shoes!

All the staff were lovely, very friendly and helpful. I would certainly recommend this hotel for a relaxing and luxurious holiday in Sicily.

Date of stay: June 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Ellie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
simona C, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Grand Hotel Minareto, responded to this reviewResponded June 26, 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank You for choosing Grand Hotel Minareto and for sharing Your experience with all the readers on TripAdvisor.

Reading Your feedback, we are glad to notice that You perfectly listed and described not only the key factors of the resort, as the position, the views from the terraces, the double access to the sea, the rooms, but also additional factors as the great kindness and friendliness of the whole staff, the breakfast and pool side services, restaurant services and facilities and benefits: thanks to this, we understand that You really enjoyed and appreciated Your stay in our resort from different points of view and we are very delighted and satisfied You would like to come back in the future.

Concluding, we hope we will have the oppurtunity to host You once again as our kind Guest.
Best Regards,
Simona - Customer Care Dpt.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 25, 2017

Stayed here for one night. Location is superb, though a bit far from Siracusa.
Everything is clean and can be rated 4 star by international standards.
Exception: the rock beach is not very well taken care of. They also have a nice little sandy beach on the other side.
Details like a not working TV remote or weak Wireless shouldn't happen in a place that claims to be five star.
Restaurant serves good food, is a bit overpriced though.

Date of stay: June 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank AMG007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
simona C, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Grand Hotel Minareto, responded to this reviewResponded June 26, 2017

Dear Guests,

Thank You for choosing to be our Guest and for writing a feedback sharing Your experience.
We are happy to read You liked and enjoyed the location, the structure, the sandy and rocky beaches, although perhaps one day is too little to fully live a structure.
This is why, even though we believe Your comment is positive, we reply with a bit of bitterness: not because of the score, but because the details You mention could be explained and easily resolved asking for advice to the Front-Desk Staff, avoiding them becoming details that do not justify the 5 stars, in our opinion.
The operation of the remote control, indeed, could be checked and eventually replaced, in case of Your notification.

As regards the Internet connection, we currently have the maximum bandwidth which the national operator can provide in this area, the signal covers the whole resort and is everywhere excellent. It can rarely happen at some times of the day, when there is more data traffic and connected users, that the network is slightly weighted and the connection speed may be affected. This does not mean that You have no connection at all, but that pages will open with 1 second more than the usual standard.
This can happen anywhere in the world, especially in those regions that do not yet have the fiber, as ours.

Concerning the rocky beach, we do not fully understand the meaning of Your words: If You want to say that it is left in the sleepy state and not cared for, this is something we can contradict even with photographic evidence and with the appreciation of all the guests who love its natural beauty.
If You want to say that there are no bars or toilets, we would like to inform You that, being integral part of a marine reserve, it is absolutely forbidden to install infrastructures that can spoil the beauty of the place.

Concluding, we thank You once again for Your contribution, but we believe that confrontation is always constructive, especially if its absence can raise critical issues otherwise easily resolved.
Best Regards,
Simona – Customer Care Dpt.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 6, 2017

Staff couldn't have been more helpful, from organising hire care at reception to very attentive dining room and bar staff - especially Gabriella, Madu and others - making our stay very special. Excellent food and wines.
Wonderful location around the bay from Siracusa, with a twice daily minibus shuttle taking guests the 15 minute ride onto Ortigia. A secluded beach and beautiful views across the bay to Ortigia and Siracusa.
Our only small criticism was that the dinner menu remained unchanged during our 7 day stay

Date of stay: May 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 429louisek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reply17, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Grand Hotel Minareto, responded to this reviewResponded June 7, 2017

Dear Guests,

Thank You so much for choosing Grand Hotel Minareto and for writing such a positive and wonderful feedback about Your stay.

First of all, we would like to tell You that we are really glad to read a feedback which, apart from the score, gives useful and concrete suggestions to the readers and it perfectly described the life inside our resort.
So, thank You for appreciating location, structure of the resort, cleanliness and calmness, helpfulness and great kindness of the staff, restaurant and breakfast services and, in general, all the benefits offered.
As regards the dinner menu, we would like to inform You that our dinner menu usually remains in force for a predetermined time; then, we are used to renew it with more alternatives. In addition, every day our Guests have the possibility to choose a special dish of the day, based on the fresh raw materials available on that day.

Concluding, we really look forward to host You the future as our kind Guests, to enjoy once again the minareto experience.

Best Regards,
Simona – Customer Care Dpt.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 5, 2017

Perfect location if you want to visit Syracuse while staying in a quiet 5-star hotel with direct access to the sea and a resort feeling. It is exposed on two sides to the sea: North with a rocky cliff looking towards Ortigia, and plenty of places to install yourself comfortably, East with direct access to a lovely beach on a protected bay. The entire area is well laid out and very clean, and rooms are comfortable and nicely decorated.

Negative points from our stay:
- Service is OK but a bit impersonal. Many 5-star hotels manage to make you feel a valued guest rather than a customer, but not here.
- Breakfast offering is good but rather mainstream. You could find this kind of breakfast in any decent hotel all over the world.
- Administration for our stay was rather chaotic. A lot of staff internal discussions when we checked in, and they first had to go and verify that our room was actually ready (at ~ 6PM). It took around 20 minutes before we could go to our room. At checkout, staff made an embarrassing mistake by charging us the double of the reservation price. Fortunately this was corrected after a brief discussion, but such an incident stays in memory, though.

None of these were spoilers though, we had a good time and we certainly would recommend this hotel.

Date of stay: June 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pvaut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reply17, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Grand Hotel Minareto, responded to this reviewResponded June 5, 2017

Dear Guests,

We would like to thank You for choosing Grand Hotel Minareto as location for Your vacation and for dedicating part of Your time to write this feedback.
We are very glad to read You enjoyed and particularly appreciated both sandy and rocky beaches, as well as the the cleanliness of all the areas of the resort, and the rooms.

We regret to read You didn’t appreciate so much service and breakfast, but we understand that these are personal and subjective impressions and, as such, they have all the right to be expressed, but, as can be seen by reading Your words, they are not due to some unpleasant episode of which the resort is directly responsible.
By all means, they are precious suggestions we will introduce to the General Management.

As regards the mistake made by the Staff, we really sorry about that: despite it was a brief circumstance, we comprehend it was an episode to avoid.
Anyway, we hope that this will not compromise Your decision to come back in the future as our kind Guests.

Best Regards,
Simona – Customer Care Dpt.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews