We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Much more than just “going out to eat””
Review of Retroscena

Retroscena
Ranked #21 of 759 Restaurants in Syracuse
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$19 - US$46
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Reservations
Reviewed April 4, 2018 via mobile

Happened upon this lovely, little restaurant as it was near to our BnB. Received a warm welcome and was seated at one of just a few open tables. I imagine that a reservation is required to get near this place in the summer. The place is full of simple charm, helped by the perfectly warm lighting. Note the centerpiece light that also is a piece of “art” - beautiful. Speaking of warm, our server connected with us and made the total dining experience feel much more intimate and special. Apparently, she owns the restaurant with her husband. I had the pasta with lobster, which arrived hot and was so fresh and tasty!! My wife ordered a lovely looking delicious salad. The food tasted so fresh and “homemade.” We lingered for 2 and a half hours dining and chatting it up with a nearby person sitting at the table next to us. It was that kind of vibe and place. We left just before midnight with happy stomachs and minds - excellent.

Date of visit: April 2018
2  Thank Jollymon904
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (762)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

45 - 49 of 763 reviews

Reviewed March 19, 2018

A fellow guest recommended this restaurant and having followed their advice we returned for the remaining two evenings of our stay in Ortigia. Delicious food with a different twist -the Greek influence adding to the enjoyment of the fresh Italian flavours. Excellent value and service second to none. You won’t be disappointed.

Date of visit: March 2018
1  Thank Cathy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 31, 2017

Rretroscena was a delightful find on our last night in Syracuse, our ninth day in Sicily. The restaurant is owned by a lovely woman who works the floor with her cousin, and her husband, the chef. The room is intimate and comfortable, and is done with great taste and attention to detail. The service is warm, friendly and multi-lingual, and the food, based on local products that the chef uses expertly and deliciously, is exceptional. The wines are local and the bianco we had, per the owner's recommendation, was excellent. The restaurant, in its first year, should be on your list of favorites as it is on ours.

Date of visit: October 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank barr-abs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 29, 2017

Everything about this place is great - the food, the service, the space. Definitely a place I'd recommend to anyone visiting Syracuse. I had one of the best meals here that I've had in months!

Our waitress was super helpful - she translated all the specials to English and gave tips on all the wines on their menu.

I hope to be back in town so I can eat here again!

Date of visit: October 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank ezaia10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 14, 2017 via mobile

After a long day of travelling, we wanted an early dinner in a good place. Well this place was the right one. We went early, just around 19 o clock. We were the first, and the place looked a bit cold. But the sympathic 2 ladies serving made directly the difference. A warm welcome with a friendly talk. No rush no hurry. They present you patiently the table of the specialities of the day. The menu is full of interesting and even sophisticated dishes. They recommend excellent local wines. We had gamberi, shrimps, with feta and tomato sauce and a sword fish salad, both delicious. Afterwards we choose the octopus and the filete di manzo, again just excellent. A d to fill up the last space, a good house made cheesecake with red fruits and Canello of ricotta cheese and chocolate. All excellent and for a reasonable price.

Date of visit: October 2017
Thank 996stijns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Retroscena also viewed

Syracuse, Province of Syracuse
Syracuse, Province of Syracuse
 
Syracuse, Province of Syracuse
Syracuse, Province of Syracuse
 
Syracuse, Province of Syracuse
 

Been to Retroscena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing