We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Excellent location”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Casa Ella

Seated area to front
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Seated area to front
Spacious and private roof terrace Teatro-Greco and Mount Etna
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
54 reviews
Seated area to front
Spacious and private roof terrace
Teatro-Greco and Mount Etna
Taormina from Madonna della Rocca
Casa Ella
The house and street
Living room with balcony to front
Downstairs kitchen
Espresso time
Downstairs showeroom
Second floor hall landing
Large bedroom to rear
Large bedroom en-suite
Twin bedroom with balcony to front
Dining area to rear with kitchen and barbeque
Roof terrace kitchen
The neighbours, Erminia and Marcello
Bambar owner, Saro
The local baker
Cute
Isola Bella
Teatro-Greco
Piazza IX Aprile
The local cafe, Bambar. Try the granitas, buonissime!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Townhouse -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Taormina, Province of Messina, Sicily

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 54 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
English first
Italian first
Any
English first
tatsy74
Brooklyn, New York
Level 5 Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Excellent location”
Reviewed 13 November 2011 for a stay in September 2011
2
people found this review helpful

We stayed at Casa Ella in September this year. The house is as pictured: beautiful, modern and spacious, with a full kitchen, 2 bedrooms, 2 bathrooms with showers, 2 small balconies facing the street and a full roof deck that is especially lovely in the evening. The location of the house is excellent---a few feet away from the Corso Umberto itself, as well as Porto Messina (where you enter the main part of Taormina). There are very good restaurants and cafes located as soon as you step out the door. We enjoyed dinner at Myle restaurant, cappucinos and cornettos at Bam Bar and Licchio's, as well as many others. We were able to pick up a few kitchen supplies at the deli downstairs. The house also has some nice amenities, including rainfall showers, a built-in sound system throughout the house, laundry, air-conditioner in every room (even the kitchen!), and the rooms themselves are large and spacious. Original tile flooring decorates the rooms, and some cool marble decorate the stairs. There is ample storage and tasteful furniture in each room. Plenty of bedding, dinnerware and other basics are included.

The only disappointing experience we had was during the check-in process. We had instructions to text the owner upon arrival, but the SIM card we purchased for our phone could not be activated til evening. We tried calling the owner (who lives in the UK) repeatedly but he never answered. Finally we sought out an Internet cafe and contacted him via email to explain why we couldn't text him, to no avail. After nearly 2 hours of this, our SIM card finally kicked in and we were able to get a live response. Once in touch, the owner provided us with directions to the house---nothing like trying to figure out where you're supposed to be heading via directions by phone in an unfamiliar town. ('Head towards the taxi stand'---turns out there were two and we were going in circles for a bit.) In hindsight, directions or a map to the apartment provided ahead of time would have been helpful. The cellphone issue will not affect all travelers, just those who have to buy SIM cards. It would have been simpler to directly contact the person who eventually hands you your keys, but I'm sure the owners have their reasons for their chosen set-up; it's just unfortunate that the process did not run smoother for us.

Lastly, it seems that unlike the other reviewers on here, we were one of the few folks who didn't receive our deposits in time (within 2 weeks of check-out). After contacting the owner for inquiry, we received a reasonable explanation and eventually received our deposit about a month after we checked out. All other communication, during and after the booking process, was timely and thorough though---every email was answered immediately.

Overall, we would not hesitate to recommend the house, as it is an excellent value for the money, with so many extra benefits, but I would recommend a better arrangement for checking in. (The latter is probably not an issue for renters who opt for the airport pickup service.)

How helpful were the directions to the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Liked best: the rooftop terrace
Liked least: the check-in process
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hilterfingen, Switzerland
Reviewed 31 October 2011 for a stay in October 2011

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: everything
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Belfast, N Ireland
Reviewed 20 October 2011 for a stay in October 2011

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: everything about the house and its location
Liked least: having to leave!!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Brighton, England
Reviewed 11 October 2011 for a stay in September 2011
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location
Liked least: parking
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Reviewed 9 August 2011 for a stay in July 2011
3
people found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Travelling group: With Friends
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway A romantic getaway
Older travelers Families with young children
Tourists
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
StephenG6...
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“The best place to stay in Taormina”
Reviewed 29 July 2011 for a stay in July 2011
4
people found this review helpful

Right in the heart of Taormina we were situated amongs bars and restaurants as well as the local baker mini supermarket etc where all the people are really friendly and make you feel really like a local which does give you the real atmosphere of the town.The two people next door met us and showed us in which is a lovely modern refurbished house on for levels with all the floors in a cooling marble with a wonderfull feeling.All the amenities are as described with air conditioning, sitting room modern kitchen two bedrooms and bathrooms and then at the top this wonderfull roof terrace where you could sit and be lovely and peacefull or have a few friends up for some drinks just absolutely perfect in everyway.If you would like me to give it a mark for comfort and value I would certainly mark it 100 out of 100.I have asked Chris if we can book it for next year. Stephen German Audrey Pepperman

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway A romantic getaway
Tourists Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
giannipil...
Rome, Italy
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2018 for a stay in December 2017
Google Translation

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing