We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful place!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Relais Villa Baldelli
Ranked #11 of 24 Hotels in Cortona
Certificate of Excellence
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful place!”
Reviewed 11 November 2011

We stayed at the Villa for 2 nights during our recent trip to Tuscany and Umbria. This is one of my most favorite places. It is beautiful, very well maintained, comfortable, quiet. It's also very romantic. The staff is super friendly. Breakfasts are good - try their plum cake in the morning- nowhere else I have tasted such a thing during our trip! If the weather is good - it's a pleasure to sit outside in the garden with a cup of coffee. Our room was pretty comfortable and nicely decorated. One little thing - if one used a toilet the other has to wait for 10-15 min until the water gets filled in for next flush ;-)) But I consider is to be a minor thing compared to the beauty of this place!

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VeraRob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

238 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    171
    51
    9
    5
    2
See reviews for
26
156
1
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow
Level Contributor
43 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2011

This is a nice place to be partly because it is a beatiful setting and a charming place but it is the staff that make it special. Riccardo Margarita Donald and Eva are just excellent front of house. Good food served below the trees with a view of Cortona. High standards of maintenance and attractive grounds. It is more often than not about the pleasant manner and warm welcome. Comfortable and well appointed rooms and keeps the character of a 17th Century 'fattoria'.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Glasgowboy47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2011

Nice room. Clean. Great pool. Perfect breakfast and good diner. Staff is wonderful. We like to stay again at villa Baldelli.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Isabellech
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prague
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2011

We stayed at the Junior suite 10.-13.8. and we had a really great stay! Beautiful room, extremely nice staff, great swimming pool, absolutely recommend to everybody who wants to experience a no stress holiday. Deifnitely make a trip to Cortona. Can´t wait to come back!!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JiriZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2011

We've recently returned from a lovely four night stay at the Villa. It was everything we wanted and more. An authentic Tuscan experience; a beautiful building, ornate furniture and painting, and beautiful views. The staff were very friendly and we felt very well looked after, whether it was cool drinks by the pool or an intimate dinner on the terrace. It was the perfect setting to be close to Cortona, small enough to be personal (only 15 rooms) but removed from the intrusions of life and perfect for some much needed rest and relaxation. We'll be back soon.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Orthelia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leatherhead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2011

We stayed 7 days. The hotel has a rustic charm and it was exactly what we were looking for a lot of care must have been spent choosing the old furniture and we were very happy. I have just read a very unfair review that was not our experience at all. The staff are really charming and couldn't be more helpful, the visitors book was full of nice comments The evening food was not brilliant in the hotel but they recommended some great restaurants in Cortona. The breakfast is continental and there is plenty of variety. Our room was clean, bed was fine, the tv wasn't great but was perfectly watchable. They have free wifi and the pool is clean and all of the furniture there worked fine. The only blot on our stay was noisy building work and loud celebration nearby that week that were beyond the control of the management.

Room Tip: If you prefer to shower make sure to book a room with one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Simon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sedona, arizona
Level Contributor
36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2011

The pictures suggest a comfortable and even luxurious country inn, but things are actually somewhat on the shabby side.

There are many little things; like the umbrellas around the pool missing the chains or the sticks needed to keep them open, the general shabbiness of the furniture, the lampshades, the tiny television. I wouldn't complain about things like this, but they are a bother.
And there are bigger things: like the broken stones in the floor of our room; many of them chipped, others wobbling. Whenever I walked across the room I had to watch my step.
There was also a distinct odor of mildew in our room. When I requested another room I was told the inn was full.

In the morning the bathroom the floor was flooded. I think the towel warmer had leaked though we had not used it. The woman at the desk shrugged it off.
The breakfast was minimal; a few hard rolls ,a loaf of bread, weak coffee and some sliced meats, a few choices of cereal. Nothing hot. Not much fruit.
While the staff tried to be helpful and pleasant, they are understaffed.

Because I had become so congested during the night, due to the dampness and the mildew in the room, we checked out; staying a second night was simply not an option.
I was charged for the second night.

Another couple who had arrived just a few hours before us said they couldn't believe this was Tripadvisor's #2 ranked inn in Cortona. They also checked out after just one night.

The inn wasn't full anymore.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank coyote521
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vbcortona, Direttore at Relais Villa Baldelli, responded to this review, 31 July 2011
Dear Sir/Madame,

regarding your rewiew we would like to communicate the following:
The swimming pool umbrellas are new, they perfectly work,
You just needed to ask the reception how to open and close them.
About the rooms, our Relais is furnished with original pieces of
17th and 18th Century, which you may agree or not.
About the broken stones our floors of the living room area and
of the breakfast room are original and for this reason they are really appreciated
by many kind Guests .
Amenities, objects and lamps are just the result of attentive research
made by the owners who love antiques.
Our breakfast buffet has always been considered very rich by our guests:
espresso, tea of all kinds, cappuccino, coffee, hot chocolate, pineapple juice, grapefruit and orange are just some examples of things to drink (fresh and warm) and then to eat: fresh bread of 2 or 3 types, jam, chocolate, yogurth, pastries, handmade cakes, prunes, salami, ham, pink and red, fresh fruits, several types of cereals, scrambled eggs or hard boiled eggs on request because in this way we serve them hot.
The room that you had is one of the most beautiful (Deluxe room, 1st floor) and absolutely there is no moisture in it.
About the request to change your room if we did not was because the hotel was already fully booked, otherwise, when we can, we always try to please our customers.
Also, early departure is always entails some penalties that you accepted when the reservation was made ....
We would also like to remind you that your lady at the start was simply terrified of you and that was about to cry .... and she nodded to the receptionist as if to say "let him lose, do not pay any attention ..... "
We really believe that this is more than enough to respond to your comments ...
Maybe you should have chosen a more modern hotel.
Kind regards,

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cortona hotels
8.0 km away
Villa di Piazzano
Villa di Piazzano
#2 of 24 in Cortona
5.0 of 5 bubbles 685 reviews
2.7 km away
Villa Marsili
Villa Marsili
#1 of 24 in Cortona
5.0 of 5 bubbles 767 reviews
1.3 km away
Borgo il Melone
Borgo il Melone
#8 of 24 in Cortona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Relais Il Falconiere & Spa
4.0 km away
Cortona Resort & Spa
Cortona Resort & Spa
#4 of 24 in Cortona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 404 reviews
6.3 km away
Relais La Corte dei Papi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Relais Villa Baldelli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Relais Villa Baldelli

Property: Relais Villa Baldelli
Address: San Pietro a Cegliolo, 420, 52044, Cortona, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Arezzo > Cortona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Cortona
#5 Romantic Hotel in Cortona
#8 Luxury Hotel in Cortona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Relais Villa Baldelli 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Relais Villa Baldelli reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Relais Villa Baldelli Hotel Cortona
Relais Hotel Cortona
Relais Hotel Baldelli

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing