We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
B&B Porta Marina
Nearby Hotels
Antico Hotel Roma 1880(Syracuse)
US$180
US$175
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$105
US$89
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Charme Hotel Henry's House(Syracuse)
US$227
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$104
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$200
US$194
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Palazzo del Sale(Syracuse)
US$179
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Posta(Syracuse)
US$95
US$84
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Charme Ares B&B(Syracuse)
US$84
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
B&B Residence L'Isola Che Non C'e(Fontane Bianche)
US$134
US$116
B&B.it
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 21% below average rates

The price you found is 21% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$147/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Algila Ortigia Charme Hotel(Syracuse)
US$325
US$307
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (195)
Filter reviews
195 results
Traveller rating
132
42
10
4
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
132
42
10
4
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscommunal tableoverlooking the marinacontinental selectiongreat locationlong tablewonderful hostscharming placetwo night staygenerous breakfastgreat recommendationsantique furniturehighly recommend this b bhistorical sitescakesrestaurants and barsreception areano lift
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 195 reviews
Reviewed September 19, 2017

This B&B was right in the centre of Ortigia next to the harbour. The view from our room was beautiful and to watch the sun set over the harbour was a dream. The B&B is typically Sicilian and very tastefully decorated. Parking can be done at the front of the B&B and is free if you park in the blue zones.
Breakfast was served every morning which was self serve. There was always lots to eat and lots of choice, especially cakes!! Very central for restaurants and bars and the harbour.

Room Tip: Try to get a room overlooking the harbour for beautiful sun sets
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lesley B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 5, 2017

This B&B was nice but could definitely be improved. The real highlight here was the breakfast, the cakes were particularly delicious! The location of the B&B is also completely fantastic, you can walk everywhere and there is free parking. Both members of staff were friendly and accommodating on the whole.
However- the images for this place on Booking.com are very misleading- for a start, it appears that there is a communal balcony and this was not the case. Moreover, it stated that the standard room had a balcony also. The only thing the standard room has is a long window which can be fully opened but only looks onto an opposite wall. This is also the only window in the standard room, which makes the room very dark.
As well as this, the room is very noisy- especially at night. 3 nights out of 4 we were not able to sleep until 2am because there is a bar very close by which plays loud music. When we told the staff about this, they appeared more offended at the complaint rather than apologetic.
The room is dated, the lights don't completely switch off properly at night and could do with some general maintenance.

I would suggest booking one of the three rooms with a balcony, as I'm sure the stay would be really perfect then- it was just the standard room which let the place down.

Room Tip: Breakfast is amazing.
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Modesally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 20, 2017

My husband and I stayed here 3 weeks ago, for 3 nights. We were greeted by a very pleasant young lady, who checked us in and told us where we could park the car. Parking is a big issue on Ortigia, but we were soon sorted. We had booked a double room, it was disappointing. Small, dull, stained bedspread, and no tea/coffee making facilities. However, the bed was comfortable, with crisp white linensheets. Balcony was only big enough to stand on, but then when you see other balconies they are all the same. Bathroom - small and the shower leaked, so we had to put towels on the floor. Breakfast was very good, plenty of choices. City view was a narrow alley and the adjacent property, which you could almost reach out and touch. Having visited Ortigia before we should have known how close the buildings are to each other, but I would not describe it as a 'city view'. We really enjoyed our stay, but wouldn't return to this B & B.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank CDH1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 10, 2017

There was no one on site to check-in. We had to wait outside in 40 degree heat after telephoning until the hostess came from her home (no apology).  Our arrival was 20 minutes earlier than we expected but surely you would have expected this to be possibility in running a B&B or at least would advised there was no one on site. Effectively this is just a room for rent. The room could only be described as 'adequate' at best... generally clean but bedspread was stained – we were put in what was described as a standard room… not well lit and quite dull with a view directly looking into the window on the other side of the street. No coffee or tea making facilities and no access to be able to boil water because the common area downstairs is locked when the hostess is not there. We were given keys and then the hostess disappeared, supposedly to return and provide breakfast at 8:00am which was confirmed, as we had to leave early for our flight. We wanted a minimum of 30 mins to relax, eat and have a coffee before our drive to the airport. We came down at 8:00 sharp and told to wait outside the locked cage because they were not ready. Had to leave so missed opportunity to have breakfast. Told both we were unhappy and all the hostess could do was to tell us we were at fault because the extra 10 or 15 minutes didn't really matter. Then when we protested this wasn't good enough she wouldn't stop yabbering at us. Very rude person who should learn basic and standard customer service techniques. There was no attempt to offer us the chance to have a partial breakfast, allowing us to help ourselves to what had already been laid out… this would have been far better than the hostess' continued protests that in her opinion, the delay should make no difference to us.  We said we would review accordingly and by the time we hit the airport we received an email saying the B&B had registered us as a 'no show'. Difficult claim for them to make as we have a signed receipt, credit card payment print out and pic of us sitting in the street sweating. Would never stay there again or recommend on principle. Disgraceful behaviour!

Room Tip: Ask for sea view as other rooms have no views at all.
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Arthur411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 27, 2017

Four nights in July 2017 at this little gem. Extremely helpful and friendly hosts. Simona is a legend and supplied some great recommendations. Really well located to all Ortygia and Syracuse attractions. So nice to stroll the nearby marina boardwalk most evenings. We had a nice 2nd floor room overlooking the marina. Excellent continental breakfasts. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Brent J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews