We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Perfect, beautiful Tuscan base for exploring AND relaxing!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Relais Villa Baldelli

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Relais Villa Baldelli
Ranked #10 of 24 Hotels in Cortona
Certificate of Excellence
Virginia Italy
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Perfect, beautiful Tuscan base for exploring AND relaxing!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2012

I have actually stayed at Baldelli 2 times - and each time it was perfection! The care that has gone towards the selection of everything from the silk tafetta curtains to the quality of the antiques and even the towels, it's just dreamy. The surrounding gardens and vineyard, abundant with fruit trees and flower pots, have views that are unmatched. The best part is waking up each morning to the aromas of breakfast, so gorgeously and carefully prepared, everything's genuine and freshly made - it was such a great start to our days! The staff has always been so helpfull w/ information @ train schedules, town market days, museum hours even dinner reservations - tho I must say the times I have eaten dinner there, it was just as delicious as the breakfast! The owner, Signor Vittorio, can be seen sometimes walking around his gardens, he is such a wonderful gentleman and is very interested in the care of his guests. From the villa we easily drove to nearby towns of Cortona (actually also a slow 1 hour walk through farms), Siena, Florence, Montepulciano, Assisi, Sant'Antimo, San Galgano etc... Do not miss the nearby Cells of St. Francis or even the sulphur baths at Bagno Vignoni - there is so much to do - a week is never enough and I can't wait to return!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dolcevitaadventures
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vbcortona, General Manager at Relais Villa Baldelli, responded to this review, 19 June 2012
Dear Guest,

many thanks for the wonderful comment you wrote on us!
We greatly look forward to meeting you again and we wish you all the best!

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

238 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    171
    51
    9
    5
    2
See reviews for
26
156
1
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
California
Level Contributor
219 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2011

We booked this hotel because we thought it was a good place to stay in. It was a good place to stay, no question about it but the problem was that you had to get out of the place to get lunch and dinner and that to me is not good service. When we asked the staff they told us thet they did not serve lunch and dinner but it was nothing we could guess from visiting the website or when we booked the hotel. The hotel building was nice and had a nice architecture and nice rooms, big nice pool in the garden but that was it. The tiny two hole golf course/driving range was totally destroyed by wild pigs so that was not so good. This place has some distance to go before I can give it a higher rating, the service needs to get a lot better. Thinking about the value for money, no I wouldn't say that it is great value for money because of the fact that you have to leave the place to get some food. To me that is not an optimal hotel stay at all. Some times you just want to relax in the room and take a quick bite before you go to bed...but that is not possible in this place. Oh, yes I have forgot to tell you how slow teh WiFi was, really slow and it did not even work in the rooms.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lamboswede
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pembroke Pines, Florida, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 December 2011

Located just a mile from the lovely town of Cortona, this idyllic villa is both rustic and upscale. Although the drive in was deceptive, once we arrived, we fell in love instantly with this renovated property set within a vineyard in the heart of Tuscany. The grounds are beautifully manicured. The lobby and dining room were charming, with stone floors, wood beam ceilings, huge area rugs and authentic fireplaces. Our room was enchanting, with windows overlooking the terrace, an enormous plush bed, antique furnishings, and a delicious, modern bathroom. The combination of 21st century amenities such as wifi and marble bath blended perfectly with the old-world charm of the place. However, it was the staff that really made us feel special and welcome. Even though we showed up late on a Sunday, they opened the restaurant just for us to enjoy dinner... which was scrumptious. Each morning, the breakfast was delicious and different. Even the wine from their vineyard was exquisite; our favorite from the over 50 different ones we tried all over Italy during our two week trip. When we were leaving, we tried to buy a bottle of their wine and they refused to sell it to us... but gifted it to us instead. They made us feel like family rather than guests at a hotel. We stayed only a couple of nights but we wished we had stayed there our entire trip. It was a great home base to visit Montepulciano, Montalcino, Pienza and Sienna. The location was ideal to keep exploring the area for another week. We are sure to return to Villa Baldelli again!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Keren A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
55 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2011

Beautiful Villa located just down the hill from Cortona. We only stayed one night and had rain so we were not able to enjoy the beautiful grounds, but the villa is very romantic and charming. Both rooms that we had were lovely with fantastic bathrooms. We had a leak in our first room when we returned from dinner, but the night manager quickly helped us move to a new room. The breakfast was not our favorite, but the villa was not very busy the night that we stayed. The staff was very nice and accommodating, and we would stay her again!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ItsAboutTheTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2011

We stayed at the villa 2 nights during our yearly one week motorcycle tour. Very nice place, a typical Tuscan villa, sorrounded by olive trees, nice decoration classical bt not overdone, nice large pool and excellent friendly service. They have different type of rooms for different rates; the one we picked was a bit on the small side but very nice and pleasantly decorated. Excellent beds and very quiet during the night so very good sleep;

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gigiperis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2011

We stayed at the Villa for 2 nights during our recent trip to Tuscany and Umbria. This is one of my most favorite places. It is beautiful, very well maintained, comfortable, quiet. It's also very romantic. The staff is super friendly. Breakfasts are good - try their plum cake in the morning- nowhere else I have tasted such a thing during our trip! If the weather is good - it's a pleasure to sit outside in the garden with a cup of coffee. Our room was pretty comfortable and nicely decorated. One little thing - if one used a toilet the other has to wait for 10-15 min until the water gets filled in for next flush ;-)) But I consider is to be a minor thing compared to the beauty of this place!

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VeraRob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
Level Contributor
42 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2011

This is a nice place to be partly because it is a beatiful setting and a charming place but it is the staff that make it special. Riccardo Margarita Donald and Eva are just excellent front of house. Good food served below the trees with a view of Cortona. High standards of maintenance and attractive grounds. It is more often than not about the pleasant manner and warm welcome. Comfortable and well appointed rooms and keeps the character of a 17th Century 'fattoria'.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Glasgowboy47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cortona hotels
6.3 km away
Relais La Corte dei Papi
7.4 km away
Villa di Piazzano
Villa di Piazzano
#2 of 24 in Cortona
5.0 of 5 bubbles 666 reviews
1.1 km away
Borgo il Melone
Borgo il Melone
#8 of 24 in Cortona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 321 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 km away
Villa Marsili
Villa Marsili
#1 of 24 in Cortona
5.0 of 5 bubbles 733 reviews
11.4 km away
Relais Villa Petrischio
Relais Villa Petrischio
#12 of 24 in Cortona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 240 reviews
4.0 km away
Cortona Resort & Spa
Cortona Resort & Spa
#4 of 24 in Cortona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Relais Villa Baldelli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Relais Villa Baldelli

Property: Relais Villa Baldelli
Address: San Pietro a Cegliolo, 420, 52044, Cortona, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Arezzo > Cortona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Cortona
#5 Romantic Hotel in Cortona
#8 Luxury Hotel in Cortona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Relais Villa Baldelli 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity.ca and Priceline so you can book your Relais Villa Baldelli reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Relais Villa Baldelli Hotel Cortona
Relais Hotel Cortona
Relais Hotel Baldelli

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing