We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (384)
Filter reviews
384 results
Traveller rating
37
75
104
81
87
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
37
75
104
81
87
Show reviews that mention
All reviews nice hotel old town hotel is situated tub marco
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 384 reviews
Reviewed July 14, 2018 via mobile

By old I mean the room is in desperate need of a make-over. Pretty much everything thing seems to be from the time the hotel was built. Moldy, unhinged shower doors, asthmatic AC, old and inoperable TV, it all adds up to a room you don't want to be in. But it beats sleeping on a park bench, if you'd have to choose. Parking space is very limited, so best not to count on it too much, although personally I was able to park.
Breakfast was okay-ish; the usual cereal and watery juices, an assortment of sweets and buns, and some cheese, ham and salami. Please stay away from the 'american' coffee; if you thought an americano was an insult to Italian coffee this will gut punch it. Instead just order espresso or cappuccino, they'll happily bring you some.
Now the best part of the hotel is the location, just a few minutes away on foot is the historical part of the city, which offers plenty to see, do, eat and drink. Also the staff seemed nice.

Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank joeris746
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 9, 2018

I stayed here on a business trip. This hotel was quite old fashioned and dated and not much room in the bedroom. Big enough bathroom.

The bathroom shower door was broken and a little grubby. Overall the room was fine for a sleep and go out type of accommodation.

It was a little difficult to park at times, it states that there is parking however the whole time were there there was no parking for us to use even though we contacted the hotel before hand to ask to reserve.

You can park in certain spaces outside and round the back but finding a space in high season isn’t easy.

The staff were nice enough. The hotel included breakfast which was typical traditional continental. They offered a dinner but I recommend eating out. If you walk 15 minutes you can over the bridge into Ortigia where there are plenty of places to eat and drink.
Overall I would recommend to people who don’t want to stay in their room and want to get out, it’s a good base as its close enough to Catania airport.

This hotel wheelchair friendly, it has a wheelchair lift and also lifts inside.

Date of stay: June 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Peaches2889
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 29, 2018

the rooms are still with quite old furniture and still wall-to-wall carpets. the bathroom is also very old and the shower in te tub did not work at all.
the breakfast is not very selective, there is no real italian bread available and coffee is served in plastic cups.the servants are not very friendly too.
the positive side of the coin is the parking lot and the location, very close to the old town.

Date of stay: June 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DietmarSch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 9, 2018 via mobile

We stayed here with a group. Our check in was quick and courteous. The lifts are small and each can accommodate only three people at a time. Our room was on the fifth floor, clean and with adequate space. There was only one chair in a double room; unfortunately a widespread practise. The bathroom was also clean, spacious and well equipped. Bedding was of cotton it seemed, for it did not induce sweating. A huge plus point in my book. Traffic noise cannot be avoided, Siracusa is a busy place. However the air conditioning was quiet and adequate, allowing one to sleep with the window closed. Breakfast earned only two stars. The orange juice was insipid. On an island bursting with orange trees it should be possible to provide superior orange juice. There were four cereal dispensers, each containing the same cereal .... no choice. There was no fresh fruit, only the tinned variety. The hotel breakfast was a disappointing start to the day.
In summary, a reasonable city hotel spoiled by a lacklustre breakfast.

Date of stay: April 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank dinich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 4, 2017 via mobile

Jolly Aretusa Palace behaves like a 2/3 star hotel.

My room was adequate, but noisy neighbours and thin walls did not help.

The food was ok, dining room acceptable, bar good (if open), and position is ok for group travel.

The internet was generally unreliable, sometimes absolutely hopeless. The middle of the night was ok!

Most of what I saw was in need of some refurbishment, 1 lift out of order - 5 floors - patience needed.

The hotel enjoys pleasant cooperative staff, but facilities sometimes are shut eg bar when quiet, not so helpful for those few who are staying!

Suggest avoid if elsewhere is available.

Date of stay: October 2017
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank DavidFBristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews