We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly and handy”
Review of Quarus Gym

Quarus Gym
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Closed for holidays from 2016/08/01 to 2016/09/04
Reviewed July 3, 2015

You can just pay per day, it's never busy and they are friendly and welcome tourists. It has all of the basic equipment - a great place to workout on holiday.

Date of experience: June 2015
Thank Fluffalicious
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (17)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"free weights"
in 2 reviews
"resistance machines"
in 2 reviews
"basic equipment"
in 2 reviews
"bikes"
in 3 reviews
"exercise"
in 3 reviews
"treadmill"
in 3 reviews
"euro"
in 3 reviews
Filter

7 - 11 of 17 reviews

Reviewed September 21, 2014

If you don't have a better choice then you can come and exercise there. There is only a handful of gyms in Taormina and the only other public one that I could find in the centre (Palestra D'Angelo Leonardo or Protos on Via Circonvallazione, 29) was even worse. What I found particularly irritating about Quarus is that the grumpy old man on duty cared more about saving the energy bill than about the customers' comfort and kept turning down the gym's dated aircon system and ceiling fans like a maniac. The other manager was OK though. Costs EUR10 and opens at 8am so not good for early risers.

Date of experience: September 2014
2  Thank jambo777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
d4eyes, Proprietario at Quarus Gym, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2015
Google Translation

Gentile ospite,
trovo singolare la Sua opinione riguardo la nostra struttura. Lungi dal non avere difetti, poichè come molte strutture commerciali non ne siamo esenti , desidero chiarirle alcuni concetti che forse le sono sfuggiti.
Il nostro impianto di condizionamento le garantisco funziona bene,nonostante l'età:semplicemente teniamo la temperatura giusta stabilita con i nostri clienti abituali. I nostri clienti non amano le temperature polari che probabilmente sono in uso presso la Sua palestra,e poichè non era il solo ad allenarsi, riteniamo che la temperatura fosse corretta.
Con l''orario di apertura stabilito alle ore 08.00 e la chiusura alle 22.00,orario no-stop , siamo la palestra nel comprensorio con l'orario più ampio e più che adeguato per la nostra clientela che,in una cittadina come Taormina, ha orari totalmente diversi da una grande città e non si sognerebbe mai di fare fitness alle 5 o 6 del mattino. Magari, se avesse fatto presente il disagio,avremmo trovato una soluzione soddisfacente per lei.
Quanto al giudizio ben più negativo riguardo la struttura di un'altra palestra da lei citata nel commento,mi domando come mai la recensione negativa valga solo per noi e non per loro,visto che si è allenato pure li e l'ha considerata "se possibile,peggio".. non comprendo inoltre la mancanza di un giudizio ben più negativo riguardo l'hotel nel quale risiedeva e del quale non fa il nome,che non le ha fornito un servizio fitness adeguato..Come avviene ovunque nel mondo..:-)
Scusandomi per la lunghezza della risposta e per averla scritta in italiano,solo per essere sicuro che le mie parole non possano essere travisate o comprese male da una traduzione non all'altezza, le porgo i miei più
distinti saluti
Dario

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 26, 2014

A beautiful small place, where I lost 25 kg. Great qualified staff who treat lost people with attention. Working out is pretty strong for good pirice. I really suggest

Date of experience: February 2014
1  Thank agnieszka0405
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 19, 2011

On my last trip to Taormina I wanted to try to keep up my fitness regime. Walking there is helpful but I thought I would try out this gym to keep up my weights routine. I went in the middle of the afternoon, which traditionally is a time it's hard to get any exercise in Taormina as it's too hot to run or hillwalk.

I dropped by the gym first just to take a look and see was it suitable. It can be a bit tricky to find and it doesn't have a huge street front - it's on the same street as the front entrance of the Le Naumachie restaurant if that helps. The person on reception spoke good English and was happy for me to go in and see the facilities. I appreciated this as it meant I knew what to expect when I returned.

It cost 10 euro per hour to use the gym and you pay on entering. I'm not sure whether they really enforce the hour rigidly, I have a feeling that unless you really pushed your luck no one would be too tough about this. There are separate (small) male and female changing areas as you go in - on the day I was there I was the only female but there were plenty of belongings in the changing area which suggests it is used by women at some times. There was just one shower cubicle but it was clean - though I would suggest flip flops but I'm a bit paranoid about this.

As you enter the gym area there are a few cardio machines - a couple of treadmills, a couple of bikes and maybe a crosstrainer or two. They're old by UK gym standards but seemed to work fine. I had a bit of trouble with the seat on the bike and the guy who was on duty in the gym very kindly gave me a hand to get it to the right height without needing to be asked. There are also a range of handweights - quite a few lighter ones which suggests they run classes - and fewer of the heavier weights but more than enough for what I needed. There was a small studio area just beside the main gym itself which I was able to use to do my weights workout, which was probably a good thing as there wasn't that much space in the gym. As for the feel of the place, it was relatively quiet. I was the only female there but I have to say that I felt perfectly comfortable. The men there were mid 20s at a guess and were just getting on with their own workouts.

My only minor grumble was that it seemed very hot to me. There was aircon and it was on to a degree that Italians would probably find comfortable but I was definitely feeling the heat by the end! Especially since my workout clothes are probably more designed for a UK heavily air conditioned gym. But I accept both that this is personal opinion and that going in the late afternoon was probably not the best idea in one way. If I was returning I would definitely dress more lightly!

I do think that this place is definitely worth a visit if you want to maintain your fitness whilst on holiday. I think next time I would see if they might negotiate a rate for a month or something as the cost would probably start to build up over a period of time. When I return to Taormina I'll definitely be back. In shorter shorts.

Date of experience: September 2011
7  Thank Belfastgirl23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 2 weeks ago
Google Translation

Date of experience: October 2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Quarus Gym also viewed

Taormina, Province of Messina
Taormina, Province of Messina
 
Letojanni, Province of Messina
Taormina, Province of Messina
 

Been to Quarus Gym? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing