We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 8:00 a.m. - 9:30 p.m.
Save
Review Highlights
You won't find the Kardashian's here but .....

... that's quite alright. The owner a nice guy who takes pride in the place. I like to do... read more

Reviewed November 12, 2018
ModestCanadians
A pretty good small gym

On my last trip to Taormina I wanted to try to keep up my fitness regime. Walking there is helpful... read more

Reviewed October 19, 2011
Belfastgirl23
,
Belfast, NI
Read all 17 reviews
  
Top Selling Tours & Activities in and around Taormina
from US$109.38
More Info
from US$92.11
More Info
from US$101.32
More Info
from US$63.33
More Info
Reviews (17)
Filter reviews
17 results
Traveller rating
9
5
1
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
9
5
1
1
1
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 17 reviews
Reviewed June 2, 2017 via mobile

Older machines but had a good selection of heavy and light free weights in addition to many resistance machines. There were cardio machines too (treadmill, bike and stepper) I paid 10 euros and was in there for about 1.5 hours.

Make sure you bring plenty of water as it gets hot but otherwise a great way to keep fit whilst on holiday.

Date of experience: June 2017
Thank Chris G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 3, 2015 via mobile

The key thing is that this is a small privately owned gym, not a big corporate gym. Remember that, and you won't be disappointed.
There are a few CV machines, resistance machines and a small free weights area.
There is also a studio area that can be used if there is no class, and thankfully there were none when I was training, so I spent most of my time in there. The gym has a good range of portable equipment... steps, mats, free weights, suspension equipment etc.
The staff (and indeed the other gym goers!) are very welcoming, and happy to either leave you to your work out, or help and advise as necessary.
Membership is not required. An adhoc visit is €10, and you can stay as long as you like.
It is a little warm in there, but you soon get used to it... And the locals seem comfortable with the temperature.
Very pleased to have stumbled across this gym!

Date of experience: October 2015
Thank Carmel D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 3, 2015

You can just pay per day, it's never busy and they are friendly and welcome tourists. It has all of the basic equipment - a great place to workout on holiday.

Date of experience: June 2015
Thank Fluffalicious
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 21, 2014

If you don't have a better choice then you can come and exercise there. There is only a handful of gyms in Taormina and the only other public one that I could find in the centre (Palestra D'Angelo Leonardo or Protos on Via Circonvallazione, 29) was even worse. What I found particularly irritating about Quarus is that the grumpy old man on duty cared more about saving the energy bill than about the customers' comfort and kept turning down the gym's dated aircon system and ceiling fans like a maniac. The other manager was OK though. Costs EUR10 and opens at 8am so not good for early risers.

Date of experience: September 2014
2  Thank jambo777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
d4eyes, Proprietario at Quarus Gym, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2015
Google Translation

Gentile ospite,
trovo singolare la Sua opinione riguardo la nostra struttura. Lungi dal non avere difetti, poichè come molte strutture commerciali non ne siamo esenti , desidero chiarirle alcuni concetti che forse le sono sfuggiti.
Il nostro impianto di condizionamento le garantisco funziona bene,nonostante l'età:semplicemente teniamo la temperatura giusta stabilita con i nostri clienti abituali. I nostri clienti non amano le temperature polari che probabilmente sono in uso presso la Sua palestra,e poichè non era il solo ad allenarsi, riteniamo che la temperatura fosse corretta.
Con l''orario di apertura stabilito alle ore 08.00 e la chiusura alle 22.00,orario no-stop , siamo la palestra nel comprensorio con l'orario più ampio e più che adeguato per la nostra clientela che,in una cittadina come Taormina, ha orari totalmente diversi da una grande città e non si sognerebbe mai di fare fitness alle 5 o 6 del mattino. Magari, se avesse fatto presente il disagio,avremmo trovato una soluzione soddisfacente per lei.
Quanto al giudizio ben più negativo riguardo la struttura di un'altra palestra da lei citata nel commento,mi domando come mai la recensione negativa valga solo per noi e non per loro,visto che si è allenato pure li e l'ha considerata "se possibile,peggio".. non comprendo inoltre la mancanza di un giudizio ben più negativo riguardo l'hotel nel quale risiedeva e del quale non fa il nome,che non le ha fornito un servizio fitness adeguato..Come avviene ovunque nel mondo..:-)
Scusandomi per la lunghezza della risposta e per averla scritta in italiano,solo per essere sicuro che le mie parole non possano essere travisate o comprese male da una traduzione non all'altezza, le porgo i miei più
distinti saluti
Dario

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 26, 2014

A beautiful small place, where I lost 25 kg. Great qualified staff who treat lost people with attention. Working out is pretty strong for good pirice. I really suggest

Date of experience: February 2014
1  Thank agnieszka0405
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews